TRANSfer

Towards Climate-Friendly Transport Technologies and Measures

  • Project no.1272, 1276, 1279
  • Duration 12/2010 - 12/2011

Already today, the transport sector is responsible for a quarter of all energy related carbon dioxide emissions. In the future, CO2 emissions from transport will continue to rise rapidly unless ambitious actions are taken. Most of the increase in CO2 emissions from transport will stem from emerging and developing countries due to the rapidly growing number of cars and declining shares of more efficient modes of transport, such as public transport and non-motorised modes. Thus, in these countries there is a strong need for suitable technologies and measures for the reduction of energy consumption and CO2 emissions.
The concept of Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions (NAMAs) provides new opportunities to support developing countries in their mitigation efforts in the transport sector. NAMAs are voluntary emission reduction measures by developing countries that are undertaken unilaterally by these countries or that obtain support from developed countries. The concept originated from the UN Climate Change Conference in Bali in 2007 and was confirmed by the Copenhagen Accord and the Cancun Agreements, in 2010.
The project TRANSfer carried out by the German Society for International Cooperation (GIZ) aims at supporting decision-makers in developing countries in developing and implementing emission mitigation measures in the transport sector within the NAMAs framework. With support from international experts, reductions potentials are to be identified in selected pilot countries (currently South Africa, Columbia and Indonesia); strategies for a clean, safe, efficient and affordable transport system are to developed and mitigation measures are to be planned and registered as NAMA.
The Wuppertal Institute assists the GIZ in the implementation of the project and develops relevant information on climate policy and transport policy for stakeholders in developing and emerging countries.
In the start up phase, the Wuppertal Institute especially supports the inception of the South Africa case study. Furthermore, the Wuppertal Institute contributes to a toolbox. So far detailed information on measures and technologies for climate friendly transport were compiled as the basis for the development of transport NAMAs. On behalf of the GIZ, the Wuppertal Institute also develops a handbook on "Navigating Transport NAMAs" to provide guidance for local decision-makers on the identification, design, registration and implementation of transport NAMAs.


Further project information

Links

TRANSfer

Transfer klimafreundlicher Transporttechnologien und -maßnahmen

  • Projekt-Nr.1272, 1276, 1279
  • Laufzeit 12/2010 - 12/2011

Der Verkehrssektor ist bereits heute für ein Viertel der energiebedingten Kohlendioxidemissionen verantwortlich. Ohne ehrgeizige Maßnahmen werden die CO2 Emissionen im Verkehr in Zukunft weiter rapide ansteigen. Der Großteil dieses Anstiegs wird in Schwellen- und Entwicklungsländern stattfinden, da dort die Zahl der PKW stark ansteigt und energieeffiziente Transportmöglichkeiten wie öffentliche oder nichtmotorisierte Verkehrsmittel an Bedeutung verlieren. Hier besteht ein großer Bedarf an Technologien und Maßnahmen zur Reduktion von Energieverbrauch und CO2 Emissionen des Verkehrssektor.
Das Konzept der "Nationally Appropriate Mitigation Actions" (NAMAs) bietet neue Möglichkeiten, um Entwicklungsländern in ihrem Einsatz für Klimaschutz im Verkehrssektor zu unterstützen. NAMAs sind freiwillige nationale Klimaschutzmaßnahmen von Entwicklungsländern, die eigenständig oder mit Unterstützung der Industrieländer durchgeführt werden. Das Konzept wurde 2007 auf der UN Klimakonferenz in Bali entwickelt und wurde durch internationale Vereinbarungen bei den Klimakonferenzen in Kopenhagen und Cancun bekräftigt.
Das Projekt TRANSfer der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) zielt darauf ab, Entscheidungsträger in Entwicklungsländern bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung von Klimaschutzmaßnahmen im Verkehrssektor als NAMA zu unterstützen. So sollen internationale Experten dazu beitragen, in ausgewählten Pilotländern (derzeit Südafrika, Kolumbien und Indonesien) Reduktionspotentiale identifizieren, Strategien für ein sauberes, effizientes und wirtschaftliches Transportsystem entwickeln und Klimaschutzmaßnahmen planen und als NAMA registrieren.
Das Wuppertal Institut unterstützt die GIZ bei der Umsetzung dieses Projektes. Es entwickelt Inhalte und bereitet relevante klima- und verkehrspolitische Themen für die Akteure in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern auf. In der Anfangsphase wird besonders die Einführung des Projektes in Südafrika durch das Wuppertal Institut begleitet. Des Weiteren trägt das Wuppertal Institut zur Entwicklung einer "Toolbox" bei. Dazu wurden bisher detaillierte Informationen über Maßnahmen und Technologien zum Klimaschutz im Verkehrsbereich zusammengestellt, die als Grundlage zur Entwicklung von verkehrlichen NAMAs dienen. Darüber hinaus erarbeitet das Wuppertal Institut ein Handbuch mit dem Titel "Navigating Transport NAMAs", das lokalen Entscheidungsträgern einen Überblick über die notwendigen Schritte zur Identifizierung, Design, Registrierung und Umsetzung von NAMAs im Verkehrssektor bietet.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links