FW-Ausbau Ost

Potential of CO2 Reduction through District Heating - Focus East Germany

  • Project no. 1159
  • Duration 01/2009 - 05/2010

Focusing on the the newly-formed German states, the present study examines the question, what possibilities exist to offset the demographic and efficiency related declining demand for network heat supply and how the further expansion of district heating supply can be forced.
This study analyses the status and the changes of the district heating supply (general, network side and production side development) in the period 1995-2006.
Moreover, the development of district heating prices compared to rival energy sources and causes of the differing district heating prices in the Old and New Bundesländer will be identified. Due to the high share of CHP heating supply, the different allocation methods for evaluating CHP systems are analysed and their advantages and disadvantages for the formation of specific emission factors are discussed for the products electricity and heat. On the basis of data on heat energy demand, district heating capacity, development potential in district heating of the tertiary and the private household sector, the study estimates the CO2 reduction potential of district heating supply in the New Bundesländer until 2020. Based on the survey on the district heating market, the obstacles and instruments of preserving and strengthening the district heating supply in terms of raising the CO2 reduction potential will be discussed. The critical aspects with respect to the arrangement and effect of the various instruments are designated and suggested solutions submitted.
The principal contractor of the study was the Leipzig Institute for Energy. The Wuppertal Institute has - as a subcontractor - made a system comparison of heat supply options (including allocation comparison for CHP systems) and carried out a survey of selected district stakeholders.

FW-Ausbau Ost

Potenziale der CO2-Minderung durch Fernwärme - Focus Neue Bundesländer

  • Projekt-Nr.1159
  • Laufzeit 01/2009 - 05/2010

Die vorliegende Studie untersucht mit Fokus auf die neuen Bundesländer die Frage, welche Möglichkeiten zum Ausgleich demographie- sowie effizienzbedingter Nachfragerückgänge nach netzgebundener Wärmeversorgung bestehen bzw. wie der weitere Ausbau der Fernwärmeversorgung forciert werden kann.
Dazu analysiert die Studie auf Regional- und Städteebene den Stand und die Veränderungen der Fernwärmeversorgung (generelle, netzseitige und erzeugungsseitige Entwicklung) im Zeitraum 1995-2006. Darüber hinaus wird die Entwicklung der Fernwärmepreise im Vergleich zu den Konkurrenzenergieträgern sowie Ursachen der differierenden Fernwärmepreise in den Alten und Neuen Bundesländern eruiert. Aufgrund des hohen KWK-Anteils der Fernwärmeversorgung werden die verschiedenen Allokationsmethoden zur Bewertung von KWK-Anlagen analysiert, sowie deren Vor- und Nachteile bei der Bildung spezifischer Emissionsfaktoren für die Produkte Strom und Wärme diskutiert. Auf Basis von Daten zum Nutzwärmebedarf, Fernwärmebestand und Fernwärmeausbaupotenziale der Sektoren Private Haushalte und GHD schätzt die Studie das CO2-Minderungspotenzial der Fernwärmeversorgung in den Neuen Bundesländern bis zum Jahr 2020 ab. Ausgehend von der Befragung der Akteure des Fernwärmemarktes werden die Hemmnisse und Instrumente des Erhalts und des Ausbaus der Fernwärmeversorgung in Hinblick auf die Hebung des CO2-Minderungspotenzials diskutiert. Die kritischen Aspekte bezüglich der Ausgestaltung und Wirkung der verschiedenen Instrumente werden benannt und Lösungsvorschläge unterbreitet.
Hauptauftragnehmer der Studie war das Leipziger Institut für Energie GmbH. Das Wuppertal Institut hat als Unterauftragnehmer einen Systemvergleich zur Wärmeversorgung (inklusive KWK-Allokationsvergleich) vorgenommen und eine Befragung ausgewählter Fernwärmeakteure durchgeführt.