Virtual Institute (VI): Mentalities and Patterns of Behaviour Concerning the Energy Transition in North Rhine-Westfalia

  • Project no.450187
  • Duration 03/2015 - 05/2017

The project takes up a widespread phenomenon that also applies to North Rhine-Westphalia (NRW): People's actual everyday behaviour with regard to resource and energy use often deviates from their attitudes concerning environmental and climate protection as well as energy consumption (attitude-behaviour-gap). Above that, potential for saving energy by means of technical innovations might remain unutilised or may even be reversed through the same mechanism. The project aims at pointing out opportunities for political measures to adequately meet this problem. In order to reach this aim, firstly, the status quo of existing mentalities, patterns of behaviour and social practices with relevance for resource and energy use in NRW shall be systematically investigated. In a nutshell, the research focuses on "sustainable consciousness" in NRW, a concept which also includes behavioural aspects.

The project is structured into three components or "building blocks", which are closely linked: "System Understanding", "Envisioning" and "Transformation". These components complement each other in their respective perspectives by focussing on different periods of time as regards their research questions:

Component "System Understanding" - Where do we stand? Which mentalities, patterns of behaviour and social practices in the realm of resource and energy use can be identified in North Rhine-Westphalia? What kinds of differences specific to milieu or region can be found? Which drivers and barriers exist for the implementation of the energy transition in people's everyday lives? While the first component looks into dominant mentalities, patterns of behaviour and social practices in NRW, the second addresses an "envisioning" of the future. This "envisioning" will take the form of a look into a possible future, where the transition of the energy system will already have taken place.

Component "Envisioning" - Where do we want to go? How can a successful transition of the energy system in NRW be imagined with regard to the role that citizens could play in the process? What kind of "visions" about resource and energy related mentalities, patterns of behaviour and social practices can be imagined for NRW? The third component directly follows the "envisioning" and the target knowledge generated in the previous part of the project: Starting from the "vision" of a successful energy transition in NRW this component focusses on the task of identifying possible political measures by which this vision could be realized.

Component "Transformation" - How do we get there? Which measures could motivate sustainable resource and energy related mentalities, patterns of behaviour and social practices? How could people and organisations in NRW gain a heightened sustainable consciousness?

Virtuelles Institut (VI): Mentalitäten und Verhaltensmuster im Kontext der Energiewende in NRW

  • Projekt-Nr. 450187
  • Laufzeit 03/2015 - 05/2017

Die Projektidee greift das weitverbreitete und auch in Nordrhein-Westfalen beobachtbare Phänomen auf, dass das tatsächliche ressourcen- und energiebezogene Verhalten der Bürgerinnen und Bürger im Alltag häufig nicht ihren Einstellungen in Bezug auf Umwelt- und Klimaschutz sowie Energiekonsum entspricht (Kluft zwischen Wissen und Handeln) sowie technische Energieeinsparpotentiale ungenutzt lässt bzw. sogar konterkariert. Ziel des Projekts ist es, mittels einer systematischen Erforschung der in NRW existierenden ressourcen- und energiebezogenen Mentalitäten, Verhaltensmuster und sozialen Praktiken - kurz gesagt, der Erforschung des nordrhein-westfälischen Nachhaltigkeitsbewusstseins/-handelns, Möglichkeiten aufzuzeigen, dieser Problematik mit politischen Maßnahmen angemessen zu begegnen.

Das Projekt gliedert sich in die drei inhaltlich eng miteinander verknüpften Bausteine "Systemverständnis", "Visionierung" und "Transformation", die sich durch unterschiedliche zeitliche Perspektiven ihrer jeweiligen Fragestellungen wechselseitig ergänzen:
Projektbaustein Systemverständnis - Wo stehen wir? Welche ressourcen- und energiebezogenen Mentalitäten, Verhaltensmuster und sozialen Praktiken lassen sich in NRW identifizieren? Welche regional-spezifischen und milieu-spezifischen Unterschiede werden ersichtlich? Welche Treiber und Barrieren existieren im Alltag der Bürgerinnen und Bürger bei der Umsetzung der Energiewende? Während der erste Baustein des Projekts ergründet, welche Mentalitäten, Verhaltensmuster und soziale Praktiken gegenwärtig in NRW vorherrschen, widmet sich der zweite Baustein des Projekts, die "Visionierung", einem Ausblick in eine mögliche Zukunft, in der die Transformation des Energiesystems bereits erfolgt sein wird.

Projektbaustein Visionierung - Wo wollen wir hin? Wie lässt sich eine erfolgreiche Transformation des Energiesystems in NRW im Hinblick auf die Rolle der Bürgerinnen und Bürger vorstellen? Welche Visionen über ressourcen- und energiebezogenen Mentalitäten, Verhaltensmuster und sozialen Praktiken sind für NRW denkbar? Der dritte Baustein des Projekts schließt direkt an die "Visionierung" und das im vorangehenden Projektteil generierte Zielwissen an: Ausgehend von der Vision einer erfolgreichen Energiewende in NRW gilt es im Baustein "Transformation" Maßnahmen zu identifizieren, mit denen diese Vision realisiert werden kann.

Projektbaustein Transformation - Wie kommen wir zum Ziel? Welche Maßnahmen können ressourcen- und energiebezogene Mentalitäten, Verhaltensmuster und soziale Praktiken anregen, die nachhaltig sind? Wie können Menschen und Organisationen in NRW zu einem stärkeren Nachhaltigkeitsbewusstsein kommen?