EnerTrend

Virtual Institute "Transformation - Energy Transition NRW": Systemic Analysis of Interfaces of the Energy Transition in NRW with Major Societal Megatrends

  • Project no.151194
  • Duration 01/2018 - 12/2020

"Megatrends" are long-term, global developments that significantly shape our society. For a successful realisation of the energy transition it is thus necessary to analyze interfaces with such megatrends. Which megatrends are of importance especially for the energy transition in the state of North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW)? Which specific interfaces can be identified?

Within the framework of a meta-analysis based on existing literature and different case studies the research team of the Virtual Institute (VI) explores the socio-economic and socio-cultural interdependencies among the energy transition in NRW and respective megatrends. The project is going to work on the following key questions:     

  • Which megatrends are of specific relevance for the implementation of the energy transition?
  • Which interdependencies exist between megatrends, precisely between exogenous driving forces (landscape) of the energy transition and endogenous development dynamics of the energy system?
  • Which role does the state of NRW have in the search for integrated solutions ? Which specific framework conditions prevail in NRW?
  • What are regionally adapted approaches, in order to accept and utilize the challenges and opportunities of megatrends for the implementation of the energy transition in NRW?

The findings of the research activities serve as impulses for the network of the Virtual Institute "Transformation – Energy Transition NRW”, consisting of ten member institutions. Moreover, the findings are supposed to be translated into specific recommendations for action of politics and administration, in order to include these into decision-making processes.

The Virtual Institute "Transformation – Energy Transition NRW" supports the federal state of North Rhine-Westphalia since 2013 in implementing the energy transition and focuses in particular on socio-economic challenges. The Wuppertal Institute, in cooperation with the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI) jointly coordinate and lead the project.

EnerTrend

Virtuelles Institut (VI) "Transformation – Energiewende NRW": Systemische Analyse von Wechselwirkungen der Energiewende in NRW mit zentralen Megatrends

  • Projekt-Nr.151194
  • Laufzeit 01/2018 - 12/2020

Sogenannte "Megatrends" sind langfristige, globale Entwicklungen, die die Gesellschaft maßgeblich prägen. Für eine erfolgreiche Realisierung der Energiewende ist es daher notwendig, ihre Wechselwirkungen mit derartigen Megatrends zu untersuchen. Doch welche Megatrends sind speziell für die Energiewende in Nordrhein-Westfalen (NRW) von Bedeutung? Welche Wechselwirkungen gibt es konkret?

Im Rahmen einer Meta-Analyse auf Basis bestehender Literatur, Fallstudien, (Telefon-)Interviews mit Expertinnen und Experten sowie Umfragen geht das Wuppertal Institut gemeinsam mit dem Kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut Essen (KWI) zu etwa folgenden Leitfragen nach:    

  • Welche Megatrends sind von besonderer Bedeutung für die Umsetzung der Energiewende?
  • Welche Wechselwirkungen gibt es zwischen den Megatrends, also zwischen den exogenen Treibern (landscape) der Energiewende und den endogenen Entwicklungsdynamiken des Energiesystems?
  • Welche besondere Rolle nimmt bei der Suche nach ganzheitlichen Lösungsansätzen das Bundesland NRW ein? Welche spezifischen Rahmenbedingungen herrschen in NRW vor?
  • Was sind regional angepasste Handlungsansätze, um die Herausforderungen und Chancen der Megatrends für die Umsetzung der Energiewende in den Regionen NRWs anzunehmen und zu nutzen?

Die Ergebnisse der Forschungsaktivitäten dienen als Impulse für den aus zehn Mitgliedsinstitutionen bestehenden Gesamtverbund des Virtuellen Instituts "Transformation – Energiewende NRW". Sie sollen außerdem in konkrete Handlungsvorschläge für Politik und Verwaltung übersetzt werden, um diese in politischen Entscheidungsprozessen berücksichtigen zu können.

Das Virtuelle Institut (VI) "Transformation – Energiewende NRW" unterstützt das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen seit 2013 bei der Umsetzung der Energiewende und nimmt dabei besonders sozio-ökonomische Herausforderungen in den Blick. Das Wuppertal Institut übernimmt in Kooperation mit dem Kulturwissenschaftlichen Institut Essen (KWI) die Koordination und Leitung des Projekts.