FlexGeber

Demonstration of Flexibility Options in the Building Sector and their Interaction with Germany's Energy System

  • Project no.151236
  • Duration 10/2017 - 01/2020

The transformation of Germany's entire energy system in all sectors requires the targeted use and management of flexibility in the energy system in order to react to the increasing proportion of fluctuating renewable energies (from wind and sun) and thus the strong temporal fluctuations in electricity production.

The aim of the FlexGeber project is to demonstrate new heat and cooling generation technologies and new solutions for increasing and quality assurance of energy efficiency and for the integration of renewable energies. This is done in three case studies – one in trade, commerce and services (TCS) and two in industry. The aim is to show how the individual energy services electricity, heating and cooling can be designed efficiently and how the potential for flexibility in industry and in the TCS sector can be increased by linking them. For this purpose, market and operator models are being developed that address the interfaces between the heat/cooling and electricity sectors and create the integration of TCS and industrial companies into the energy economy.

The identified flexibility options in non-residential buildings will also be integrated into a regional and nationwide energy system and energy market model in order to assess their interaction with the energy system and the associated effects.

The Wuppertal Institute is involved in the project in particular with analyses of user behaviour and optimisation of organisational processes as well as building type identification, potential determination, and tool development.

FlexGeber

Demonstration von Flexibilitätsoptionen im Gebäudesektor und deren Interaktion mit dem Energiesystem Deutschlands

  • Projekt-Nr.151236
  • Laufzeit 10/2017 - 01/2020

Für die Transformation des gesamten Energiesystems Deutschlands in allen Sektoren bedarf es der gezielten Nutzung und Bewirtschaftung von Flexibilitäten im Energiesystem, um auf den steigenden Anteil fluktuierender erneuerbarer Energien aus Wind und Sonne und damit die starken zeitlichen Schwankungen in der Stromproduktion zu reagieren.

Innerhalb des FlexGeber-Projekts wollen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler neuartige Wärme- und Kälteerzeugungstechnologien sowie neue Lösungen zur Steigerung und Qualitätssicherung der Energieeffizienz und zur Integration erneuerbarer Energien demonstrieren. Dies erfolgt in drei Fallstudien: eine im Sektor Gewerbe, Handel und Dienstleistungen (GHD) sowie zwei in der Industrie. Diese Case Studies sollen zeigen, wie sich die einzelnen Energiedienstleistungen Strom, Wärme und Kälte effizienter gestalteten lassen und wie durch Verknüpfung das Potenzial zur Flexibilisierung in der Industrie und im GHD-Sektor gesteigert werden kann. Hierfür entwickeln die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler Markt- und Betreibermodelle, welche die Schnittstellen der Sektoren Wärme/Kälte und Strom adressieren und die Einbindung der GHD- und Industriebetriebe in die Energiewirtschaft ermöglichen. Die identifizierten Flexibilitätsoptionen in Nichtwohngebäuden binden sie in ein regionales und deutschlandweites Energiesystem- und Energiemarktmodell ein, um deren Interaktion mit dem Energiesystem und die damit verbundenen Auswirkungen zu bewerten.

Das Wuppertal Institut ist an dem Vorhaben insbesondere mit Analysen zum Nutzerverhalten und zur Optimierung der Organisationsprozesse sowie zur Gebäudetypisierung, Potenzialbestimmung und Tool-Entwicklung beteiligt.