FortAVP

Elaboration of the Foundations for Continuation of the Waste Prevention Programme on the Basis of an Analysis and Evaluation of the Status of Implementation

  • Project no.350870
  • Duration 08/2016 - 10/2018

In accordance with Article 29 of Directive 2008/98/EC (Waste Framework Directive) Member States are obliged to set up waste prevention programmes. Section 33 of the Circular Economy Act (KrWG) requires the German Waste Prevention Programme (WPP), which was adopted for the first time by the Federal Government in July 2013 as a "Waste Prevention Programme – of the German Government with the Involvement of the Federal Länder", to be evaluated every six years and, if necessary, updated accordingly.

Against the background of this review of the WPP scheduled for 2019 at the latest, researchers within the project "FortAVP" determined and evaluated the current status of the implementation of the WPP. With a view to previously unused waste prevention potentials, they included the audit engagements specified in the WPP. They also examined other aspects that have not been previously addressed in the WPP to see whether they contribute to waste prevention.

Based on the results of the analysis of the current status with regard to the implementation of the WPP at federal, state and local level and an evaluation of existing waste prevention potentials, the project team formulated concrete proposals for a possible further development and updating of the programme. To this end, they developed concrete proposals for measures on previously prioritised waste streams and corresponding priority prevention approaches.

FortAVP

Erarbeitung der Grundlagen für die Fortschreibung des Abfallvermeidungsprogramms auf der Basis einer Analyse und Bewertung des Umsetzungsstandes

  • Projekt-Nr.350870
  • Laufzeit 08/2016 - 10/2018

Nach den Vorgaben des Artikels 29 der Richtlinie 2008/98/EG (Abfallrahmenrichtline) sind die Mitgliedstaaten verpflichtet, Abfallvermeidungsprogramme aufzustellen. Gemäß § 33 Kreislaufwirtschaftsgesetz (KrWG) ist das deutsche Abfallvermeidungsprogramm (AVP), welches als "Abfallvermeidungsprogramm des Bundes unter Beteiligung der Länder" im Juli 2013 erstmalig von der Bundesregierung verabschiedet wurde, alle sechs Jahre auszuwerten und bei Bedarf fortzuschreiben.

Vor dem Hintergrund dieser im Jahr 2019 notwendigen Überprüfung des AVP, ermittelten innerhalb des Vorhabens "FortAVP" Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler den Umsetzungsstatus des AVP und bewerteten diesen. Mit Blick auf bislang ungenutzte Abfallvermeidungspotenziale bezogen sie dafür auch die im AVP benannten Prüfaufträge mit ein. Auch weitere, bislang im AVP nicht berücksichtigte Aspekte, prüften sie daraufhin, ob diese einen Beitrag zur Abfallvermeidung leisten können.

Ausgehend von den Analyseergebnissen zum derzeitigen Stand in Hinblick auf die Umsetzung des AVP auf Ebene des Bundes, der Länder sowie der Kommunen und einer Bewertung bestehender Vermeidungspotenziale erarbeiteten die Projektbeteiligten konkrete Vorschläge für eine mögliche Weiterentwicklung und Fortschreibung des Programms. Dazu entwickelten sie konkretere Maßnahmenvorschläge zu zuvor priorisierten Abfallströmen und entsprechend wesentlichen Vermeidungsansätzen.