bigEE

Bridging the Information Gap on Energy Efficiency in Buildings

BigEE Logo
  • Project no.3252
  • Duration 12/2009 - 12/2016

In the short and medium term, energy efficiency is the biggest, fastest, and most cost-effective option for saving energy and mitigating climate change. However, up until now there have neither been an integrated institutional and conceptional framework nor processes and coherent instruments specific for target groups, to collect the knowledge scattered around the world, assemble it according to scientific standards, and present it in a user-oriented, comprehensive, easy to use, and transparent way. For dissemination to target groups, there is a similar lack of a framework and specific instruments.

The aim of this project funded by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (FME) is the step-wise development of an internet-based knowledge platform "bigEE - bridging the information gap on Energy Efficiency in buildings", with support from the Collaborating Centre on Sustainable Consumption and Production (CSCP) and in cooperation with partners in five focus countries.

The bigEE internet platform will

  • raise greater attention for the various benefits of energy efficiency, especially on the demand-side,
  • provide actors of identified target groups with concrete knowledge on technological solutions, potentials, costs and benefits of energy-efficient solutions as well as feasible implementation strategies, policies and measures - in a coherent, integrated, and user-oriented way,
  • stimulate communication of these issues.

Primary target groups of the initiative are:

  • policy-makers
  • public and private investors
  • actors and consultants in policy and energy service implementation

In the medium term the project aspires to have organisations and institutions both from a national (e.g. energy agencies, industry associations, and policy advisors, including from development cooperation) and the international level such as UNEP-SBCI, IEA, IPEEC, CEM, SE4All and GIZ use the knowledge provided on the internet platform and thereby actively support its wide dissemination.

A focus is on the partner countries China, South Africa and India and shall in the future be extended to further emerging economies (most likely Mexico and Turkey). The platform will include specific pages for these countries on the energy savings potential by sector and end use, net economic benefit, country-specific actor constellations in energy efficiency markets, as well as existing policy instruments and good practice case studies. These pages will complement the core part of the platform, consisting of information on energy efficiency in buildings that is useful for all countries of the world.

Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke, the former president of the Wuppertal Institute, assists the project team as principal advisor.


Further project information

Downloads

Links

bigEE

Internationaler Wissenstransfer im Bereich Energieeffizienz von Gebäuden

  • Projekt-Nr. 3252
  • Laufzeit 12/2009 - 12/2016

Kurz- und mittelfristig bietet die Erhöhung der Energieeffizienz das größte Minderungspotenzial beim Klima- und Ressourcenschutz, das obendrein schnell und wirtschaftlich ausschöpfbar ist. Allerdings existierten bisher weder ein integrierter institutioneller noch ein konzeptioneller Rahmen, noch Prozesse oder kohärente zielgruppenspezifische Hilfsmittel, um das weltweit verstreute Wissen zu Energieeffizienz nach wissenschaftlichen Standards zusammen zu führen und nutzerorientiert in einer umfassenden, einfach erreichbaren und transparenten Art und Weise zu präsentieren. Auch zur zielgruppenorientierten Verbreitung des Wissens fehlte es an solchen Rahmenbedingungen und Hilfsmitteln.

Ziel des vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU) geförderten Projekts ist daher der schrittweise Aufbau eines Internet-basierten Wissensportals "bigEE - bridging the information gap ion Energy Efficiency in buildings" zu Energieeffizienz im Gebäudesektor mit Unterstützung des Collaborating Center for Sustainable Consumption and Production (CSCP) und in Kooperation mit Partnern in fünf Schwerpunktländern. Das bigEE-Internetportal soll

  • größere Aufmerksamkeit schaffen für den vielfältigen Nutzen von Energieeffizienz insbesondere auf der Nachfrageseite,
  • konkretes Wissen über technische Lösungen, Potenziale, Nutzen und Kosten energieeffizienter Lösungen bündeln und bereit stellen sowie machbare Umsetzungsstrategien, Pakete von Politiken und Maßnahmen sowie Umsetzungsergebnisse an Akteure der Zielgruppen vermitteln - alles auf kohärente, integrierte und leicht verständliche Weise,
  • die Kommunikation über diese Themen stimulieren.

Zielgruppen sind primär:

  • Entscheidungsträger in der Politik
  • Öffentliche und private Investoren
  • Berater und sonstige Akteure in der Umsetzung von Politikinstrumenten und Energiedienstleistungen

Mittelfristig strebt das Projekts an, dass nationale (staatliche Agencies, Wirtschaftsverbände, Politikberater, auch im Rahmen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit) und internationale Organisationen und Institutionen, wie UNEP-SBCI, IEA, IPEEC, SE4All, CEM, und GIZ die umfassende Verbreitung des Wissens aktiv unterstützen, indem sie das auf der Internet-Plattform angebotene Wissen für die Beratung der primären Zielgruppen nutzen.

Ein Fokus liegt auch auf den Partnerländern China, Südafrika und Indien und soll in Zukunft auf weitere Schwellenländer (voraussichtlich Mexiko und Türkei) ausgedehnt werden. Für diese Länder werden spezifische Seiten der Internet-Plattform zu Potenzialen der jeweiligen Sektoren und Anwendungsbereiche, wirtschaftlichem Nettonutzen, länderspezifischen Akteursstrukturen in den Energieeffizienzmärkten sowie bestehenden Politikinstrumenten und Good-Practice-Beispielen erstellt. Diese Seiten werden den Kernbereich der Plattform mit dem weltweit nutzbaren Wissen zu Energieeffizienz in Gebäuden ergänzen.

Als Principal Advisor steht Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke, ehemals Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts, dem Projektteam zur Seite.


Weitere Projektinformationen

Downloads

Links