PolRess III

Analysis and (Further) Development of Implementation Mechanisms and Policy Approaches to Strengthen and Enhance the German Resource Efficiency Programme ProgRess

  • Project no.351975
  • Duration 10/2019 - 11/2022

In 2012, the German Federal Government became with the German Resource Efficiency Programme (ProgRess) one of the first European countries to commit itself to targets, guiding principles and approaches for the protection of natural resources. A first report and the update (ProgRess II) were published in March 2016 and it is planned to submit a second report and update (ProgRess III) to the Cabinet in 2020. The programme aims to decouple the use of resources from economic growth and strengthen the future viability and competitiveness of the German economy. ProgRess describes policy approaches for increasing resource efficiency all along the value chain, from raw material extraction through product design, production and consumption to recycling and circularity, and supports voluntary initiatives and incentives.

The aim of the project is to accompany the development and implementation of the German Resource Efficiency Programme. The Wuppertal Institute leads a consortium of the institutions Prognos AG, Stakeholder Reporting GmbH, Fraunhofer Institute for Systems and Innovation Research ISI and N3 Nachhaltigkeitsberatung, which will accompany the implementation of ProgRess III during the 38-month project and will further advance research for the "Analysis and (further) development of implementation mechanisms and policy approaches".

The project comprises a total of four work packages:

  • WP1 - The monitoring and the evaluation of resource efficiency policy has to go beyond the analysis of resource efficiency at a macroeconomic level. In order to evolve stronger impact, the implementation of the individual measures and the associated effects should be systematically observed. To this end, the team develops a monitoring and evaluation concept and carries out an evaluation of the programme.
  • WP2 - The consortium accompanies the National Platform on Resource Efficiency (NaRess) and supports it in terms of content, operation and communication by preparing and following up the meetings and (in cooperation with VDI-ZRE) by coordinating and accompanying various working groups. Implementation workshops will focus on the implementation process and the advancement of ProgRess in cooperation with various stakeholders and be enriched by practice-relevant contributions.
  • WP 3 - In this work package, the consortium accompanies the scientific network of authorities and institutions for resource conservation by providing appropriate impulses and analyses as well as by preparing and following up the meetings and conducting expert workshops with the extended environment of the network.
  • WP 4 - Within the framework of the project, a suitable communication and participation strategy is also to be developed which, with a view to the challenges, determines when and which stakeholders are to be involved and in what form and formats. The functions and objectives of the working groups and bodies should be clear and comprehensible. An approach should be developed to involve the various stakeholders from research, business, politics, and civil society, which, for example, also addresses conflicts of objectives in search of suitable solution strategies. The project also includes the preparation of numerous in-depth analyses and position papers, which will be published on current resource policy issues during the course of the project.

PolRess III

Analyse und (Weiter-)Entwicklung von Umsetzungsmechanismen und Politikansätzen zur Stärkung und Aufwertung des Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramms ProgRess

  • Projekt-Nr.351975
  • Laufzeit 10/2019 - 11/2022

Im Februar 2012 hat sich die Bundesregierung mit dem Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramm (ProgRess) als einer der ersten europäischen Staaten auf Ziele, Leitideen und Handlungsansätze zum Schutz der natürlichen Ressourcen festgelegt. Ein erster Bericht und die Fortschreibung (ProgRess II) wurde im März 2016 veröffentlicht – im Frühjahr 2020 folgt voraussichtlich der zweite Bericht sowie die Fortschreibung (ProgRess III), die dem Kabinett vorgelegt werden. Das Programm strebt die Entkopplung des Ressourceneinsatzes vom Wirtschaftswachstum und die Stärkung der Zukunfts- und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der deutschen Wirtschaft an. ProgRess beschreibt Gestaltungsansätze zur Steigerung der Ressourceneffizienz entlang der Wertschöpfungskette von der Rohstoffgewinnung über die Produktgestaltung, Produktion und Konsum bis hin zur Kreislaufführung und unterstützt freiwillige Initiativen und Anreize.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, die Weiterentwicklung und Umsetzung des Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramms zu begleiten. Das Wuppertal Institut leitet das Konsortium aus den Institutionen Prognos AG, Stakeholder Reporting GmbH, Fraunhofer-Institut für System- und Innovationsforschung ISI und N3 Nachhaltigkeitsberatung, die innerhalb des Projekts die Umsetzung von ProgRess III begleiten und die Forschung zur "Analyse und (Weiter-)Entwicklung von Umsetzungsmechanismen und Politikansätzen" weiter vorantreiben sollen.

Das Projekt umfasst vier Arbeitspakete:

  • AP1 – Das Monitoring und die Evaluation der Ressourceneffizienzpolitik soll zukünftig über die Analyse der Ressourceneffizienz auf volkswirtschaftlicher Ebene hinausgehen. Um stärker handlungsleitend zu sein, sollen insbesondere die Umsetzung der einzelnen Maßnahmen und die mit ihnen verbundenen Effekte systematisch erfasst werden können. Dazu erarbeitet das Projektteam ein Monitoring- und Evaluierungskonzept und führt eine Evaluation des Programms durch.
  • AP2 – Das Konsortium begleitet die Nationale Plattform Ressourceneffizienz (NaRess) und unterstützt diese inhaltlich, operativ und kommunikativ durch Vor- und Nachbereitung der Sitzungen und (in Kooperation mit dem VDI-ZRE) durch die Koordination und Begleitung von diversen Arbeitsgruppen. Weitere Workshops nehmen die Umsetzung und Weiterentwicklung von ProgRess in Zusammenarbeit mit vielfältigen Stakeholdern in den Blick und bereichern sie mit praxisrelevanten Beiträgen.
  • AP 3 – In diesem Arbeitspaket begleitet das Konsortium das Behörden- und Institutionen-Netzwerk Ressourcenschonung durch geeignete inhaltliche Impulse und Analysen. Zudem bereiten sie Sitzungen vor und nach und leiten Fachworkshops mit dem erweiterten Umfeld des Netzwerks.
  • AP 4 – Im Rahmen des Projekts soll zudem eine geeignete Kommunikations- und Beteiligungsstrategie entwickelt werden, die mit Blick auf die zu lösenden Herausforderungen festlegt, wann welche Stakeholder und in welcher Form sie in den verschiedenen Formaten beteiligt werden. Dabei sollen die Funktionen und Ziele der Arbeitskreise klar und nachvollziehbar gestaltet werden. Um beispielsweise Zielkonflikte zu benennen und geeignete Lösungsstrategien zu finden, soll ein Ansatz entwickelt werden, der verschiedene Stakeholder aus Forschung, Wirtschaft, Politik und Zivilgesellschaft einbindet. Weiterhin erstellen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler zahlreiche Vertiefungsanalysen und Positionspapiere zu aktuellen Themen der Ressourcenpolitik, die während der Projektlaufzeit veröffentlicht werden.