Structural Change in Coal-mining Regions as a Process of an Economic and Socio-Ecological Transformation - Options for a Fair and Socially Acceptable Structural Change in the Light of Climate Policy Targets

  • Project no.251015
  • Duration 10/2016 - 08/2019

If climate targets are to be met, more than 80 % of global coal reserves need to stay in the ground. Phasing out coal use in power generation poses high challenges for energy policy. For mining regions, a coal phase-out is a drastic challenge with high economic burdens and potential job losses. How can such a process of structural change be supported and managed, minimising social disruptions?

The project "Structural Change in Coal-Mining Regions" assesses two historic processes: (1) phase-out of coal mining in the Ruhr area and (2) reduction of lignite mining in the Lausitz after the German reunification. In both cases, the processes of structural change were supported by a wide range of structural policies. These will be assessed with respect to their suitability to support potential future coal phase-out processes in Germany and other European countries.

Strukturwandel in Kohleregionen als Prozess ökonomischer und sozialökologischer Transformation - Handlungsmöglichkeiten für einen sozialverträglichen Strukturwandel im Lichte der klimapolitischen Ziele

  • Projekt-Nr.251015
  • Laufzeit 10/2016 - 08/2019

Über 80 % der globalen Kohlevorräte dürfen nicht abgebaut werden, wenn die globalen Klimaziele erreicht werden sollen. Der Ausstieg aus der Kohleverstromung ist aber nicht nur eine große Herausforderung aus energiepolitischer Sicht. Gerade für die Kohlebergbauregionen impliziert der Kohleausstieg ökonomische Belastungen und potenzielle Arbeitsplatzrisiken. Wie kann ein solcher Strukturwandel begleitet, unterstützt und sozial verträglich gestaltet werden?

Das Projekt "Strukturwandel in Kohleregionen" untersucht zwei historische Strukturwandelprozesse: 1) die Beendigung der Steinkohleförderung im Ruhrgebiet und 2) den Rückgang der Braunkohleförderung in der Lausitz nach der Wiedervereinigung. Beide Prozesse wurden durch eine Vielzahl strukturpolitischer Instrumente und Programme begleitet. Welche dieser Instrumente wären in Zukunft nutzbar oder ggf. adaptierbar, um einen Kohleausstieg in Deutschland oder in anderen Europäischen Ländern strukturpolitisch zu unterstützen?