Virtual Institute: Power to Gas and Heat - Intelligent Flexibilisation of the energy system in NRW

  • Project no. 150331
  • Duration 12/2014 - 12/2017

The transformation of the German energy supply as part of the energy revolution embodies an enormous challenge for the following decades. Further expansion of renewable, fluctuating power plants leads to temporary and local mismatches between generation and demand of electricity. Thus, flexibility measures are necessary. The purpose is to bring the supply into accordance with the demand as efficently and as cost-effectively as possible, but still be able to ensure the security of electricity supply. Due to delays in the expansion of the power grid regarding the local compensation, measures for the temporary compensation take on greater significance. Theses measures inlcude, in particular, demand-side management (DSM) as well as the conversion of renewable (surplus) electricity to heat (Power-to-Heat, PtH), to gases (Power-to-Gas, PtG), to chemical products (Power-to-Chemicals, PtC) and to fuels (Power-to-Fuels, PtF). The latter four belong to the same versatile technological family and are summarised under the term of Power-to-X. As a result, research increasingly focuses on the subject of coupling various sectors like electricity, gas, heat, industry or mobility.

In the "Virtual Institute - electricity to gas and heat", eight institutes from North Rhine-Westphalia are working together on behalf of the state government on further development of the technologies as well as the development of expansion and application strategies. Coordination is carried out by the Gas and Heat Institute Essen and the Energy Economics Institute at the University of Cologne (ewi). Further partners are the Research Center Jülich with its task forces IEK-3 and IEK-STE, the Wuppertal Institute, the Center for Fuel Cell Technology, Fraunhofer UMSICHT and the professorial chair "Technical Chemistry" of the Ruhr-University of Bochum.

As part of the "System Analysis" group, the Wuppertal Institute examines the application of the technologies in interaction with other components of the energy system within the framework of modelling energy systems. In addition to the development and analysis of future scenarios, the Wuppertal Institute also deals with a multicriteria location assessment for future PtG capacities as well as with technologies, potentials and perspectives of PtH in industry.

Virtuelles Institut: Strom zu Gas und Wärme - Intelligente Flexibilisierung des Energiesystems in NRW

  • Projekt-Nr.150331
  • Laufzeit 12/2014 - 12/2017

Die Transformation der deutschen Energieversorgung im Rahmen der Energiewende stellt eine enorme Herausforderung für die folgenden Jahrzehnte dar. Durch den weiteren Ausbau von erneuerbaren, fluktuierenden Erzeugungsanlagen entstehen zunehmend zeitliche und örtliche Differenzen zwischen der Stromerzeugung und der Stromnachfrage. Dies macht im Zeitverlauf verschiedene Flexibilitätsmaßnahmen erforderlich, um Erzeugung und Nachfrage möglichst effizient und kostengünstig in Einklang zu bringen und dabei die notwendige Versorgungssicherheit zu gewährleisten. Aufgrund der Verzögerungen beim Netzausbau für den räumlichen Ausgleich gewinnen Maßnahmen für den zeitlichen Ausgleich zunehmend an Bedeutung. Dazu gehören insbesondere Demand-Side-Management (DSM) sowie die Umwandlung von erneuerbarem (Überschuss-)Strom zu Wärme (Power-to-Heat, PtH), zu Gasen (Power-to-Gas, PtG) oder auch zu chemischen Produkten (Power-to-Chemicals, PtC) und Kraftstoffen (Power-to-Fuel, PtF). Die zuletzt genannte, vielseitige Technologiefamilie wird häufig zu Power-to-X zusammengefasst. Dadurch rückt zudem eine verstärkte Kopplung der verschiedenen Sektoren, wie z. B. Strom, Gas und Wärme, Industrie oder Mobilität, immer weiter in den Fokus der Forschung.

Im "Virtuellen Institut - Strom zu Gas und Wärme" arbeiten acht Institute aus NRW im Auftrag der Landesregierung zusammen an einer Weiterentwicklung der Technologien sowie an der Entwicklung von Ausbau- und Einsatzstrategien für das deutsche Energiesystem. Die Koordination erfolgt durch das Gas- und Wärme-Institut Essen e.V. und das Energiewirtschaftliche Institut an der Universität zu Köln. Weitere Partner sind das Forschungszentrum Jülich mit den Arbeitsgruppen IEK-3 und IEK-STE, das Wuppertal Institut, das Zentrum für Brennstoffzellentechnik, Fraunhofer UMSICHT und der Lehrstuhl "Technische Chemie" der Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

Das Wuppertal Institut untersucht als Teil der Gruppe "Systemanalyse" den Einsatz der Technologien im Zusammenspiel mit anderen Komponenten des Energiesystems im Rahmen der Energiesystemmodellierung. Neben der Entwicklung und Analyse von Zukunftsszenarien befasst sich das Wuppertal Institut zudem mit einer multikriteriellen Standortbewertung für künftige PtG-Kapazitäten sowie mit Technologien, Potenzialen und Perspektiven von PtH in der Industrie.