Sustainable Innovations in LivingLabs – An Analysis of the Potentials of a German Research Infrastructure for the Interactive Development of Resource Efficient, Environment Protecting and Socially Responsible Products and Services

  • Project no.3435
  • Duration 08/2011 - 08/2012

Many product and service innovations with high sustainability potentials fail due to a lack of user acceptance, trigger negative rebound effects through unexpected user behaviours, or are applied incorrectly. Designing interactive value chains via user-integrated product and service development offers starting points for the development of solution strategies and scenarios regarding specific and applicable sustainability innovations.

Therefore, the project aims at determining the potential contribution of implementing such an approach in so-called "NachhaltigkeitsLivingLabs" (NLL, "sustainability living labs") - these are labs respectively research institutions that focus on the user-centred development and testing of sustainable products and services in order to generate successful sustainability innovations. Based on this, development measures for a German research infrastructure integrating usage-related work and life contexts in sustainable product development will be derived. The solution approaches are supposed to significantly foster resource efficiency in the production and consumption system, without these advantages being neutralised by so-called rebound effects - that is the effect of an actually more efficient product or service causing an increase in usage (of e.g. resources) directly or indirectly.

The following specific objectives are envisaged:

  • To analyse the German research and development (R&D) landscape in terms of suitable starting points for interactive and systematic research on product and service use in domestic and workplace environments and their sustainability implications and to create a profile of the corresponding status quo (Review WP1),
  • to identify fields (technologies, products, services) in which the use of NLL shows particularly high sustainability potential; to conceptually highlight - in alignment with European and international activities - conditions for an innovation-oriented, internationally integrated and competitive German R&D infrastructure (Potential analysis WP2),
  • to conduct a continuous strategic dialogue with relevant actors in order to develop an integrated opportunity / risk profile for the implementation of NLL and to network players from the fields of research, business and society regarding the topic of NLL (Strategic dialog WP3), and
  • to identify courses of action based on a cross-evaluation of project results, which will be conducted via a SWOT-analysis (Synthesis WP4).

Further project information

Links

"Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen in LivingLabs" - Potenzialanalyse einer deutschen Forschungsinfrastruktur zur interaktiven Entwicklung ressourceneffizienter, umweltschonender und sozial verträglicher Produkte und Dienstleistungen

  • Projekt-Nr.3435
  • Laufzeit 08/2011 - 08/2012

Viele Produkt- und Dienstleistungsinnovationen mit hohen Nachhaltigkeitspotenzialen scheitern an mangelnder Nutzerakzeptanz, lösen durch unerwartetes Nutzerverhalten negative Rebound-Effekte aus oder werden falsch angewendet. Die Gestaltung interaktiver Wertschöpfungsketten über nutzerintegrierte Produkt-Dienstleistungs-Entwicklung bietet Ansatzpunkte, um Lösungsstrategien und mögliche Szenarien in Bezug auf konkrete und umsetzbare Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen akteursintegriert zu entwickeln.

Ziel des Vorhabens ist es daher, den möglichen Beitrag der Umsetzung eines solchen Ansatzes in sogenannten NachhaltigkeitsLivingLabs (NLL) zur Generierung von erfolgreichen Nachhaltigkeitsinnovationen zu ermitteln. NLL sind Labore bzw. Forschungseinrichtungen, in denen nutzerzentriert nachhaltige Produkte und Dienstleistungen entwickelt und getestet werden. Letzendlich sollen Potenziale und Maßnahmen für die Entwicklung einer deutschen Forschungsinfrastruktur für die Integration der nutzungsbezogenen Arbeits- und Lebenskontexte in die nachhaltige Produktentwicklung abgeleitet werden. Die Lösungsvorschläge sollen dazu beitragen, die im Produktions- und Konsumsystem genutzten Ressourcen signifikant effizienter einzusetzen. Dabei soll vermieden werden, dass diese Vorteile über sogenannte Rebound-Effekte - damit wird der Effekt bezeichnet, wenn eigentlich effizientere Güter und Dienstleistungen direkt oder indirekt zu Mehrverbräuchen führen - neutralisiert werden.

Folgende Arbeitsziele sind dazu vorgesehen:

  • die deutsche Forschungs- und Entwicklungs- (FuE-) Landschaft im Hinblick auf geeignete Anknüpfungspunkte für eine interaktive und systemische Erforschung der Nutzung von Produkten und Dienstleistungen in häuslichem und betrieblichem Umfeld und ihrer Nachhaltigkeitsauswirkungen zu analysieren und ein Profil des diesbezüglichen Status Quo zu erstellen (Arbeitspaket 1: Bestandsaufnahme),
  • Felder (Technologien, Produkte, Dienstleistungen) zu identifizieren, in denen sich für die Nutzung von NLL besonders hohe Nachhaltigkeitspotenziale abzeichnen; im Abgleich mit europäischen und internationalen Aktivitäten Bedingungen für eine innovationsorientierte, international anschlussfähige und wettbewerbsfähige deutsche FuE-Infrastruktur konzeptionell aufzuzeigen (Arbeitspaket 2: Potenzialanalyse),
  • einen kontinuierlichen strategischen Dialog mit relevanten Akteuren zu führen, um ein integriertes Chancen-/Risikoprofil zur Umsetzung von NLL zu entwickeln sowie Akteursgruppen aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft in Deutschland zum Thema NLL zu vernetzen (Arbeitspaket 3: Strategischer Dialog), und
  • Handlungsoptionen auf Basis einer Querauswertung der Projektergebnisse zu identifizieren (Arbeitspaket 4: Synthese).

Weitere Projektinformationen

Links