Material Prosperity Standards of Global Sustainability - Analysis and Display of Global Sustainable Materialistic Supply Rates on the Level of Households

  • Project no.2325
  • Duration 10/2012 - 10/2014

The Gesellschaft für Wirtschaftliche Strukturforschung and the Wuppertal Institute have been commissioned with this project by the German Federal Environment Agency, funded in the framework of the Environmental Research Plan (UFO Plan). It aims to raise the German consumer awareness of a globally justified and sustainable resource use which means that industrial societies will have to reduce their resource demand drastically in the future.

The project assesses the raw-material stock of durable household goods and determines short and mid term sustainable resource budgets. It will thus allow to map the sustainability gap of German households in relation to durable goods for the years 2015 and 2030. An interactive web application will communicate this to the public. The application provides an opportunity to test individually whether the personal household configuration complies with the limits of sustainability for the most relevant raw-materials identified in the course of the project.

The study is conducted in four work packages out of which Wuppertal Institute is mainly responsible for WP 1 and WP 2.

  • WP 1: Selection of prioritised raw-materials and macro-economic examination of material availability and budgets
  • WP 2: Micro-economic examination of resource stocks of households and allocation to different types of households
  • WP 3: Consolidation of WP 1 and WP 2 as well as provision of the calculations for the software application
  • WP 4: Design and development of an interactive web application

The special scientific interest of the Wuppertal Institute is to compile material stocks of households within different types of households. Major focus is therefore the assessment of material flows in households, which are induced by consumer decisions and needs, as well as their environmental relevance and criticality in the context of global resource supply.

Global nachhaltige materielle Wohlstandsniveaus - Analyse und Veranschaulichung global nachhaltiger materieller Versorgungsgrade auf der Ebene von Haushalten

  • Projekt-Nr.2325
  • Laufzeit 10/2012 - 10/2014

Ziel des Projektes, mit dem die Gesellschaft für Wirtschaftliche Strukturforschung und das Wuppertal Institut vom Umweltbundesamt im Rahmen des Umweltforschungsplans beauftragt wurden, ist die Sensibilisierung der Konsumenten in Deutschland für eine an Nachhaltigkeit und globaler Gerechtigkeit orientierte Ressourceninanspruchnahme, da sich Industriegesellschaften langfristig mit weniger Rohstoffen begnügen werden müssen.

Hierzu werden Rohstoffverbräuche langlebiger Güter in Haushalten erfasst und im Rahmen einer Software-Applikation einer breiten Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht sowie kurz- und mittelfristige global nachhaltige Rohstoffbudgets für ausgewählte Rohstoffe ermittelt. Durch individuelle Konfiguration persönlicher Haushaltsausstattungen soll dabei für ausgewählte Rohstoffe die Einhaltung von Nachhaltigkeitsschranken erprobt werden und erstmals die Nachhaltigkeitslücke deutscher Haushaltsaustattungen in den Jahren 2015 und 2030 abgebildet werden.

Die Studie wird in vier Arbeitsschritten durchgeführt, wovon die Pakete 1 bis 3 maßgeblich durch das Wuppertal Institut bearbeitet werden:

  • AP 1: Auswahl der prioritären Rohstoffe und makroökonomische Betrachtung des Rohstoffangebots und -budgets
  • AP 2: Mikroökonomische Betrachtung des Rohstoffinventars deutscher Haushalte
  • AP 3: Zusammenführung von AP 1 und AP 2 sowie Bereitstellung der Berechnungsgrundlage für eine Softwareanwendung
  • AP 4: Erstellung einer Softwareanwendung in Form einer Internetapplikation

Das wissenschaftliche Interesse des Wuppertal Instituts richtet sich auf die Erfassung von Stoffspeichern in Haushalten und ihre Differenzierbarkeit innerhalb verschiedener Haushaltstypen. Im Vordergrund steht daher die Ermittlung von Stoffströmen im Haushalt, die durch Konsumentscheidungen und individuelle Bedürfnisse induziert werden, als auch ihre Kritikalität in Bezug auf die globale Ressourcenbereitstellung.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links