Mid-Size Cities

Scoping Study – Low Carbon Strategy and Implementation Processes for Mid-Size Cities in Emerging and Developing Economies

  • Project no.3149
  • Duration 04/2012 - 04/2013

Increasing urbanisation and climate change are among the greatest challenges of the 21st century. Cities cover only 1% of the Earth’s surface, but are home to about 50% of the global population (soon 60%). Accommodating more than three billion people, cities are major sources of greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. Up to 80% of global greenhouse gas emissions are estimated to originate in urban areas. Therefore, low carbon city strategies and concepts implicate large GHG mitigation potentials. As urbanisation in developing and emerging economies proceeds at a particular rapid pace, there is a high need of low carbon strategy and implementation processes in such countries and world regions.

Thus, the proposed scoping study aims to develop and establish blueprint strategies and implementation processes for sustainable energy technologies (SET) in pilot cities in developing and emerging countries which are part of a selected focus region. The blueprint strategies and processes will be based on a systematic evaluation of international low carbon city initiatives.

If the scoping study proves that the selected pilot cities indicate promising conditions for disseminating SETs, it will be followed by an implementation phase. The latter encompasses the set up, implementation and monitoring of SET pilot projects. These steps will be framed by learning and networking processes among the pilot cities and within the selected focus region.

Mid-Size Cities

Scoping Study – Low Carbon Strategy and Implementation Processes for Mid-Size Cities in Emerging and Developing Economies

  • Projekt-Nr.3149
  • Laufzeit 04/2012 - 04/2013

Die voranschreitende Urbanisierung und der sich beschleunigende Klimawandel zählen zu den größten Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts. Zwar bedecken Städte nur etwa 1 % der Erdoberfläche, jedoch wohnen in ihnen etwa 50 % der Weltbevölkerung (bald 60 %). Mit weltweit mehr als 3 Milliarden Menschen, die in städtischen Ballungszentren leben, sind Städte erhebliche Quellen von Treibhausgasemissionen. Es wird geschätzt, dass bis zu 80 % der globalen Treibhausgasemissionen in städtischen Gebieten ausgestoßen werden. Städtische Klimaschutzkonzepte und -strategien implizieren demnach ein hohes Potential zur Treibhausgasminderung. Da die Urbanisierung in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern in einem besonders hohen Tempo voranschreitet, besteht in diesen Ländern und Weltregionen ein hoher Bedarf nach solchen Konzepten und Strategien.

Aus diesem Grund verfolgt das hier vorgestellte Projekt das Ziel, übertragbare Ansätze für Strategien und Implementierungprozesse zur Markteinführung und -verbreitung von nachhaltigen Energietechnologien in ausgewählten Pilotstädten in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern zu erarbeiten. Die Erstellung dieser Strategien und Prozesse baut auf einer systematischen Auswertung bestehender internationaler Initiativen für Low Carbon Cities auf.

Sofern die zu erarbeitende Scoping Study belegt, dass die ausgewählten Pilotstädte vielversprechende Bedingungen für die Verbreitung von nachhaltigen Energietechnologien aufweisen, schließt sich eine Implementierungsphase an. Diese soll die Entwicklung, Umsetzung und Evaluierung von Pilotprojekten für nachhaltige Energietechnologien umfassen. Die genannten Arbeitsschritte werden in einen Lern- und Netzwerkprozess zwischen den ausgewählten Pilotstädten eingebettet.