EAST

Exploring and Assessing Sustainable Transition in Chinese and German Urban Areas

  • Project no.251545, 251239
  • Duration 01/2018 - 12/2020

Today more than 50 per cent of the Chinese population lives in urban areas. In Germany, urban areas accommodate almost 75 per cent of its population. In both countries, cities have largely contributed to economic development, wealth and personal prosperity, which also has led to various environmental degradations (such as GHG emissions, air pollutions) and associated health problems. To address these global and local challenges, both countries have committed to foster a sustainable urban transition. Thus, in order to foster sustainable urban transitions, there is an urgent need for transformative interdisciplinary research.

The three-year Sino-German joint research on "Exploring and Assessing Sustainable Transition in Chinese and German urban areas" (EAST) aims to study urban transition pathways with a special focus on energy, transport, and buildings and sector coupling and to evaluate the transition pathways in both Chinese and German cities, to understand similarities and differences of sustainable urban transition pathways in both countries, and to provide evidence-based policy recommendations for sustainable urban transition in both countries. In order to achieve these objectives, EAST project will enrich both qualitative and quantitative analytical approaches of sustainable urban transition research and apply these approaches on a set of case studies in Chinese and German cities.

The project is jointly funded by German Research Foundation (DFG) and the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC). It is rooted in a strong Sino-German academic collaboration across several leading institutions and different disciplines. The project will be led by the Wuppertal Institute and Beijing Institute of Technology. Other partners include the Energy Research Institute of the National Development and Reform Commission (NDRC) and Tsinghua University in China.

EAST

Analyse und Bewertung nachhaltiger urbaner Transitionspfade in China und Deutschland

  • Projekt-Nr.251545, 251239
  • Laufzeit 01/2018 - 12/2020

Mehr als 50 Prozent der chinesischen Bevölkerung lebt heute in Stadtgebieten. In Deutschland sind fast 75 Prozent der Bevölkerung in Stadtgebieten untergebracht. In beiden Ländern tragen die Städte maßgeblich zur ökonomischen Entwicklung bei und steigern den allgemeinen und persönlichen Wohlstand, was jedoch auch zu zahlreichen Umweltproblemen sowie gesundheitlichen Problemen führt. Um diese globalen und lokalen Herausforderungen meistern zu können, verpflichteten sich beide Länder zur Stärkung der Nachhaltigkeit im urbanen Wandel. Eine solche Stärkung der Nachhaltigkeit erfordert eine transformative und interdisziplinäre Forschung.

Die gemeinsamen dreijährigen deutsch-chinesischen Forschungsarbeiten im Projekt "Exploring and Assessing Sustainable Transition in Chinese and German urban areas" (EAST) haben die Zielsetzung, Wege zum urbanen Wandel zu finden – mit besonderem Fokus auf die Bereiche Energie, Verkehr und Gebäude – sowie diese Wege sowohl in chinesischen als auch deutschen Städten zu bewerten. Hierbei sollen die Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede beider Länder im Hinblick auf die Nachhaltigkeit der Wege zum urbanen Wandel aufgezeigt und evidenzbasierte Empfehlungen dazu an die Politik beider Länder erarbeitet werden. Zur Realisierung dieser Zielsetzung trägt das Projekt EAST sowohl qualitativ als auch quantitativ zur Bereicherung der analytischen Ansätze im Hinblick auf einen nachhaltigen, urbanen Wandel bei und überträgt diese Ansätze auf eine Reihe von Fallstudien in chinesischen und deutschen Städten.

Das Projekt wird gemeinsam durch die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und der National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) finanziert. Es ist verankert in einer starken deutsch-chinesischen akademischen Kooperation mehrerer führender Institutionen mit unterschiedlichen Disziplinen. Die Projektleitung obliegt dem Wuppertal Institut und dem Institute of Technology in Beijing. Weitere Projektpartner sind das Energy Research Institute of the National Development and Reform Commission sowie die Tsinghua Universität in China.