SuMoBu

Sustainable Mobility in Bucharest. An Indicator-Based Assessment

  • Project no.251370, 251995
  • Duration 09/2019 - 11/2019

Cities all over Europe acknowledge the need for more sustainable urban transport and aim at creating people friendly mobility by creating new approaches to urban mobility planning and by stimulating a shift towards cleaner and more sustainable transport modes. In 2018, the Wuppertal Institute has developed the report "Living. Moving. Breathing. Ranking of European Cities in Sustainable Transport". It measures and evaluates the status of sustainable mobility in 13 European capitals. This point-based results framework enabled European city stakeholders and the general public to understand their current urban mobility situation, and a comparison of Berlin, London, Vienna, Brussels, Moscow, Rome, Zurich, Paris, Amsterdam, Copenhagen, Oslo, Budapest and Madrid.

The project "Sustainable Mobility in Bucharest" is a complementary piece to this ranking. The Wuppertal Institute collected 21 mobility indicators and compared the city of Bucharest with the 13 cities of the ranking from 2018. The cities’ comparison and the analysis of the status of sustainable mobility in Bucharest focused on five thematic areas, namely public transport, non-motorised transport, mobility management, air quality and road safety.

If the city of Bucharest had taken part to this original Ranking of European Cities in Sustainable Transport, it would have ranked 13th overall out of these 14 cities. With respect to public transport, Bucharest scored particularly well and ranked 2nd. The second place of Bucharest in the public transport thematic field is a result of attractive prices and userfriendly network. In all other categories, however, Bucharest was ranked second-last (road safety, air quality, active mobility) or even last (Mobility Management). The analysis by the Wuppertal Institute shows that these areas are in need of improvement. For Greenpeace, the results were starting point for a local campaign, in which possibilities for improvement were made a subject of discussion.

SuMoBu

Nachhaltige Mobilität in Bukarest. Eine indikatorenbasierte Einschätzung

  • Projekt-Nr.251370, 251995
  • Laufzeit 09/2019 - 11/2019

Städte in ganz Europa erkennen inzwischen die Notwendigkeit nachhaltiger Mobilität an und zielen darauf ab, den Verkehr möglichst verträglich abzuwickeln. Dafür setzen sie Anreize für saubere und nachhaltige Verkehrsträger. Das Wuppertal Institut hat im Jahr 2018 den Bericht "Living. Moving. Breathing. Ranking of European Cities in Sustainable Transport" erstellt und hat darin den gegenwärtigen Zustand nachhaltiger Mobilität in 13 europäischen Hauptstädten gemessen und bewertet. Diese punktbasierte Rangliste ermöglichte Interessensvertreterinnen und -vertretern und der Öffentlichkeit einen Vergleich in den 13 Städten Berlin, London, Wien, Brüssel, Moskau, Rom, Zürich, Paris, Amsterdam, Kopenhagen, Oslo, Budapest und Madrid.

Das Projekt "Sustainable Mobility in Bucharest" ist als Ergänzung dieser Rangliste um Bucharest zu verstehen. Das Wuppertal Institut erhob dafür 21 mobilitätsrelevante Indikatoren und verglich auf dieser Basis von Bucharest mit den 13 Städten des Rankings aus 2018. Für die Analyse über den Status nachhaltiger Mobilität in Bucharest wurden der öffentliche Verkehr, nicht-motorisierter Verkehr, Mobilitätsmanagement, Luftqualität und Verkehrssicherheit miteinander verglichen.

Hätte die Stadt Bukarest an dem in 2018 stattfindenen Ranking der europäischen Städte im Bereich des nachhaltigen Verkehrs teilgenommen, wäre sie von diesen 14 Städten auf Platz 13 gelandet. Bei den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln punktete Bukarest besonders gut und belegte den zweiten Platz. Diese gute Platzierung beim öffentlichen Personennahverkehr (ÖPNV) ließ sich mithilfe attraktiver Preise und eines nutzerfreundlichen Netzwerks erzielen. In allen anderen Kategorien erreichte Bukarest jedoch den vorletzten (Verkehrssicherheit, Luftqualität, nicht-motorisierte Mobilität) oder sogar den letzten Platz (Mobilitätsmanagement). Die Analyse des Wuppertal Instituts zeigt, dass diese Bereiche verbesserungswürdig sind. Greenpeace hat die Analyseergebnisse zum Ausgangspunkt einer lokalen Kampagne gemacht, in der sie Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung des aktuellen Zustands aufgezeigen.


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer