Developing and Applying a Just Transition Approach

  • Project no.251036
  • Duration 10/2016 - 12/2016

In the 2015 Paris Climate Agreement, the world community committed to "(h)olding the increase in the global average temperature to well below 2 °C above pre-industrial levels and pursuing efforts to limit the temperature increase to 1.5 °C above pre-industrial levels" (Art. 2.1(a)). Staying within these limits will require reducing greenhouse gas emissions to zero as soon as possible, which in turn will require a fundamental transformation of societies and economies.

In earlier economic transformations, workers and their communities often bore the brunt of the changes. The starting transition to a zero-emission economy similarly raises concerns that it will come at the expense of miners, steel workers and others whose livelihoods depend on emission-intensive production and services.

Such concerns have often been used as arguments against strengthening climate action, but have at the same time mostly played only a marginal role in climate policy circles. Issues of "carbon leakage" - shifts of production to other countries - have been discussed extensively, but otherwise climate policy has traditionally focused on counting carbon emissions, discounting wider socio-economic impacts of climate action as "co-benefits" and "co-costs".

However, for most people such "co-benefits" and "co-costs" are the core issues and climate policy is a side issue. To succeed, climate policy therefore needs to put equitable socio-economic development at the core of its approaches. Different groups of actors have attempted to develop concepts for a transition that is not only environmentally sustainable but also socially just.

Against this backdrop, Friends of the Earth Netherlands has commissioned the Wuppertal Institute with developing a framework of what defines a national Just Climate Transition within western European countries. It is recognised that (global) North-South justice is equally important and of high relevance, but the scope of this study is focused on transition within the traditional industrialised countries.

The study reviews different societal perspectives on how to align environmental protection and social justice. The aim of the review is to identify and compare how each approach defines core dimensions of a Just Climate Transition: Environmental sustainability, fairness and democracy. On this basis, the study will develop a definition and principles for a Just Climate Transition.

Entwicklung und Anwendung eines Ansatzes für eine "Just Transition"

  • Projekt-Nr.251036
  • Laufzeit 10/2016 - 12/2016

Im Pariser Abkommen von 2015 hat sich die Weltgemeinschaft verpflichtet, den Anstieg der globalen Durchschnittstemperatur deutlich unter 2 °C im Vergleich zum vorindustriellen Niveau zu halten, sowie Anstrengungen zu unternehmen, den Temperaturanstieg auf 1,5 °C über dem vorindustriellen Niveau zu begrenzen. Die Einhaltung dieser Grenzen erfordert, dass die Treibhausgasemissionen so schnell wie möglich auf Null reduziert werden, was wiederum eine fundamentale Umstrukturierung von Gesellschaften und Volkswirtschaften erfordert.

In früheren wirtschaftlichen Transformationen haben oft die Arbeiter und ihre Gemeinschaften die Hauptlast der Veränderungen getragen. Der beginnende Übergang zu einer Null-Emissions-Wirtschaft verursacht ebenfalls Bedenken, dass er auf Kosten von Bergleuten, Stahlarbeitern und anderen, deren Unterhalt von emissionsintensiven Unternehmen abhängt, ablaufen wird.

Solche Bedenken werden oft als Argumente gegen verstärkten Klimaschutz vorgebracht, gleichzeitig spielen sie aber in klimapolitischen Kreisen oft nur eine geringe Rolle. Das Thema Emissionsverlagerung durch die Verlagerung von Produktion in andere Länder ist extensiv diskutiert worden, ansonsten hat sich die Klimapolitik aber traditionell darauf konzentriert, Emissionen zu zählen, und hat breitere sozio-ökonomische Auswirkungen ihrer Maßnahmen als "Nebennutzen" abgetan.

Für die allermeisten Leute sind allerdings solche "Nebennutzen" die Hauptfrage und die Klimapolitik ist ein Nebenthema. Um erfolgreich zu sein, muss die Klimapolitik daher eine gerechte sozio-ökonomische Entwicklung zum Kern ihrer Ansätze machen. Verschiedene Akteursgruppen haben versucht, Konzepte für eine Transformation zu entwickeln, die nicht nur ökologisch nachhaltig, sondern auch sozial gerecht ist.

Vor diesem Hintergrund hat Friends of the Earth Niederlande das Wuppertal Institut beauftragt, einen Rahmen zu entwickeln, der eine nationale "Just Climate Transition" innerhalb westeuropäischer Länder definiert. Es wird anerkannt, dass (globale) Nord-Süd-Gerechtigkeit ebenso wichtig und hoch relevant ist, die Studie konzentriert sich aber auf Transformationen innerhalb von traditionellen Industrieländern.

Die Studie erarbeitet einen Überblick verschiedener sozialer Perspektiven darauf, wie Umweltschutz und soziale Gerechtigkeit in Einklang gebracht werden können. Das Ziel ist, zu identifizieren und zu vergleichen, wie jeder Ansatz Kerndimensionen einer "Just Climate Transition" definiert: ökologische Nachhaltigkeit, Fairness und Demokratie. Auf dieser Grundlage wird die Studie eine Definition und Prinzipien für eine "Just Climate Transition" entwickeln.