VISE H

Virtual Institute Smart Energy: Smart Home – Co-Benefits and Needs of Private Households

  • Project no.151006
  • Duration 07/2017 - 09/2020

Energy suppliers and energy service providers have little information on the determinants of their customers' energy demand behavior, especially in households. A detailed analysis of these expectations and requirements of private energy consumers is the prerequisite for successful technology diffusion and for developing new business models. The subproject "Households" within the framework of the Virtual Institute Smart Energy (VISE) analyses private households' willingness to invest in smart technologies.

More specifically, the Wuppertal Institute studies the perceived needs and co-benefits of private households regarding smart home technologies. The goal is to explain intentions to adopt smart home devices. On the one hand, smart homes could raise efficiency potentials and reduce energy consumption. On the other hand, applications in the areas of health and security, for example, are increasingly being offered on the market. The study is carried out in three steps:

  • First, a representative quantitative survey of households in North Rhine-Westphalia will be conducted. Consumers' intention to adopt smart home technologies will be examined, particularly regarding co-benefits such as security, health, comfort, and data security.
  • Secondly, three innovation workshops will be held. The focus will be on what needs should smart technologies meet in the future – beyond their technological applicability? And how the technical development of smart products and services can be designed according to individual needs?
  • Thirdly, qualitative interviews with selected individuals will be conducted on the basis of the representative survey and the innovation workshop. The interviews include detailed narratives by the participants (narratives of the German energy transition) and are presented in the form of digital products.

VISE is an interdisciplinary and transdisciplinary consortium, including researchers from the University of Münster, the University of Wuppertal, Forschungszentrum Jülich, ewi Energy Research & Scenarios, the University of Duisburg-Essen, and the Wuppertal Institute. The virtual institute is divided into four subprojects with different research focuses. VISE offers an umbrella to integrate the different projects, enabling a holistic perspective on the complex and highly interdependent energy system.


Further project information

Links

VISE H

Virtuelles Institut Smart Energy: Das Smart Home – Ko-Benefits und Bedarfe von Haushalten

  • Projekt-Nr.151006
  • Laufzeit 07/2017 - 09/2020

Energieversorger und Energiedienstleister haben nur wenige Informationen zum Energienachfrageverhalten ihrer Kunden, insbesondere der Haushalte. Eine detaillierte Analyse dieser Erwartungen und Anforderungen von privaten Energienachfragern ist die Voraussetzung für eine erfolgreiche Technikdiffusion und bildet die Grundlage für die Entwicklung neuer Geschäftsmodelle. Das Teilprojekt "Haushalte" im Rahmen des Virtuellen Instituts Smart Energy (VISE) dient der Analyse von Investitions- und Nutzungsbereitschaften von privaten Haushalten.

Das Wuppertal Institut untersucht die konkreten Bedarfe und Ko-Benefits von Privathaushalten bezogen auf Smart-Home-Technologien. Smart Homes könnten einerseits Effizienzpotenziale heben und Energieverbräuche reduzieren. Andererseits werden zunehmend Anwendungen angeboten, die auf sog. Ko-Benefits wie etwa Gesundheit und Sicherheit abzielen. Daran anschließend sind Fragen nach Datenhoheit und -sicherheit relevant. Die Untersuchung erfolgt in drei Projektschritten:

  • Einerseits führen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler eine repräsentative quantitative Befragung von Haushalten in Nordrhein-Westfalen durch. Dabei untersuchen die Forschenden Potenziale zur Technologieadaption insbesondere unter dem Gesichtspunkt von Ko-Benefits wie Sicherheit und Gesundheit.
  • Zudem veranstalten sie drei Innovationsworkshop, wobei im Mittelpunkt steht, welche Bedarfe die smarten Technologien künftig über ihre technologische Anwendbarkeit hinaus erfüllen sollten und wie die technische Entwicklung von smarten Produkten und Dienstleistungen entsprechend der individuellen Bedürfnisse gestaltet werden kann.
  • Anschließend führen die Forschenden auf der Grundlage der repräsentativen Befragung sowie der Innovationsworkshops qualitative Interviews mit ausgewählten Personen durch. Die Interviews umfassen ausführliche Erzählungen der Teilnehmenden zu ihren Erfahrungen und Einstellungen. Diese "Narrative der Energiewende" werden in Form von digitalen Steckbriefen aufbereitet.

Das inter- und transdisziplinäre Konsortium des VISE besteht derzeit aus Forschenden der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster, der Technischen Hochschule Köln, der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal, dem Forschungszentrum Jülich, dem ewi Energy Research & Scenarios gGmbH, der Universität Duisburg-Essen sowie dem Wuppertal Institut.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links