SOLUTIONS

Sharing Opportunities for Low carbon Urban TransporTatION

  • Project no.3272
  • Duration 05/2013 - 10/2016

Innovative and green mobility solutions will have the potential to radically transform urban spaces over the coming decades. The EU-funded SOLUTIONS project has spearheaded exchanges between cities in Europe, Asia, Africa, and Latin America to ensure such solutions benefit from only the very best technical knowledge and experience, and can be utilised on a truly global scale.

The activities undertaken by the SOLUTIONS project have focused on such diverse areas as public transport, transport infrastructure, city logistics, network and mobility management, integrated planning, and clean vehicles. Some of the project highlights:

  • A network of cities:
    The project established a team of cities across four continents to work together on the implementation of urban solutions, with the core element of this cooperation being the SOLUTIONS City Twins that were supported by local and international knowledge partners. These city partnerships contributed to the global knowledge sharing that reached over 2 000 transport professionals via eLearning, webinars and capacity building workshops and they worked together on concrete implementation projects.
  • Leading initiatives:
    SOLUTIONS also had the opportunity to contribute actively towards a New Urban Agenda, which was a part of the Habitat III policy process, an initiative of the United Nations. Another project outcome was the establishment of the Urban Electric Mobility Initiative (UEMI) in cooperation with UN-Habitat that aims to limit the increase in global mean temperature of 2 degrees above pre-industrial levels by decreasing global urban CO2 emissions.
  • Beyond the project:
    With the formal end of the project in October 2016, SOLUTIONS will continue in the form of the SOLUTIONS Network to maintain the project's international collaborations on sustainable urban mobility. In the near future, the Network will host a number of webinars and will launch calls for cities from Europe, Asia, Latin America, and the Mediterranean to become involved in the network's innovation activities. These will be a part of a new project called Future-Radar, a partnership with the Technology Platform ERTRAC and the European Green Vehicles Initiative.

Further project information

Links

SOLUTIONS

Sharing Opportunities for Low carbon Urban TransporTatION

  • Projekt-Nr. 3272
  • Laufzeit 05/2013 - 10/2016

Innovative und umweltfreundliche Mobilitätslösungen haben das Potenzial, urbane Flächen in den kommenden Jahrzehnten radikal zu verändern. Das EU-finanzierte Projekt SOLUTIONS führte Austausche zwischen Städten in Europa, Asien, Afrika und Lateinamerika durch, um sicherzustellen, dass diese Lösungen von den besten Fachkenntnissen und Erfahrungen profitieren, sodass sie in einem wirklich globalen Maßstab angewandt werden können.

Die im Zuge des SOLUTIONS-Projekts unternommenen Aktivitäten nahmen verschiedene Bereiche wie das öffentliche Transportwesen, die Transportinfrastruktur, die Stadtlogistik, das Netz- und Mobilitätsmanagement, eine integrierte Planung und saubere Fahrzeuge in den Fokus. Einige der Projekt-Highlights:

  • Ein Städtenetzwerk:
    Über das Projekt wurde ein Städteteam aus vier Kontinenten eingerichtet, um gemeinsam an der Umsetzung urbaner Lösungen zu arbeiten. Das Kernelement dieser Zusammenarbeit waren hierbei die SOLUTIONS City Twins, die über lokale und internationale Wissenspartner unterstützt wurden. Diese Städtepartnerschaften leisteten einen Beitrag zur globalen Wissensvermittlung, mit der über E-Learning, Webinare und Capacity-Building-Workshops mehr als 2 000 Fachkräfte im Transportwesen erreicht wurden. Außerdem wurde konkret an Implementierungsprojekten zusammengearbeitet.
  • Führende Initiativen:
    SOLUTIONS bot ebenfalls die Möglichkeit, einen aktiven Beitrag zu der New Urban Agenda zu leisten, die Bestandteil des politischen Prozesses von Habitat III war, einer Initiative der Vereinten Nationen. Ein weiteres Resultat des Projekts war die Einrichtung der Urban Electric Mobility Iniative (UEMI) in Kooperation mit der UN-Habitat-Initiative. Diese zielt darauf ab, über eine Verringerung der globalen CO2-Emissionen den Anstieg der weltweiten Durchschnittstemperatur auf ein Niveau zu begrenzen, das maximal 2 Grad Celsius über dem vorindustriellen Niveau liegt.
  • Über das Projekt hinaus:
    In Anbetracht des offiziellen Endes des Projekts im Oktober 2016 wird SOLUTIONS zur Aufrechterhaltung der internationalen Projektkooperationen im Bereich der nachhaltigen städtischen Mobilität in Form des SOLUTIONS Network fortbestehen. In naher Zukunft werden über das Netzwerk eine Reihe von Webinaren gehostet und es werden Aufrufe an Städte in Europa, Asien, Lateinamerika und der Mittelmeerregion für eine Beteiligung an den Innovationsaktivitäten des Netzwerkes gestartet. Diese werden Bestandteil eines neuen Projekts mit der Bezeichnung Future-Radar sein, einer Partnerschaft mit der Technologieplattform ERTRAC und der European Green Vehicles Initiative.

Weitere Projektinformationen

Links