Recycling of End-of-Life Vehicles in Rhineland-Palatinate

  • Project no.350667
  • Duration 12/2015 - 09/2016

On behalf of the State Office for the Environment, Water Management and Labour Inspection the project team consisting of experts of Ökopol and Wuppertal Institute will identify reprocessing routes of end-of-life vehicles in Rhineland-Palatinate more precisely. Based on interviews with the main relevant actors the project will work out practice-oriented recommendations of improving the enforcement, possible shortfalls and their sources.

The project is divdided into three different working packages; Ökopol will take over the lead of the overall project and will be responsible for WP 2 and WP 3. The Wuppertal Institute is responsible for WP 1 and will support the development of WP 3.

  • WP 1: Inventory
    WP 1 will take stock of all end-of-life businesses in Rhineland-Palatinate. Basic information on the services offered and on the throughput will be collected. Based on this survey there will be further telephone interviews with about 20 representative businesses.
  • WP 2: Expert interviews:
    In WP 2 there will be guideline-based interviews with individually selected actors (monitoring authorities, external experts, structure and approval managements etc.). Results achieved and contents of the expert interviews will then be documented as well as in WP 1. Finally project results will be presented in a common project meeting.
  • WP 3: Recommended solutions and measures
    Feasible solutions and measures to improve enforcement as well to increase transparency of the final disposal will be derived from contents and results of WP 1 and 2. The suggestions and recommendations developed will be connected with the designation of possible actors and periods of time. Final results will be presented to and discussed with the State Office for Environment, Water Management and Labour Inspection.

Verwertung von Altfahrzeugen in Rheinland-Pfalz

  • Projekt-Nr.350667
  • Laufzeit 12/2015 - 09/2016

Im Auftrag des Landesamtes für Umwelt, Wasserwirtschaft und Gewerbeaufsicht Rheinland-Pfalz (LUWG) wird das Projektteam - bestehend aus Ökopol und dem Wuppertal Institut - die Verwertungswege der Altfahrzeuge in Rheinland-Pfalz genauer identifizieren. Auf Grundlage der Interviews, die mit allen relevanten Akteuren geführt werden, soll das Projekt praxisorientierte Vorschläge für eine Verbesserung des Vollzugs, mögliche Defizite und deren Ursachen herausarbeiten.

Das Projekt gliedert sich in drei Arbeitspakete; Ökopol übernimmt hier die Leitung des Gesamtprojektes und verantwortet AP 2 und AP 3. Das Wuppertal Institut ist verantwortlich für AP 1 und unterstützt in AP 3.

  • AP 1: Bestandsaufnahme
    In diesem Arbeitspaket erfolgt eine Bestandsaufnahme aller Altfahrzeugbetriebe in Rheinland-Pfalz. Es werden Grundinformationen, wie das angebotene Leistungsspektrum und der Durchsatz erfasst. Auf der Grundlage dieser ersten Erhebung werden mit ca. 20 repräsentativen Betrieben weitergehende Telefoninterviews durchgeführt.
  • AP 2: Expertengespräche
    In AP 2 werden mit ausgewählten Akteuren (Überwachungsbehörden, Sachverständigen, Struktur- und Genehmigungsdirektionen etc.) leitfadengestützte Interviews geführt. Die Ergebnisse und Inhalte der Expertengespräche werden ebenso wie die des AP 1 dokumentiert. Es erfolgt eine abschließende Präsentation in einem Projektgespräch.
  • AP 3: Lösungsvorschläge und Maßnahmen
    Aus den Inhalten und Ergebnissen von AP 1 und 2 werden praktikable Lösungsvorschläge und Maßnahmen zur Verbesserung des Vollzuges und Erhöhung der Transparenz des Entsorgungsgeschehens abgeleitet. Die Vorschläge und Empfehlungen werden mit einer Benennung möglicher Akteure und Zeithorizonte verbunden. Die Ergebnisse werden dem LUWG präsentiert und diskutiert.