FosterERM@schools

Fostering Entrepreneurship and Raw Materials at Schools Through Serious Gaming

  • Project no.451214
  • Duration 12/2017 - 12/2018

The project FosterERM@Schools is a follow-up project to FosterERM Risk&Race. In the predecessor project, a serious game called "Risk&Race" was developed for entrepreneurs, professionals and master students. Within the project FosterERM@Schools the game will be further developed, adapted and simplified for upper secondary students. Serious Gaming intends to provide students with knowledge and professional content in a playful way, such as learning processes on entrepreneurship, real situations, material flow and business processes in the raw materials sector.

The project aims to strengthen the connections between the educational training period and job opportunities for youngsters by raising awareness for and the attractiveness of the raw materials sector. Through this it will motivate for careers in science and technology and increase inflow in BSc programmes for the sector.

The game is being designed and produced in a co-creation approach with the partners Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR) and Flemish Institut for Technological Research NV (VITO). The co-creation approach as well as the creation of a Student and Teacher Advisory Board will ensure the game's suitability and effectiveness with the target groups.

The game will be tested in a two-staged tournament in the countries of the partners: Germany, Italy and Belgium. It will be played with a total of 150 secondary school students in these countries. This tournament is a test stage for an EIT-wide event in a KAVA (KIC added value activities) from 2019 onwards.


EU Horizon2020
EIT RawMaterials

FosterERM@Schools

Förderung unternehmerischen Verständnisses und Wissen zu Rohstoffen in Schulen mittels Serious Gaming

  • Projekt-Nr.451214
  • Laufzeit 12/2017 - 12/2018

Das Projekt FosterERM@Schools ist ein Folgeprojekt zu FosterERM Risk&Race. In dem Vorläuferprojekt wurde das Serious Game "Risk&Race" für Unternehmerinnen und Unternehmer, Fachleute und Masterstudierende entwickelt. Innerhalb des Projekts FosterERM@Schools wird das Spiel für Schülerinnen und Schüler der Sekundarstufe II weiterentwickelt, adaptiert und vereinfacht. Durch Serious Gaming soll Schülerinnen und Schülern Wissen und fachliche Inhalte auf eine spielerische Art vermittelt werden, wie beispielweise Lernprozesse zu Unternehmertum, reale Situationen, Materialfluss und Geschäftsprozessen im Rohstoffstektor.

Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, das Bewusstsein für den Rohstoffsektor zu schärfen und auf die Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten im Rohstoffsektor für Schülerinnen und Schüler nach der Schulzeit aufmerksam zu machen. Eine Karriere in Wissenschaft und Technologie soll dadurch motiviert werden und den Zulauf von Bachelor-of-Science-Programmen im Rohstoffsektor erhöhen.

Das Spiel wird in Co-Creation mit den Partnern Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (CNR) und Flemish Institut for Technological Research NV (VITO) entworfen und produziert. Die Zusammenarbeit mit den Partnern sowie ein im Rahmen des Projektes gegründeter Schüler-Lehrer-Beirat sollen sicherstellen, dass das Spiel die richtigen Voraussetzungen und Wirksamkeit bei den Schülerinnen und Schülern besitzt.

Das Spiel wird in einem zweistufigen Turnier in folgenden Partnerländern getestet: Deutschland, Italien und Belgien. Dort wird mit insgesamt 150 Schülerinnen und Schülern der Sekundarstufe II gespielt. Dieses Turnier ist eine Testphase für eine EIT-weite Veranstaltung der KAVA (KIC added value activities) ab 2019.


EU Horizon2020
EIT RawMaterials