SWITCH Asia II - SusBuild

SWITCH - Asia II Promoting Sustainable Consumption and Production

  • Project no.250433
  • Duration 01/2016 - 12/2019

China’s unprecedented socio-economic growth drives expansion in the building sector. Meanwhile, building energy consumption has increased by 40% since 1990. The building sector accounts for about 30% of the final energy consumption in China, thus, it is essential in China's pursuit of a more resource efficient and low carbon pathway. The past years witness a significant growth in green buildings in China. However, green building development in western China is still in its early stage. In China, micro-, small, and medium-enterprises (MSMEs) play a vital role in building sector. However, MSMEs often lacks of knowledge and skills in the field of sustainable building and have a limited access to financing.

Against this background, the SusBuild project funded by EU SWITCH Asia II aims to foster sustainable building practices among MSMEs in Chongqing City and Yunnan province in western China. To achieve the objectives, the project takes an integrative approach by combining the following components:

  • capacity building and technical support for MSMEs along the supply chain in the building sector as well as facility managers;
  • raising awareness for MSME users of large-scale commercial buildings;
  • strengthening the capacity of financial institutions for providing green loans and supporting MSMEs in the building sector;
  • providing recommendations of developing a sustainable building sector to decision makers at both national and local level;
  • improving business network fostering sustainable buildings, and enhancing EU-China dialogues on sustainable buildings.

The project consortium is led by the Wuppertal Institute and consists of six project Chinese partners which are coordinated by China Association of Building Energy Efficiency and Beijing University of Civil Engineering and Architecture. The project is supported by the Ministry of Housing and Urban & Rural Development (MoHURD) and its line offices in Chongqing and Yunnan. It also receives strong support from econet china/German Industry & Commerce Greater China and GIZ China.

SWITCH Asia II - SusBuild

SWITCH - Asia II Promoting Sustainable Consumption and Production

  • Projekt-Nr.250433
  • Laufzeit 01/2016 - 12/2019

Chinas beispielloses sozio-ökonomisches Wachstum bedingt ein expansives Wachstum im Gebäudebereich. Der Energieverbrauch von Gebäuden hat seit 1990 um 40 Prozent zugenommen. Der Gebäudebereich ist somit für etwa 30 Prozent des Endenergieverbrauchs Chinas verantwortlich, und daher von wesentlicher Bedeutung für ressourceneffiziente und kohlenstoffarme Zukunftspfade. Obwohl es in den letzten Jahren eine signifikante Zunahme "grüner" Gebäude in China gab, befindet sich diese Entwicklung noch in ihrer Anfangsphase. In China spielen kleine und mittelgroße Unternehmen (KMUs) eine wesentliche Rolle innerhalb der Baubranche. Häufig fehlen dort neben finanziellen Ressourcen auch die Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten im Bereich nachhaltigen Bauens.

Vor diesem Hintergrund zielt das SusBuild-Projekt - welches aus EU SWITCH Asia II-Mitteln finanziert wird - darauf, nachhaltige Baupraktiken in kleinen und mittelgroßen Unternehmen in der Stadt Chongquing sowie der Yunnan-Provinz in Westchina zu fördern.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, verfolgt das Projekt einen integrativen Zugang durch die Kombination folgender Instrumente:

  • Vermittlung von Wissen und Handlungskompetenz sowie technische Unterstützung für KMUs in der Lieferkette der Baubranche sowie für Betriebsleiter;
  • Aufklärungsarbeit bei KMU-Nutzern großflächiger Gewerbegebäude;
  • Stärkung der Kapazitäten von Finanzinstitutionen, um KMUs der Baubranche mit "grünen" Darlehen zu unterstützen;
  • Erarbeitung von Empfehlungen für die Entwicklung einer nachhaltigen Baubranche sowohl für Entscheidungsträger auf nationaler als auch lokaler Ebene;
  • Verbesserung von Unternehmensnetzwerken, die nachhaltige Gebäude fördern, sowie Erweiterung des EU-China-Dialogs zu nachhaltigen Gebäuden.

Das Konsortium wird vom Wuppertal Institut aus koordiniert und besteht zudem noch aus sechs chinesischen Projektpartnern, welche wiederum vom chinesischen Verband für Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden und der Beijing Universität für Bauingenieurswesen und Architektur koordiniert wird. Unterstützung erhält das Projekt zudem durch das Ministerium für Wohnen und Urbane und Ländliche Entwicklung mit seinen Außenstellen in Chongqing und Yunnan. Das Projekt wird außerdem von econet china/Deutsche Industrie und Handel China und der GIZ China unterstützt.