POT-ETA

Strategy to Activate Electricity Saving Potentials in Austria

  • Project no.3119
  • Duration 10/2008 - 12/2010

A highly efficient demand-side production of energy services is a major pre-condition for a sustainable economy. The core objective of this research project is to analyse the potential for energy efficiency increases of major demand-side conversion technologies for the provision of electricity based energy services. This analysis will be conducted in a dynamic context until 2030 (plus outlook to 2050) basing on an economic, energetic and ecological evaluation and identifying technologies of highest priority for the increase of efficiency. Internationally implemented energy policies and instruments as well as barriers to the realisation of saving potentials are analysed and strategies to reduce the barriers are developed. Moreover, scenarios (BAU, Best Policy and Least-Cost Scenario) in view of the achievement of the EU-targets for 2020 are worked out and economically valuated.

The targeted major results of this project are:

  • A priority list of the most important applications with respect to energy conservation potentials in the sectors private households, industry and services (office buildings, commercial…) citing the corresponding saving potentials and the invested costs;
  • BAU-, Best-policy, Least-cost scenarios to meet various electricity conservation targets (e.g. the EU-target minus 20 percent until 2020) including a detailed description of the single measures ("Road Maps") for the achievement of these targets;
  • A dynamic action plan will be worked out for an implementation of these priority measures up to 2030 (plus outlook 2050) by means of different types of energy policy instruments (dynamic standards, intensified R&D-activities, investment incentives, information campaigns, tradable white certificates, market procurement strategies…). Main goal of the action plan is to realise the maximum saving potentials at minimum cost.

Further project information

Downloads

POT-ETA

Strategie zur Mobilisierung des Stromsparpotenzials in Österreich

  • Projekt-Nr.3119
  • Laufzeit 10/2008 - 12/2010

Die energetisch hocheffiziente Bereitstellung von Energiedienstleistungen auf der Nachfrageseite ist eine der zentralen Voraussetzungen für ein nachhaltiges Wirtschaftssystem. In dem Projekt wird das Stromsparpotenzial nachfrageseitiger Technologien zur Bereitstellung strombasierter Energiedienstleistungen in einem dynamischen Kontext bis 2030 analysiert, ökonomisch, energetisch und ökologisch bewertet und die prioritären Technologien für die Effizienzsteigerung identifiziert. Zusätzlich wird ein Ausblick bis 2050 erstellt. International praktisch angewandte energiepolitische Instrumente sowie Hemmnisse bei der Umsetzung von Sparpotenzialen werden analysiert und Strategien zur Überwindung dieser Hemnisse entwickelt. Des Weiteren werden Szenarien (BAU-, Best-Policy- und Least-Cost-Szenario) zur Erreichung der EU-Ziele für 2020 erstellt und ökonomisch bewertet. Schlussfolgernd wird ein dynamischer Aktionsplan zur forcierten Erschließung des resultierenden Stromsparpotenzials erstellt und ökonomisch bewertet.

Als zentrale Ergebnisse des Projektes werden erarbeitet:

  • eine Prioritätenliste der in Bezug auf Energiesparpotenziale wichtigsten Technologien in den Sektoren Haushalte, Industrie und Dienstleistungen, dazu die jeweiligen Einsparpotenziale und die Kosten ihrer Realisierung;
  • Szenarien: BAU-, Best-policy- und Least-Cost-Szenarien zur Erreichung verschiedener prozentueller Einsparziele (beispielsweise -20 Prozent bis 2020) unter detaillierter Beschreibung der einzelnen Maßnahmen ("Road Maps") für das Erreichen dieser Ziele;
  • ein Aktionsplan zur dynamischen Implementierung prioritärer Maßnahmen bis 2030 (sowie ein Ausblick auf 2050) mit Hilfe verschiedener energiepolitischer Instrumente wie: dynamische Standards, verstärkte F&E-Aktivitäten, Investitionsanreize, Informationskampagnen, handelbare weiße Zertifikate (Nachweise über getätigte Effizienzmaßnahmen), Markteinführungsstrategien. Ziel des Aktionsplans ist es, unter Berücksichtigung der Kosten, Einsparpotenziale kostenminimal auszuschöpfen.

Weitere Projektinformationen

Downloads