RECREATE

Research Network for Forward Looking Activities and Assessment of Research and Innovation Prospects in the Fields of Climate, Resource Efficiency and Raw Materials

  • Project no.3352
  • Duration 07/2013 - 07/2018

RECREATE is a research network that will conduct ex ante assessments of EU-funded research, collect and analyse strategic information about medium and long term research and technological development (RTD) trends and prospects and that will carry out forward-looking analysis in the areas of climate action, resource efficiency and raw materials.

Besides research and innovation programmes, the project will also analyse related policy, technology and market developments. The project targets major EU and third country research and innovation actors.

RECREATE has the aim of overcoming the fragmentation of the EU research area regarding topics and actors. In particular, RECREATE aims at creating a clear cut research agenda for the new Framework Programme for Research and Innovation "Horizon 2020" addressing the challenges of creating a resource-efficient and climate change-resilient economy and a sustainable supply of raw materials, while meeting the needs of a growing global population within the limits of the planet’s natural boundaries. RECREATE acts in those fields with special emphasis on potential synergies and potential trade-offs.

RECREATE is organised along the following tasks:

1. Creation, launching and running a network of a wide range of necessary stakeholders (industry, academia, research centres, policy-makers etc.) in order to support research and innovation perspectives

2. Development and monitoring of key indicators and a scoreboard structure for assessing the impact of selected research and innovation cooperation in environmental and socio-economic terms (policy, economy and society)

3. Collection of strategic information about medium and long-term research and innovation trends and prospects as well as analysis of technological and policy trends provision as a base for forward-looking activities

4. Production of quantitative and qualitative briefings with research and innovation information, trends and strategic options for EU research managers and policy-makers.

RECREATE starts in July 2013 and is a five years coordination and support action project financed by the European Commission. It consists of a balanced consortium of 15 key players in the areas of climate actions, resource efficiency and raw materials. Wuppertal Institute leads the work package on indicators and the scoreboard for impact assessments.

RECREATE

Forschungsnetzwerk zu zukünftigen Aktivitäten und Abschätzung von Forschungs- und Innovationsperspektiven in den Bereichen Klima, Ressourceneffizienz und Rohstoffe

  • Projekt-Nr. 3352
  • Laufzeit 07/2013 - 07/2018

RECREATE ist ein Forschungsnetzwerk mit dem Zweck, die europäische Forschungspolitik zu unterstützen, indem es ex ante Bewertungen von EU-finanzierter Forschung durchführt. Es sammelt strategische Informationen bezüglich mittel- und langfristiger Forschungs- und Innovationstrends in den Bereichen Klimawandel, Ressourceneffizienz und Rohstoffe. Neben der Untersuchung von Forschungs- und Innovationsprogrammen wird das Projekt auch Politik-, Technologie- und Marktentwicklungen analysieren. Im Fokus der Analyse stehen dabei Länder der EU und relevante Drittstaaten.

RECREATE tritt mit dem Ziel an, Fragmentierungen in der EU-Forschungslandschaft zu überwinden. Das bedeutet konkret, dass RECREATE eine Forschungsagenda für das neue EU-Rahmenprogramm für Forschung und Innovation "Horizon 2020" formuliert, die den Herausforderungen der Ressourceneffizienz und des Klimawandels sowie die einer nachhaltigen Rohstoff-Versorgung unter Beachtung der planetarischen Leitplanken gerecht wird. RECREATE untersucht dabei insbesondere Synergien und Zielkonflikte von Forschungsprogrammen.

RECREATE ist entlang der folgenden Aufgaben organisiert:

1. Entwicklung, Einführung und Pflege eines Netzwerks von relevanten Akteuren aus Industrie, Wissenschaft und Politik zur Unterstützung von Forschung und Innovation

2. Entwicklung und Abbildung von Kennzahlen sowie einer Scoreboard-Struktur zur Folgenabschätzung ausgewählter Forschungs- und Innovations-Kooperationen in ökologischer und sozioökonomischer Hinsicht

3. Sammlung von strategischen mittel- und langfristigen Forschungs- und Innovationstrends sowie Analyse von Technologie- und Politik-Trends als Basis für zukunftsorientierte Forschung

4. Erstellung quantitativer und qualitativer Kurzberichte zu Forschungs- und Innovations-Trends und strategischen Optionen für relevante Akteure in Forschung und Politik der EU.

RECREATE beginnt im Juli 2013 und ist eine fünfjährige Koordinierungs- und Unterstützungsmaßnahme, die durch die Europäische Kommission finanziert wird. Es besteht aus einem Verbund von 15 Projektpartnern, die jeweils Hauptakteure in den Bereichen Klimawandel, Ressourceneffizienz und Rohstoffe sind. Das Wuppertal Institut wird das Arbeitspaket zu Indikatoren für Folgenabschätzungen leiten und ist darüber hinaus in die anderen Arbeitspakete involviert.