Increase of Resource Productivity as a Core Strategy for Sustainable Development

  • Project no.3312, 3417
  • Duration 07/2005 - 06/2007

Sustainable development requires comprehensive strategies for the integration of ecological, economic and social issues. The German Sustainability Strategy and the EU Sustainability Strategy alike intend to focus on an increase of resource productivity. Parts of research also regard resource productivity as an important factor for increasing competitiveness, innovations, environmental protection, and employment. Three main theses constitute the project's background:

Thesis 1:
A significant increase of resource productivity requires an abolishment of counterproductive incentive structures and the establishment of supporting incentive systems instead. It has to be analysed where favourable incentives should be enforced and where, as far as possible, counterproductive shifting effects, e.g. negative rebound effects have to be reduced. The combination of financial, legal and informational incentives is crucial.

Thesis 2:
Parts of the economy actively work on the increase of resource productivity. Few successes of pioneers, however, do not suffice for followers and diffusion effects, the more so as signals of the economic framework are not precise. The task is to develop increase rates of resource productivity such as those realised in labour productivity systematically.

Thesis 3:
A new incentive structure is required for the increase of resource productivity. Its dynamic is essentially spurred by the private economy. It generates positive macroeconomic effects and minimises intersectoral and interregional shifting of environmental damages at the same time. A new incentive structure has to boost both the supply and demand side market forces.

Synthesis:
The project shall develop options on how to reconfigure the framework of economic action in connection with entrepreneurial and sectoral strategies aiming to result in a radical increase of resource productivity.

Work packages:

  • Advancement of information systems for the measuring of resource productivity
  • Identification of restraints, success factors and potentials beyond current trends
  • Development of incentive structures and instruments
  • Assessment of hypothetical microeconomic and sectoral enhancement potentials of resource productivity.

Steigerung der Ressourcenproduktivität als Kernstrategie einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung

  • Projekt-Nr.3312, 3417
  • Laufzeit 07/2005 - 06/2007

Eine nachhaltige Entwicklung erfordert integrative Strategien zur Harmonisierung von ökologischen, ökonomischen und sozialen Belangen. Die deutsche und die EU Nachhaltigkeitsstrategie zielen gleichermaßen auf eine Erhöhung der Ressourcenproduktivität ab. Teile der Wissenschaft sehen in der Ressourcenproduktivität einen wichtigen Ansatz für steigende Wettbewerbsfähigkeit, Innovationen, Umweltschutz und Beschäftigung. Drei Kernthesen bilden den Hintergrund für das vorliegende Projekt:

These 1:
Eine signifikante Erhöhung der Ressourcenproduktivität erfordert, dass kontraproduktive Anreizstrukturen abgebaut und unterstützende Anreizsysteme aufgebaut werden. Zu untersuchen ist, wo positive Anreize verstärkt und wo kontraproduktive Verlagerungseffekte (z. B. negative "rebound"- Effekte) so weit wie möglich abzubauen sind. Dabei kommt es auf eine Kombination von finanziellen, rechtlichen und informatorischen Anreizen an.

These 2:
Teile der Wirtschaft arbeiten aktiv an einer Erhöhung der Ressourcenproduktivität. Die Erfolge erster Pioniere der Ressourcenproduktivität reichen für Nachahmer und Diffusionseffekte nicht aus, zumal die Signale der wirtschaftspolitischen Rahmenbedingungen uneindeutig sind. Nun geht es darum, Steigerungsraten, wie sie bei der Arbeitsproduktivität verwirklicht wurden, auch bei der Ressourcenproduktivität systematisch zu erschließen.

These 3:
Eine Erhöhung der Ressourcenproduktivität bedarf einer neuartigen Anreizstruktur. Die Dynamik der Ressourcenproduktivität kommt im wesentlichen von der privatwirtschaftlichen Ebene. Zugleich erbringt sie gesamtwirtschaftlich positive Effekte und minimiert die intersektorale und interregionale Verlagerung der Umweltbelastungen. In einer neuen Anreizstruktur müssen Marktkräfte auf der Angebots- und Nachfrageseite gestärkt werden.

Synthese:
Das Projekt soll Möglichkeiten aufzeigen, wie die Rahmenbedingungen wirtschaftlichen Handelns in Verbindung mit betrieblichen und sektoralen Strategien so gestaltet werden können, dass es zu einer tief greifenden Erhöhung der Ressourcenproduktivität kommt.

Arbeitspakete:

  • Weiterentwicklung von Informationssystemen für die Messung der Ressourcenproduktivität
  • Identifizierung von Hemmnissen, Erfolgsfaktoren und Potenzialen zur Erhöhung der Ressourcenproduktivität jenseits vorhandener Trends
  • Entwicklung von Anreizstrukturen und -instrumenten
  • Abschätzung mikroökonomischer und sektoraler theoretischer Verbesserungspotenziale der Ressourcenproduktivität.