ETC/WMGE 2019-2021

European Topic Centre on Waste and Materials in a Green Economy

  • Project no.351749
  • Duration 01/2019 - 12/2021

Circular economy brings a new approach to waste and materials management, taking into account the whole life cycle of resources, while paying attention to supply conditions and availability of materials. It challenges industries, policy makers and the waste sector to re-evaluate their role, introduces new business models and changes the way products and services are provided. The ETC/WMGE project will look into specific product groups or value chains in this circular context, such as textiles and electronic products, to identify the current system as well as future scenarios in the circular economy. On a higher level, the link between circular economy strategies and reduction of environmental impacts from industrial pollution will be analysed. Of course, one would also like to be able to monitor progress in the transition towards the circular economy. The new system of a circular economy requires different tools to track progress. Therefore, attention will be paid to evaluate existing indicator frameworks and possible needs for further research and development.

The European Topic Centre on Waste and Materials in a Green Economy (ETC/WMGE) 2019-2021 is a consortium of European institutions, led by VITO (Belgium) and contracted by the European Environment Agency (EEA) to supply thematic expertise and carry out specific tasks identified in the EEA Multi-Annual Work Programme (MAWP) and specified in the EEA Annual Work Programmes (AWPs). The thematic areas in which the ETC/WMGE will support the EEA in 2019 are: waste management and prevention, resource efficiency, product policies and consumption, plastics and the environment, circular economy assessment, sectoral integration and green economy, environmental accounting, chemicals – indicators and assessment, forward looking information, knowledge base & capacity building, sustainability transitions, urban sustainability, and SOER 2020.

The Wuppertal Institute is involved in two central working aspects:

  • In the area "Waste Prevention", it will support the EEA in developing the concept and methodology for the biennial waste prevention report series and lead the analysis for the report; a second task is to observe the establishment and development of the national Waste Prevention Programmes in the EU and prepare, update and revise the EEA Waste Prevention fact sheets.
  • In the area "Resource Efficiency", the Wuppertal Institute will contribute to the identification and assessment of national targets, monitoring frameworks and innovative approaches for resource efficiency and circular economy in the 33 member and six collaborating countries of the European Environment Agency.

ETC/WMGE 2019-2021

European Topic Centre on Waste and Materials in a Green Economy

  • Projekt-Nr.351749
  • Laufzeit 01/2019 - 12/2021

Die Kreislaufwirtschaft etabliert einen neuen Ansatz in der Abfall- und Materialwirtschaft, der den gesamten Lebenszyklus der Ressourcen und gleichzeitig die Versorgungsbedingungen und die Verfügbarkeit von Materialien berücksichtigt. Damit fordert sie Industrie, Politik und Abfallwirtschaft heraus, ihre Rolle völlig neu zu bewerten. Sie führt zu neuen Geschäftsmodellen und verändert die Art und Weise, wie Produkte und Dienstleistungen angeboten werden. Das Projekt "ETC/WMGE" hat zum Ziel, bestimmte Produktgruppen oder Wertschöpfungsketten zu untersuchen – beispielsweise im Bereich der Textilien und Elektronikprodukte –, um das gegenwärtige System zu bewerten und Zukunftsszenarien für die Kreislaufwirtschaft (Circular Economy) zu entwerfen. Das erfordert eine genaue Analyse, wie zirkuläre Wirtschaftsstrategien die Umweltauswirkungen der industriellen Verschmutzung reduzieren. Das neue System der Kreislaufwirtschaft setzt verschiedene Instrumente voraus, um den Fortschritt messen zu können. Daher stehen die Bewertung des bestehenden Indikatorrahmens und der mögliche Bedarf nach weiterer Forschung und Entwicklung im Fokus.

Das European Topic Centre on Waste and Materials in a Green Economy (ETC/WMGE 2019-2021) ist ein Konsortium europäischer Institutionen, das im Auftrag der Europäischen Umweltagentur (EEA) unter der Leitung von VITO (Belgien) thematisches Fachwissen bereitstellt und mit der Durchführung spezifischer Aufgaben betraut ist. Die Themenbereiche, in denen das ETC/WMGE die EEA unterstützen wird, sind: Abfallmanagement und -vermeidung, Ressourceneffizienz, Produktpolitik und -verbrauch, Kunststoffe und Umwelt, Bewertung der Kreislaufwirtschaft, Sektorale Integration und grüne Ökonomie, Indikatoren und Bewertung von Chemikalien, Knowledge Base & Capacity Building, Nachhaltigkeitstransformationen, Urbane Nachhaltigkeit und State and Outlook of the Environment (SOER) 2020.

Das Wuppertal Institut beschäftigt sich mit zwei zentralen Arbeitsaspekten:

  • Im Bereich der Abfallvermeidung wird es die EEA bei der Entwicklung des Konzepts und der Methodik für den alle zwei Jahre herausgegebenen Bericht zur Abfallvermeidung in Europa unterstützen und die Analyse leiten; eine zweite Aufgabe besteht darin, die Entwicklung und Herausgabe der nationalen Abfallvermeidungsprogramme in der EU zu beobachten und Merkblätter zur Abfallvermeidung zu erarbeiten, zu aktualisieren und zu überarbeiten;
  • Im Bereich Ressourceneffizienz trägt das Wuppertal Institut zur Identifizierung und Bewertung nationaler Ressourceneffizienz- und Kreislaufwirtschafts-Ziele, Mess- und Fortschrittsindikatoren und innovativen Ansätzen in den 33 Mitglieds- und sechs kooperierenden Länder der Europäischen Umweltagentur bei.