GTC_R&D

Cooperation with Green Technology Center (GTC) – Study on the Promotion of Research and Development of Climate Technologies in Korea and Germany

  • Project no.251922
  • Duration 07/2019 - 12/2019

With the adoption of the Paris Agreement in 2015, the international community has committed itself to the goal of limiting global warming to well below 2 degrees Celsius. Achieving this goal requires a substantial reduction in greenhouse gas emissions that are harmful to the climate and thus (also) a transformation of the existing energy system. For this demanding process it is necessary to bundle the nation states at the international level and to learn from each other. In addition, a sound policy framework in the areas of climate, energy and technology policy is needed in the individual countries to promote technology development, innovation dynamics and market penetration.

South Korea and Germany can gain new insights through the mutual exchange of their respective far-reaching experiences with sustainable technologies to combat climate change. Against this background, the joint project of the Wuppertal Institute and the Korean Green Technology Center (GTC) aims to identify possible fields for future cooperation in the (further) development of corresponding policy instruments and, above all, regional initiatives with mutual benefits for both countries.

An analysis of current climate, energy and technology policies the researcher will carried out as a basis for identifying relevant areas. First, they presented the overarching strategies of the two countries, including the most relevant policy instruments. Subsequently, they will introduced the implementation of these policy instruments at regional level. Based on these application examples, a project proposal for a further cooperation between the Wuppertal Institute and the Green Technology Center will be developed and presented at an international conference.

GTC_R&D

Kooperation mit dem Green Technology Center (GTC) - Studie über die Förderung von Forschung und Entwicklung von Klimatechnologien in Korea und Deutschland

  • Projekt-Nr.251922
  • Laufzeit 07/2019 - 12/2019

Mit Verabschiedung des Pariser Klimaabkommens 2015 hat sich die Staatengemeinschaft zu dem Ziel bekannt, die globale Erderwärmung deutlich unter 2 Grad Celsius zu begrenzen. Die Erreichung dieses Ziels bedarf einer erheblichen Reduzierung der klimaschädlichen Treibhausgasemissionen und somit (auch) einer Transformation des bestehenden Energiesystems. Für diesen anspruchsvollen Prozess ist es notwendig, die Nationalstaaten auf internationaler Ebene zu bündeln und voneinander zu lernen. In den einzelnen Ländern ist darüber hinaus ein solider politischer Rahmen in den Bereichen der Klima-, Energie- und Technologiepolitik erforderlich, um die Technologieentwicklung, die Innovationsdynamik und die Marktdurchdringung zu fördern.

Südkorea und Deutschland können im gegenseitigen Austausch über ihre jeweiligen weitreichenden Erfahrungen mit zukunftsfähigen Technologien zur Bekämpfung des Klimawandels neue Erkenntnisse gewinnen. Vor diesem Hintergrund zielt das gemeinsame Projekt des Wuppertal Instituts mit dem koreanischen Green Technology Center (GTC) darauf ab, mögliche Felder für eine zukünftige Zusammenarbeit bei der (Weiter-)Entwicklung entsprechender Politikinstrumente und vor allem regionaler Initiativen mit gegenseitigem Nutzen für beide Länder zu identifizieren.

Als Grundlage für die Ermittlung relevanter Bereiche analysieren die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler die aktuelle Klima-, Energie- und Technologiepolitik. Dabei stellen sie zunächst die übergeordneten Strategien der beiden Länder dar und präsentieren die relevantesten Politikinstrumente. Anschließend setzen sie diese Politikinstrumente auf regionaler Ebene ein. Auf Basis dieser Anwendungsbeispiele soll ein Projektvorschlag für eine weitere Zusammenarbeit zwischen dem Wuppertal Institut und dem Green Technology Center erarbeitet und im Rahmen einer internationalen Konferenz vorgestellt werden.