INFRA-NEEDS

Infrastructure Needs of an EU Industrial Transformation towards Deep Decarbonisation

  • Project no.151734
  • Duration 01/2019 - 12/2019

The research project "Infrastructure needs of an EU industrial transformation towards deep decarbonisation" (INFRA NEEDS) analyses how much (additional) energy demand arises by decarbonising three energy-intensive industrial sectors in Europe, where exactly this new demand will be located and what the resulting infrastructure demand will be in 2050.

Therefore, it is part of the ECF initiative "IT50" and based on scenarios on deep decarbonisation and material efficiency in the three most critical energy intensive processing industries (plastics, steel and cement) in the EU. These scenarios show that deep decarbonisation of European energy intensive industries will need very significant amounts of additional renewable energy, in form of electricity, hydrogen and/or synthetic fuels produced from renewable electricity.

Due to this background the project INFRA NEEDS aims to explore and show:

  • Which energetic infrastructures would be needed if the scenarios proposed and the high additional demand foreseen would be realised,
  • where these infrastructures might roughly be needed and
  • what impacts could be roughly assigned to these – potentially additional – infrastructures.

The findings and results will be feed into the processes of the overall IT50 initiative, in order to become a part of a respective publication and outreach initiative targeting the European discussion on the industrial strategy as well as the mid century climate targets.


EIT Climate-KIC

INFRA-NEEDS

Infrastructure Needs of an EU Industrial Transformation towards Deep Decarbonisation

  • Projekt-Nr.151734
  • Laufzeit 01/2019 - 12/2019

Das Forschungsprojekt "Infrastructure needs of an EU industrial transformation towards deep decarbonisation" (INFRA NEEDS) analysiert, wo in Europa wie viel (zusätzlicher) Energiebedarf durch die Dekarbonisierung von drei energieintensiven Industriesektoren in Europa entsteht. Für diese Hotspots einer künftigen industriellen Energienachfrage wird dann der resultierende Infrastrukturbedarf im Jahr 2050 untersucht.

Damit ist es ist Teil der ECF-Initiative "IT50" und basiert auf Szenarien zur weitgehenden Dekarbonisierung und Materialeffizienz in den drei energieintensivsten Verarbeitungsindustrien (Kunststoffe, Stahl und Zement) in der Europäischen Union (EU). Diese Szenarien zeigen, dass eine weitgehende Dekarbonisierung der europäischen energieintensiven Industrien möglich ist und dafür große Mengen an zusätzlicher erneuerbarer Energie in Form von Strom, Wasserstoff und/oder synthetischen Kraftstoffen aus erneuerbarer Energie benötigt.

Vor diesem Hintergrund will das Projekt INFRA NEEDS erforschen und zeigen:

  • welche energetischen Infrastrukturen erforderlich wären, wenn die vorgeschlagenen Szenarien und der vorhergesehene hohe zusätzliche Energiebedarf realisiert würden,
  • wo in etwa diese Infrastrukturen benötigt werden könnten und
  • welche Auswirkungen sich diesen – potenziell zusätzlichen – Infrastrukturen zuordnen lassen.

Die Erkenntnisse und Ergebnisse fließen in die Prozesse zur Publikation und Verwertung der IT50-Initiative ein, die sich an der europäischen Diskussion über Industriestrategie und Klimaziele bis Mitte des Jahrhunderts orientieren.