DoNaPart

Psychological and Community Empowerment through Participation in Sustainable Urban Reconstruction

  • Project no.150575
  • Duration 11/2016 - 10/2019

A central question of the project "Psychological and Communal Empowerment through Participation in Sustainable Urban Reconstruction", realised by the city of Dortmund, was how people can be empowered to shape their living environment considering their own needs and values.

The launch of an urban real-world lab in the Social City project region of Westerfilde/Bodelschwingh was the main objective of the DoNaPart Project. Within this framework, the design and implementation of a sustainable transformation process in the fields of energy, mobility, and consumption has been realised.

Citizens, local companies, and civil society groups of the area affected by the programme were actively involved in the development and the implementation of interventions. For this purpose, an open meeting place was created for the duration of the project, as well as an open bike repair workshop, an open WiFi-network. And an energy-saving competition has been conducted. The project consortium attached great importance to such projects that enable social learning processes and can potentially be continued after the project’s official termination.

Before and after the interventions, a representative survey of 500 pollees was conducted in the relevant city district. This survey dealt with the internal, social, and behavioural aspects of empowerment. The psychological constructs regarding the three fields of action as well as aspects concerning the quality of life in the district were recorded. The survey was also carried out in a comparative district. Thus, the effects of the project were empirically verified.

The Wuppertal Institute was responsible for the field of energy as well as for the evaluation of the project. Individual measures and the entire package of measures were evaluated by the Institute's scientists. The project lead has been the Environmental Psychology Group at Dortmund University of Applied Sciences.

DoNaPart

Psychologisches und kommunales Empowerment durch Partizipation im klimagerechten Stadtumbau

  • Projekt-Nr.150575
  • Laufzeit 11/2016 - 10/2019

Wie können Menschen befähigt werden, ihr Lebensumfeld entsprechend den eigenen Bedürfnissen und Wertvorstellungen zu gestalten? Das ist die zugrunde liegende Fragestellung des Dortmunder Projekts "Psychologisches und kommunales Empowerment durch Partizipation im nachhaltigen Stadtumbau" (DoNaPart).

Im Zentrum des Projekts steht die Initiierung eines urbanen Reallabors in dem Soziale Stadt Programmgebiet Westerfilde/ Bodelschwingh, innerhalb dessen ein nachhaltiger Transformationsprozess in den Bereichen Energie, Mobilität und Konsum entworfen und durchgeführt werden soll.

Die Bürgerinnen und Bürger des Stadtteils, lokale Unternehmen und zivilgesellschaftliche Gruppen werden dabei aktiv an der Entwicklung und Durchführung von Interventionen beteiligt. Vor Ort wird in einem Ladenlokal ein offener Begegnungsraum aufgebaut, in dem in der Projektlaufzeit z. B. ein kostenfreier Lastenradverleih, ein urbaner Gemeinschaftsgarten, die Zwischennutzung von Parkraum oder eine Stromwechselparty geplant werden. Das Projektkonsortium legt Wert darauf, dass dabei solche Projekte initiiert werden, die soziale Lernprozesse ermöglichen können und das Potenzial haben, auch über die Projektlaufzeit Bestand zu haben.

Vor und nach den Interventionen wird im Stadtteil eine repräsentative Befragung mit 650 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmern durchgeführt, die sich mit den innerpersönlichen, sozialen und verhaltensbezogenen Aspekten des Empowerments befassen. Außerdem wird dabei die Lebensqualität des Stadtteils sowie psychologische Konstrukte zu den drei Handlungsfeldern erfasst.

Die Befragung wird zudem in einem Vergleichsquartier durchgeführt, wodurch die Wirkungen des Projektes empirisch überprüft werden können.

Das Wuppertal Institut ist für das Handlungsfeld Energie sowie für die Evaluation der Maßnahmen verantwortlich. Zudem werden durch die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts Einzelmaßnahmen sowie das gesamte Maßnahmenpaket evaluiert. Das Projekt wird durch die AG Umweltpsychologie in der transdisziplinären Nachhaltigkeitsforschung an der FH Dortmund geleitet.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links