Re-Use Berlin 2020

Implementation of Extensive Activities to Strengthen the Reuse of Products in Berlin

  • Project no.352085
  • Duration 02/2020 - 12/2020

The reuse of used goods is not only essential to waste avoidance, but also for saving resources and achieving climate targets: Instead of disposing a product at the end of their first use phase, used goods should be passed on for further use in order to extend their life cycle. This approach is reflected in the "Zero Waste" principle of the Berlin Coalition Agreement (2016-2021) and is an important step towards transforming Berlin's waste management into a modern circular economy.

Even though there are already signs of an increased awareness as well as change in the area of reuse in Berlin, there is still a lot of unutilized potential for establishing and expanding structures for reuse. Against this background, the project "Re-Use Berlin 2020" aims at creating attractive and easily accessible offers as well as raising awareness among citizens to increase the demand for used goods. The objective is to bring the topic of reuse to the center of society and thus strengthen the market for used goods.

The planned measures are based on the practical experiences of the previous projects "Re-Use Berlin" 2018 and 2019, the foundation of the association "Re-Use Berlin e. V." as well as the “Study on the Reuse of Products“ from the year 2017.

The project is conducted under the leadership of the Wuppertal Institute in cooperation with Ecologic Institute, IZT - Institute for Futures Studies and Technology Assessment and u.e.c. Berlin. In addition, pulswerk, WIR e. V. and Bis es mir vom Leibe fällt e. V. are cooperating on various of the subsequent working packages.

The project comprises the following activities:

  • Compilation of a comprehensive presentation of further actors for the purchase of used goods on the website "ReMap"
  • Organisation of three meetings to draft the rules of procedure of the newly founded association "Re-Use Berlin e. V."
  • Organisation of five high-publicity events on the topic of reuse as well as three awarded ideas of the idea competition of the year 2019
  • Organisation of three dialogue meetings with actors of the reuse scene in Berlin
  • Conception and implementation of a model project for the rescue of textile returns and development of general guidelines for dealing with textile returns
  • Conducting an idea competition to collect innovative ideas from Berlin citizens on the topic of reuse
  • Continuation of a search program of public and private land to identify buildings that can be used for reuse as well as a search for a suitable real estate for a "store of the future"
  • Further development and implementation of the concept for the “store of the future” and a shop-in-shop concept

Re-Use Berlin 2020

Re-Use Berlin 2020: Durchführung umfangreicher Re-Use-Aktionen zur Stärkung der Wiederverwendung von Gebrauchtwaren in Berlin

  • Projekt-Nr.352085
  • Laufzeit 02/2020 - 12/2020

Die Wiederverwendung von Gebrauchtwaren ist nicht nur zentraler Bestandteil der Abfallvermeidung, sondern auch essentiell, um Ressourcen einzusparen und die Klimaziele zu erreichen. Statt Gebrauchtwaren am Ende der Nutzungsphase zu entsorgen, sollen sie auf unterschiedlichen Wegen für eine Folgenutzung weitergegeben werden. Dieser Ansatz findet sich im Leitbild "Zero Waste" des Berliner Koalitionsvertrags (2016-2021) wieder und ist ein wichtiger Schritt die Berliner Abfallwirtschaft in eine moderne Kreislaufwirtschaft zu transformieren.

Auch wenn sich bereits einiges in Berlin tut, ergibt sich noch viel Potenzial die Strukturen zur Wiederverwendung zu etablieren und auszuweiten. Daher will das Projekt "Re-Use Berlin 2020" attraktive und leicht zugängliche Angebote schaffen sowie Bürgerinnen und Bürgern für eine höhere Nachfrage von Gebrauchtwaren sensibilisieren. Ziel ist es, das Thema der Wiederverwendung in der Mitte der Gesellschaft zu verankern und den Gebrauchtwarenmarkt zu stärken.

Basis der geplanten Maßnahmen sind die praktischen Erfahrungen der Vorgängerprojekte Re-Use Berlin 2018 und 2019, die Gründung des Vereins Re-Use Berlin e. V. sowie die Studie "Untersuchung zur Wiederverwendung in Berlin" aus dem Jahr 2017.
Das Projekt steht unter Leitung des Wuppertal Instituts in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ecologic Institut, IZT - Institut für Zukunftsstudien und Technologiebewertung und u.e.c. Berlin. Bei diversen, der nachfolgend aufgeführten, Maßnahmen kooperieren darüber hinaus pulswerk, WIR e. V. und Bis es mir vom Leibe fällt e. V..

Folgende Arbeitspakete sind im Rahmen des Projekts geplant:

  • Sammlung und Ergänzung weiterer Akteure zur Abnahme von Gebrauchtwaren auf der Website „ReMap“ zur übersichtlichen Darstellung von Gebrauchtwaren
  • Organisation von Arbeitssitzungen zur Ausarbeitung der Geschäftsordnung des neu gegründeten Vereins Re-Use Berlin e. V.
  • Durchführung von fünf öffentlichkeitswirksamen Re-Use Aktionen sowie Umsetzung von drei prämierten Ideen des Ideenwettbewerbs 2019
  • Durchführung von drei Fachdialogen mit Akteuren der Berliner Re-Use-Szene
  • Konzeption und Implementierung eines Modellprojekts zur Rettung von Textilretouren und Erarbeitung eines Leitfadens zum Umgang mit Textilretouren
  • Durchführung eines Ideenwettbewerbs zur Sammlung von innovativen Ideen Berliner Bürgerinnen und Bürger zum Thema Wiederverwendung
  • Fortführung eines Suchprogramms von Flächen für Re-Use-Maßnahmen sowie Suche nach einer geeigneten Immobilien für ein "Kaufhaus der Zukunft"
  • Weiterentwicklung und Umsetzung des Konzeptes für das "Kaufhaus der Zukunft" sowie ein Shop-in-Shop-Konzept.

Re-Use Berlin