Further Development of CDM Standardised Baselines

  • Project no.1290
  • Duration 08/2012 - 08/2014

The project aims at fostering the development of so-called standardised baseline in the context of the Clean Development Mechanism (CDM). The CDM is one of the flexible mechanisms of the Kyoto Protocol. Standardising the calculation of emission reductions is intended to lead to lower transaction costs and support the uptake of the CDM in so far underrepresented regions and sectors.
The research is going to focus on least developed countries (LDCs). Standardised Baselines are of special importance for LDCs as they are well- suited to take into account so far unmet needs such as electricity or clean drinking water and to develop financially viable projects.
Using the project category rural electrification, the project team is going to examine which project design achieves the best balance of ecological, economic and political requirements. At the example of a selected LDC country the feasibility of a country-specific standardised baseline is going to be evaluated. In a second step, a survey among carbon market experts is going to be conducted in order to derive recommendations on how to further develop the concept of standardised baselines.


Project partner

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

Weiterentwicklung von standardisierten CDM Baselines (Referenzfallemissionen) für die Nutzung in nationalen "Messung, Berichterstattung und Verifizierung- (MRV)"-Systemen in Entwicklungsländern

  • Projekt-Nr.1290
  • Laufzeit 08/2012 - 08/2014

Das Projekt soll die Entwicklung sog. Standardisierter Baselines im Rahmen des Clean Development Mechanism (CDM) unterstützen. Der CDM ist einer der flexiblen Mechanismen des Kyoto Protokolls. Durch die stärkere Standardisierung bei der Berechnung der Treibhausgasminderung sollen die Transaktionskosten gesenkt und die Beteiligung bisher im CDM unterrepräsentierter Regionen und Sektoren gefördert werden.
Im Rahmen der Forschung wird das Hauptaugenmerk auf die am wenigsten entwickelten Länder (least developed countries, LDCs) gelegt. Die Ausgestaltung standardisierter Baselines ist für diese Länder von besonderer Bedeutung, da hier bisher nicht erfüllte Grundbedürfnisse wie etwa der Zugang zu Elektrizität oder sauberem Wasser in adäquater Weise berücksichtigt und hier finanziell tragbare Projekte entwickelt werden können.
Anhand der Projektaktivität "Elektrifizierung ländlicher Gebiete" wird untersucht, welches Projektdesign aus ökologischen, ökonomischen und politischen Gründen besonders zielführend ist. An einem Beispielland soll betrachtet werden, ob eine länderspezifische standardisierte Baseline für eine solche Projektaktivität festgelegt werden kann, welche ebenfalls nicht erfüllte Grundbedürfnisse adressiert. In einem zweiten Schritt wird eine Expertenumfrage durchgeführt zur Weiterentwicklung von Standardised Baselines im Rahmen des CDM und einem neuen Marktmechanismus.


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer

Projektpartner