InComp2030

Industrial Competitiveness in Times of Climate Change - How the Transformation to a Low-Emission Economy can Succeed

  • Project no.151654
  • Duration 09/2018 - 05/2019

The aim of this project is to gain a better understanding of the potential of German industry to reduce greenhouse gas emissions. One focus of the analysis is the development of quantitative energy and emission scenarios for the year 2030 in order to identify possible ways of achieving the emission reduction target for industry set out in the German government's climate protection plan. The contributions that different technologies and measures can make to achieving the target by 2030 will be worked out in concrete terms. In addition, the project will identify and discuss promising "low-carbon breakthrough" technologies that could make a significant contribution to a climate-neutral industry in Germany in the longer term – by around 2050.

The resulting understanding of both the short- to medium-term climate protection potential in industry and the technologies, processes and infrastructures needed in the long term will serve as a basis for discussing suitable energy, climate and industrial policy instruments. A meaningful policy mix should on the one hand help German industry to achieve its climate protection targets for 2030, and on the other hand be able to shape a far-reaching transformation process by the middle of the century and initiate it at an early stage. All this should be achieved without endangering the competitiveness of German industry.

The discussion of suitable policy instruments will take place in conjunction with a project led by Agora Energiewende, in which it will be worked out which framework conditions and policy instruments need to be created in order to bring key technologies for a long-term climate-neutral orientation of industry to market maturity. The interim results of both projects will be discussed in several joint workshops with representatives from industry, politics, ministries and civil society.


Further project information

Links

InComp2030

Industrielle Wettbewerbsfähigkeit in Zeiten des Klimawandels - Wie die Transformation zu einer emissionsarmen Wirtschaft gelingen kann

  • Projekt-Nr.151654
  • Laufzeit 09/2018 - 05/2019

Dieses Projekt verfolgt das Ziel, ein besseres Verständnis der Treibhausgas-Emissionsminderungspotenziale der deutschen Industrie zu gewinnen. Ein Analyseschwerpunkt liegt dabei in der Entwicklung quantitativer Energie- und Emissionsszenarien für das Jahr 2030, um mögliche Wege zur Erreichung des im Klimaschutzplan der Bundesregierung festgelegten Emissionsminderungsziels für die Industrie zu identifizieren. Es wird konkret ausgearbeitet, welche Beiträge unterschiedliche Technologien bzw. Maßnahmen bis zum Jahr 2030 zur Zielerreichung leisten können. Darüber hinaus werden im Rahmen des Projekts vielversprechende "Low-Carbon-Breakthrough"-Technologien identifiziert und diskutiert, die längerfristig – bis etwa 2050 – wesentliche Beiträge zu einer klimaneutralen Industrie in Deutschland leisten können.

Das so erlangte Verständnis sowohl der kurz- bis mittelfristigen Klimaschutzpotenziale in der Industrie sowie der langfristig benötigten Technologien, Prozesse und Infrastrukturen soll als Grundlage dienen, um über geeignete energie-, klima- und industriepolitische Politikinstrumente zu diskutieren. Ein sinnvoller Politikmix sollte die deutsche Industrie zum einen dabei unterstützen, ihre Klimaschutzziele für das Jahr 2030 zu erreichen und zum anderen in der Lage sein, den tiefgreifenden Transformationsprozess bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts zu gestalten und frühzeitig anzustoßen – ohne die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Industrie zu gefährden.

Die Diskussion geeigneter Politikinstrumente erfolgt dabei im Zusammenspiel mit einem von Agora Energiewende geleiteten Projekt, in dem herausgearbeitet wird, welche Rahmenbedingungen und Politikinstrumente geschaffen werden müssen, um Schlüsseltechnologien für eine langfristig klimaneutrale Ausrichtung der Industrie zur Marktreife zu bringen. Die Zwischenergebnisse beider Projekte werden in mehreren gemeinsamen Workshops mit Vertreterinnen und Vertretern aus Industrie, Politik, Ministerien und Zivilgesellschaft diskutiert.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links