Energy Transition as a Central Building Block of a Future Industrial Policy - Analysis of Energy Transition Scenarios

  • Project no. 151129
  • Duration 01/2017 - 10/2017

The German-Japanese Energy Transition Council (GJETC) intends to foster a scientific debate on common and diverging perspectives for both opportunities and risks of a transition towards a sustainable energy system. Therefore, the GJETC is conducting a comprehensive study programme, built on bilateral consortia of renowned research institutes. Within the framework of this study programme, five strategic topics were identified that are of common interest for both the Japanese and the German side.

This study conducted by the Wuppertal Institute together with DIW Econ and the Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ) addresses one of these topics, the strategic topic 1: "Energy transition as a central building block of a future industrial policy - Analysis of energy transition scenarios". The main objective of this study is to examine the wide range of strategic options for the energy transition as well as the associated strengths and weaknesses of both countries in a transparent way and from different perspectives.

First, the national energy transition targets and the range of existing research-based, long-term scenarios including those that are in line with or go beyond the official national targets are identified. In the next step, a comprehensive meta-analysis of 3-5 of these energy transition scenarios will be conducted for each country. The selected scenarios should cover a wide range of long-term strategic options for both Germany and Japan. Besides the implication of the transition strategies for the energy system, a particular focus will lie on the (macro) economic implications of the transition strategies. The results of this analysis are then discussed in form of mutual commenting by the involved Japanese and German research institutes. Following these discussions, the country teams will prepare a joint conclusion that will focus on policy recommendations for Germany and Japan. Finally, based on the analysis, the conclusions drawn and the discussions within and between the country teams, open research questions of key interest for the successful transformation of the energy system in both countries will be identified.

Energy Transition as a Central Building Block of a Future Industrial Policy - Analysis of Energy Transition Scenarios

  • Projekt-Nr.151129
  • Laufzeit 01/2017 - 10/2017

Der "German-Japanese Energy Transition Council" (GJETC) hat zum Ziel, eine wissenschaftliche Diskussion über gemeinsame und divergente Perspektiven zu Chancen und Risiken der Energiewende zu fördern. Dazu führt der GJETC ein umfassendes Studienprogramm durch, das von bilateralen Konsortien renommierter Forschungsinstitute umgesetzt wird. Im Rahmen des Studienprogramms wurden fünf strategische Themen identifiziert, die sowohl für die japanische als auch für die deutsche Seite von gemeinsamem Interesse sind.

Die Studie des Wuppertal Instituts, die zusammen mit den Partnern DIW Econ und dem Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ) durchgeführt wird, thematisiert das strategische Thema 1: "Energy transition as a central building block of a future industrial policy - Analysis of energy transition scenarios". Ihr Hauptziel ist es, die vielfältigen strategischen Optionen für die Energiewende sowie die Stärken und Schwächen beider Länder in diesem Hinblick transparent und aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven zu untersuchen.

Dazu werden zunächst die nationalen Ziele der Energiewende sowie die Bandbreite existierender Szenariostudien, welche mindestens diese nationalen Ziele erreichen oder sogar über die offiziellen Ziele hinausgehen, identifiziert. Im nächsten Schritt wird pro Land eine umfassende Metaanalyse von 3 bis 5 dieser Energieszenarien durchgeführt. Die ausgewählten Szenarien sollen ein breites Spektrum der langfristigen strategischen Optionen für Deutschland und Japan abdecken. Neben den Implikationen der Strategien für das Energiesystem selbst wird ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf die (makro-) ökonomischen Implikationen der Strategien für die Energiewende gelegt. Die Ergebnisse dieser Analyse werden nachfolgend in gegenseitigem Austausch durch die beteiligten japanischen und deutschen Forschungsinstitute diskutiert. Im Anschluss an diese Diskussion werden die Länderteams eine gemeinsame Schlussfolgerung sowie Politikempfehlungen für Deutschland und Japan formulieren. Schließlich werden auf der Grundlage der Analyse, der Schlussfolgerungen und der Diskussionen innerhalb und zwischen den Länderteams offene Forschungsfragen von zentralem Interesse für eine erfolgreiche Energiewende in beiden Ländern identifiziert.