BilRess

Identifying and Developing Opportunities for All Areas of Education in the Field of Resource Preservation and Resource Efficiency

BilRess Logo
  • Project no.2421
  • Duration 09/2012 - 03/2016

Many studies predict a considerable increase of global resource consumption in the next decades. Along value chains, the environmental impact is rising, caused by the extraction of resources, the emissions linked to it and the increasing amount of waste. Furthermore, fluctuating and rising costs for resources can be observed, potentially diminishing the German economy's competitive edge. This tendency might moreover intensify social conflicts. A strategy to increase resource efficiency and employing adequate policy measures is, therefore, required.

One important factor is to foster a consciousness for preserving and efficiently using resources, and to establish a corresponding culture to protect resources. To do so, education plays an important role and educating for resource efficiency and resource preservation (R&R) should be established in all areas of education. Competencies to carefully handle natural resources should be globally developed in the educational systems. Current findings, however, show that at present education for resource efficiency is not yet established in all areas of education in Germany.

The joint project aims at contributing to the goals of resource policy (e.g. the German ProgRess-strategy) through an educational strategy. Decreasing the amount of resources used can only be accomplished through qualifying the respective actors in economy, politics and society.
The following steps aim to foster a consciousness for resource efficiency:

1. Process to develop a "Roadmap Natural Resources Education" in interaction with relevant actors in the educational systems to integrate resource efficiency and preservation in all important educational contexts in the future. The Roadmap serves as an orienting concept and is comprised of an inventory of existing educational opportunities (determination of contents, structures, competencies and actors) (WP 1). Results will be so called BilRess-cards, showing the most important results as mind maps. Building on this, needs for action and approaches to improve Natural Resources Education will be determined employing expert interviews and focus groups (WP 2). Results will be integrated into an orienting concept in an intensive dialogue with stakeholders. The aim is to develop the conceptual paper - based on a discourse with experts - in such a way that a later implementation is most likely successful (WP 3).

2. To accompany this, a network "Education for ProgRess" will be built up. Furthermore, an online communication platform will be set up and several events to communicate the ideas of the project will be conducted (WP 4). To do so, the project can build on existing activities in the field of Education for Sustainable Development and especially on the German "Resource Efficiency Network". The aim is to broadly reach actors to join the network and to achieve in depth communication of the project. The public relations work is comprised of several network meetings; results will be presented at the "Didacta - die Bildungsmesse" fair in 2015. A large conference will be conducted in the same year.

BilRess

Identifizierung und Entwicklung von Angeboten für alle Bildungsbereiche zum Thema Ressourcenschonung und Ressourceneffizienz

BilRess Logo
  • Projekt-Nr. 2421
  • Laufzeit 09/2012 - 03/2016

Zahlreiche Untersuchungen prognostizieren einen erheblichen Anstieg des globalen Ressourcenverbrauchs in den nächsten Jahrzehnten. Entlang der Wertschöpfungsketten wird die Umwelt durch die Entnahme von Ressourcen sowie damit verbundene Emissionen und die Entsorgung von Abfällen immer stärker belastet. Daneben sind fluktuierende und in der Tendenz steigende Rohstoffpreise zu beobachten, wodurch die Wettbewerbssituation der deutschen Wirtschaft unter Druck geraten kann. Die Verknappung von Ressourcen kann zudem zur Verschärfung sozialer Konflikte beitragen. Eine Strategie zur Steigerung der Ressourceneffizienz und geeignete politische Maßnahmen sind daher unabdingbar.

Ein wichtiger Faktor dafür ist es, das Bewusstsein für Ressourcenschonung und Ressourceneffizienz (R&R) zu steigern und eine entsprechende Kultur zu etablieren. Dabei kommt der Bildung eine herausragende Rolle zu. Kompetenzen zum schonenden Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen sollten im gesamten Bildungssystem vermittelt werden. Zurzeit ist Bildung für Ressourcenschonung und Ressourceneffizienz jedoch noch nicht breit in allen Bildungsbereichen in Deutschland verankert. Übergeordnetes Ziel des Projekts ist daher, zu den Zielen der bundesdeutschen Ressourcenpolitik (u. a. der ProgRess-Strategie) durch eine Bildungsstrategie beizutragen. Das Vorhaben zielt darauf ab, das Bewusstsein für verbesserte Ressourceneffizienz zu erhöhen.
Das Vorgehen hierzu umfasst die folgenden Aspekte:

1. Prozess zur Erstellung einer "Roadmap Ressourcenbildung" in Zusammenarbeit mit den wesentlichen Bildungsakteuren für eine zukünftige Integration von R&R in allen wichtigen Bildungsbereichen (Schule, Ausbildung, Hochschule, sowie formale und informelle Weiterbildung). Hierbei wird im Sinne eines Orientierungsrahmens eine Bestandsaufnahme und Analyse bestehender Bildungsangebote durchgeführt (u. a. Erfassung von Inhalten, Strukturen, Kompetenzen und Akteuren) (AP 1). Die Ergebnisse werden sogenannte BilRess-Karten sein, die die wichtigsten Ergebnisse als Mindmaps darstellen. Hierauf aufbauend erfolgt eine Bestimmung von Handlungsbedarfen und Handlungsansätzen durch Experteninterviews und Fokusgruppen, mit denen Bildung für R&R verbessert werden kann (AP 2). Die Ergebbnisse werden im engen Dialog mit den Stakeholdern zu einem Orientierungsrahmen zusammengeführt. Ziel ist es, das Konzeptpapier auf Basis eines Experten/-innen-Diskurses so zu gestalten, dass eine spätere Umsetzung die besten Erfolgsaussichten verspricht (AP 3).

2. Begleitend dazu erfolgt eine Netzwerkentwicklung "Bildung für ProgRess" sowie die Entwicklung einer Internet-Kommunikationsplattform und die Durchführung zahlreicher Veranstaltungen (AP 4). Angeknüpft wird an bestehende Aktivitäten aus den Bereichen Bildung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung sowie insbesondere an das Netzwerk Ressourceneffizienz (NeRess). Hierdurch wird auf eine breite Akteurseinbindung und -aktivierung im Rahmen der Netzwerkbildung und weitreichenden Kommunikation abgezielt. Im Rahmen der Öffentlichkeitsarbeit werden diverse Netzwerktreffen durch geführt, die Ergebnisse auf der Didacta Bildungsmesse 2015 vorgestellt sowie eine Großkonferenz im Jahr 2015 veranstaltet.