DKTI

Energy Efficient Propulsion Systems Brazil

  • Project no.251249

Following the United Nations (UN) Paris Climate Conference (COP21), Brazil announced its intention to reduce its greenhouse gas emissions by 43 per cent (compared to 2005 levels) by 2030. In addition to increasing its use of renewable energy, the country is striving to improve its energy efficiency by 10 per cent. At present, the transport sector accounts for more than half of the nation’s fossil fuel consumption and for 46 per cent of greenhouse gas emissions released by the country’s energy sector. Brazil’s Energy Research Office (EPE) forecasts that the number of passenger cars will treble by 2050, with battery electric vehicles gaining a share of 10 per cent. However, growth is slow on the Brazilian market for battery-powered and plug-in hybrid vehicles.

The objective of the project is to create the conditions that will facilitate the widespread use of energy-efficient propulsion systems. The project will be implemented nationwide, but pilot projects will first be launched in cities and states. The DKTI project will work on the meso and micro level and comprises three components:

  1. the development of a strategy to promote energy-efficient propulsion systems;
  2. standardisation and regulation; and
  3. business models for energy-efficient propulsion systems.

The focus will be on plug-in hybrids and purely electric vehicles (technology-based approach) in the public transport sector, as well as in private and public fleets (fields of application). Experiences gained during demonstration projects will be used to design promotion and incentive mechanisms. The project will also seek partnerships with the private sector (e.g., vehicle manufacturers, suppliers, energy suppliers, or fleet operators), the scope and content of which will be defined as the project progresses.

The Wuppertal Institute will focus on a local Life Cycle Assessment (LCA) to support the development of a Technology Road Map that will promote electromobility in Brazil and provide input for recommendations on how to integrate business models into three pilot electromobility projects in Brazil.


Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

DKTI

Energieeffiziente Antriebssysteme Brasilien

  • Projekt-Nr.251249
  • Laufzeit 09/2017 - 09/2019

Im Nachgang zur UN-Klimakonferenz in Paris (COP 21) hat Brasilien angekündigt, seine Treibhausgasemissionen bis 2030 um 43 Prozent zu reduzieren (im Vergleich zu 2005). Neben dem vermehrten Einsatz von erneuerbaren Energien will das Land seine Energieeffizienz um zehn Prozent steigern. Aktuell ist der Verkehrssektor für mehr als die Hälfte des Verbrauchs von fossilen Brennstoffen sowie für 46 Prozent der Treibhausgasemissionen des Energiesektors in Brasilien verantwortlich. Laut Schätzungen der brasilianischen Energieplanungsbehörde EPE wird sich die Zahl der Autos im Individualverkehr bis 2050 verdreifachen, zehn Prozent der Fahrzeuge werden über einen Elektroantrieb verfügen. Der lokale Markt für Hybridfahrzeuge wächst nur sehr langsam.
Das Ziel des DKTI-Projektes ist es, die Grundlagen für einen effizienten Einsatz von energiesparenden Antriebssystemen zu schaffen. Das Projekt ist auf Landesebene angesiedelt, es sollen aber auch Pilotprojekte in einzelnen Städten und Kommunen umgesetzt werden. Das Projekt arbeitet auf Meso- und Mikroebene und unterteilt sich in drei Bereiche:

  1. die Entwicklung einer Marketingstrategie für energieeffiziente Antriebssysteme
  2. Standardisierung und Steuerung
  3. Geschäftsmodelle für energieeffiziente Antriebssysteme

Der Fokus liegt auf Plug-in-Hybriden und Fahrzeugen mit rein elektrischem Antrieb (technologiebasierter Ansatz) im öffentlichen Nahverkehr ebenso wie in der privaten Nutzung (Anwendungsbereiche). Dabei sollen Erfahrungen aus anderen Demonstrationsprojekten genutzt werden, um Vorschläge für mögliche Anreize und eine Marketingstrategie auszuarbeiten. Außerdem sind Kooperationen mit dem Privatsektor (zum Beispiel Fahrzeughersteller, -verkäufer, Energielieferanten) in Vorbereitung.

Das Wuppertal Institut konzentriert sich in diesem Projekt auf die Ausarbeitung einer lokalen Lebenszyklusanalyse, um zur Erstellung eines technologischen Fahrplans zur Bewerbung von Elektromobilität in Brasilien beizutragen. Außerdem sollen Empfehlungen für Geschäftsmodelle erarbeitet werden, die in drei Pilotprojekten zur Elektromobilität in Brasilien integriert werden.