PoRGreenH2

Expert Support for the Project "Hydrogen for the Port of Rotterdam in an International Context"

  • Project no.151925
  • Duration 01/2020 - 07/2020

In the PoRGreenH2 project, the Wuppertal Institute supported the Dutch research institute DRIFT (Dutch Research Institute For Transitions) in writing the report "Hydrogen for the Port of Rotterdam in an International Context – a Plea for Leadership". Commissioned by the Port of Rotterdam Authority, the researchers investigated the potential future role of hydrogen for the port and its industry. They concluded that the port of Rotterdam has the potential to become a leading international hub for hydrogen flows, similar to its current role in the oil economy. The report is based, among other things, on various dialogue sessions attended by experts from the port's industrial sector, the government, and science.

During the course of the project, researchers of the Wuppertal Institute also participated in some of the dialogue sessions and contributed their knowledge to these sessions as well as in several exchanges with the DRIFT team.

In this project, the Wuppertal Institute was able to make use of its knowledge of the port's industrial cluster, gained through a number of research projects on the Port of Rotterdam over the past years. Specifically, the Wuppertal Institute incorporated its expertise regarding the role of hydrogen for achieving deep emission reductions in primary industry.

The Wuppertal Institute also contributed to the DRIFT report by authoring a two-page "Expert Reflection" on the future role of hydrogen in Northwest Europe from an energy system perspective.


Further project information

Links


Project partner

PoRGreenH2

Expertenunterstützung für das Projekt "Wasserstoff für den Hafen Rotterdam im internationalen Kontext"

  • Projekt-Nr.151925
  • Laufzeit 01/2020 - 07/2020

Im Projekt PoRGreenH2 unterstützte das Wuppertal Institut das niederländische Forschungsinstitut DRIFT (Dutch Research Institute For Transitions) beim Bericht "Hydrogen for the Port of Rotterdam in an International Context – a Plea for Leadership". Im Auftrag des Hafenbetriebs Rotterdam untersuchten die Forschenden die potenzielle zukünftige Rolle von Wasserstoff für den Hafen und seine Industrie. Ihr Ergebnis: Der Rotterdamer Hafen hat das Potenzial, ein führender internationaler Knotenpunkt für Wasserstoffströme zu werden, ähnlich seiner derzeitigen Rolle in der Ölwirtschaft. Der Bericht stützt sich unter anderem auf verschiedene Dialogsitzungen, an denen Expertinnen und Experten aus dem Industriesektor des Hafens, der Regierung und der Wissenschaft teilgenommen haben.

Im Verlauf des Projekts nahmen auch Forschende des Wuppertal Instituts an einigen der Dialogsitzungen teil und brachten ihr Wissen in diese Sitzungen sowie in mehrere Austauschtreffen mit dem DRIFT-Projektteam ein.

Das Wuppertal Institut konnte in diesem Projekt seine Kenntnisse über das industrielle Cluster des Hafens nutzen, die es in den vergangenen Jahren durch eine Reihe von Forschungsprojekten zum Rotterdamer Hafen aufgebaut hat. Zudem brachte es sein Wissen zur möglichen zukünftigen Rolle von Wasserstoff für das Erreichen weitgehender Emissionsminderungen in der Grundstoffindustrie ein.

Das Wuppertal Institut steuerte zum DRIFT-Bericht auch eine eigene zweiseitige "Expert Reflection" über die zukünftige Rolle von Wasserstoff in Nordwesteuropa bei.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Links


Projektteam

Projektleitung

Mitarbeiter/-innen

Auftraggeber/Förderer

Projektpartner