Towards an Effective and Equitable Climate Change Agreement - A Wuppertal Proposal for Copenhagen

  • Project no.3245
  • Duration 01/2009 - 12/2009

In this project the Wuppertal Institute developed a comprehensive proposal for an effective and equitable climate change agreement. The proposal covers all building blocks of the Bali Action Plan that was agreed at the Bali climate conference in 2007: mitigation, adaptation, financing and technology cooperation.

The proposal as the following key elements:

  • In order to prevent dangerous climate change, global emissions should be reduced by at least 80 % by 2050 compared to 1990 levels. In addition, per capita emissions should converge at the same level by 2050.
  • As an interim step industrialised countries should reduce their emissions by at least 40 % by 2020. In addition, they should commit to assist the developing countries in emissions-saving development and also in coping with existing climate damages. The Marshall Plan can serve as an example of a successful strategic model of cooperation.
  • A climate treaty should not only declare limits and demand reductions. It also has to show how a sustainable energy supply can be secured. Therefore, targets for the improvement of energy efficiency and the expansion of renewable energies should also be part of the treaty.
  • Declarations alone will not save the climate. The industrialised nations and the emerging economies will have to agree to action plans elaborating in which ways and when they will reach the goals they have promised.


In preparation to the climate conference in Copenhagen (7 to 18 December 2001) the Wuppertal Institute developed a proposal that was broadly discussed with experts and that aims at an effective and equitable climate change agreement. The proposal was published as Wuppertal Special no. 40.

Towards an Effective and Equitable Climate Change Agreement - A Wuppertal Proposal for Copenhagen

  • Projekt-Nr.3245
  • Laufzeit 01/2009 - 12/2009

In diesem Projekt hat das Wuppertal Institut einen umfassenden Vorschlag für ein effektives und gerechtes Klimaabkommen entwickelt. Der Vorschlag deckt alle Bausteine des Bali-Aktionsplans ab, der bei der Klimakonferenz 2007 auf Bali vereinbart wurde: Emissionsminderung, Anpassung an die Folgen des Klimawandels, Finanzierung und Technologiekooperation.

Der Vorschlag hat die folgenden wesentlichen Elemente:

  • Um einen gefährlichen Klimawandel zu verhindern, sollten die globalen Emissionen bis 2050 im Vergleich zu 1990 mindestens um 80 Prozent gemindert werden. Zusätzlich sollten die Pro-Kopf-Emissionen aller Länder sich bis 2050 angleichen.
  • Als Zwischenschritt sollten die Industrieländer ihre Emissionen bis 2020 mindestens um 40 Prozent senken. Sie sollten sich zweitens verpflichten, den Entwicklungsländern eine emissionsarme Entwicklung zu ermöglichen und ihnen bei der Bewältigung der bereits erkennbaren Klimaschäden zu helfen. Der Marshall-Plan kann als Beispiel eines erfolgreichen strategischen Kooperationsprogramms gelten.
  • Ein Klimavertrag darf nicht nur Grenzen setzen und Reduktionen einfordern. Er muss ebenso Aufbruchsignale für eine zukunftsfähige Energieversorgung setzen. Daher sollten Ziele für die Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und der Ausbau erneuerbarer Energien Teil des Klimaabkommens werden.
  • Absichtserklärungen allein schützen das Klima nicht. Darum sollen sich die Industrienationen und die Schwellenländer zu Aktionsplänen verpflichten. In ihnen führen sie aus, auf welche Weise sie die zugesagten Ziele erreichen wollen.


Für die Klimakonferenz in Kopenhagen vom 7. bis 18. Dezember 2009 legte das Wuppertal Institut nach breiter Fachdiskussion seinen Vorschlag für ein wirksames und zugleich gerechtes Klimaabkommen vor, der als Wuppertal Spezial Nr. 40 veröffentlicht wurde.