BiTe

Biodiversity Beyond the Horizon: Project to Increase Biodiversity in Supply and Demand in Out-of-Home Gastronomy

  • Project no.452003
  • Duration 09/2020 - 08/2020

Biological diversity or biodiversity comprises the wealth of ecosystems, animal and plant species, biotic communities and living organisms, as well as their genetic diversity. It is a prerequisite for human life and economic activities, such as agriculture and food. Every human being is dependent on biological diversity as the basis for all ecosystem services. Yet even today, 75 percent of the land surface and 66 percent of the sea area have already undergone major changes. Therefore, action is required. These interrelationships and the links to individual foods or their value chains should be transported into the everyday world.
The BiTe project achieves this through out-of-home gastronomy. It is planned to establish a biodiversity index for meals in company restaurants, hospitals and refectories. This will make it possible to quantify the loss of biodiversity, making it comparable and observable. To this end, the project participants are developing and testing a biodiversity index for lunchtime meals in out-of-home catering (AHG) for the first time. Workshops are held in the companies to communicate the contents to the consumer.

During the first phase of the project, the researchers will devote themselves to the detailed conception: On the one hand, the biodiversity index is to be integrated into the database of the already existing Nahgast-Calculator (www.nahgast.de/rechner) as an indicator for the measurement of (agro-)biodiversity, in order to make the influence of a midday meal on (agro-)biodiversity measurable. In addition, they will create a design concept that will help guests in the out-of-home catering sector to experience and understand biodiversity in a playful way. To ensure that the biodiversity index and the design concept are effective in practice, the project participants are also developing an implementation concept with various companies from the out-of-home catering sector as part of a co-creation process.

BiTe

Biodiversität über den Tellerrand: Vorhaben zur Steigerung der Biodiversität in Angebot und Nachfrage der Außer-Haus-Gastronomie

  • Projekt-Nr.452003
  • Laufzeit 09/2020 - 08/2020

Die biologische Vielfalt oder Biodiversität umfasst den Reichtum an Ökosystemen, Tier- und Pflanzenarten, Lebensgemeinschaften und Lebewesen, sowie deren genetische Vielfalt. Sie bildet die Voraussetzung für das menschliche Leben und Wirtschaften, etwa für die Landwirtschaft und die Ernährung. Jeder Mensch ist auf die biologische Vielfalt als Basis aller Ökosystemleistungen angewiesen. Doch schon heute haben sich 75 Prozent der Landoberfläche und 66 Prozent der Meeresfläche stark verändert. Daher ist Handeln geboten. Diese Zusammenhänge und die Verbindung zu einzelnen Lebensmitteln oder ihren Wertschöpfungsketten sollten in die Alltagswelt transportiert werden.
Innerhalb des Projekts BiTe wollen die Forschenden dies über die Außer-Haus-Gastronomie erreichen. Geplant ist ein Biodiversitätsindex für Mahlzeiten in Betriebsrestaurants, Krankenhäusern und Mensen zu etablieren. So lässt sich der Biodiversitätsverlust quantifizieren und wird damit vergleichbar und beobachtbar. Dafür entwickeln und erproben die Projektbeteiligten erstmalig einen Biodiversitäts-Index für Mittagsmahlzeiten der Außer-Haus-Gastronomie (AHG). Zur verbrauchernahen Kommunikation der Inhalte werden Workshops in den Betrieben durchgeführt.

Während der ersten Projektphase widmen sich die Forschenden der detaillierten Konzeption: Zum einen soll der Biodiversitäts-Index als Indikator für die Messung der (Agro-)Biodiversität in die Datenbank des bereits vorhandenen Nahgast-Rechners (www.nahgast.de/rechner) integriert werden, um den Einfluss einer Mittagsmahlzeit auf die (Agro-)Biodiversität messbar zu machen. Zudem erstellen sie ein Design-Konzept, mit dessen Hilfe die Gäste in der Außer-Haus-Gastronomie Biodiversität spielerisch erleben und begreifen können. Damit der Biodiversitätsindex und das Designkonzept in der Praxis greifen, entwickeln die Projektbeteiligten innerhalb eines Co-Creation-Prozesses zudem ein Umsetzungskonzept mit verschiedenen Betrieben aus dem Bereich der Außer-Haus-Gastronomie.