No Need to Fear Transformation

The Wuppertal Institute’s anniversary celebrations

  • Press Releases 08.09.2016

Interesting keynote speeches and lively panel discussions: the ceremony to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Wuppertal Institute at Wuppertal’s historic city hall was characterized by the motto of "Making Utopia possible." More than 500 guests, including a number of well-known international sustainability experts, exchanged ideas on global challenges, national progress, and the importance of local sites of transformation.

In his opening speech, Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Co-Chair of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU) and Director of the German Development Institute (DIE), said that "modern sustainability policy must keep fairness in mind," adding that "transformation is not automatically fair. Therefore, we need to take concerns seriously so that uncertainty can become hope and confidence." Svenja Schulze, North Rhine-Westphalia’s Science Minister, Johannes Remmel, North Rhine-Westphalia’s Environment Minister, Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke, Director of the Sustainable Production and Consumption research group, and Wuppertal Institute Vice-President Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick then discussed the contribution that politicians and scientists in North Rhine-Westphalia could make here.

Jochen Flasbarth, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for the Environment, emphasized the importance of strong government structures for increased sustainability: "We need an even more transformative policy. Transformation means change. Politicians who are scared of this will not be able to overcome this century’s challenge." He added that, against this background, the Wuppertal Institute was vital as a "unique think tank for the development of transformation strategies." In their discussion, Jochen Flasbarth, Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Dr. Heinrich Bottermann, Secretary General of the German Federal Environmental Foundation (DBU), and Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker, Co-President of the Club of Rome and Founding President of the Wuppertal Institute, also stressed that successful transformation was not possible without extensive cultural change.

The Transformative Science research prize, which will be awarded by the Wuppertal Institute, is also expected to give fresh impetus to the debate on sustainability policy in future. Stifterverband, the donors’ association for the promotion of humanities and sciences in Germany, will be providing 250,000 euros to the institute for the prize over the coming years. Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, President of Stifterverband, presented Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, President of the Wuppertal Institute, with the deed of donation during the ceremony.

"We are delighted that we will be able to confer this prize in future," said Schneidewind. "We want the prize to encourage young scientists to embark on the adventure of transformation research."

In particular the mayor of Wuppertal Andreas Mucke and Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch, rector of the University of Wuppertal, once again highlighted how much Utopian spirit and the sense of optimism has taken hold in Wuppertal today. “Wuppertal has always been a place of Utopian spirit and a site of change, so this is an ideal location for a think tank on transformation research,” explained Uwe Schneidewind in conversation with Andreas Mucke and Lambert Koch, adding that for this reason it had been important for the institute’s management to involve enthusiastic residents from the city’s various districts in the 25th anniversary celebrations. In the film Mensch:Utopia (Human:Utopia), which premiered during the celebrations, many citizens described their personal utopias. In the afternoon, guests at the ceremony also had the chance to get to know the climate district of Arrenberg and other projects showcasing transformation in Wuppertal.

Thanks to a number of Wuppertal-based sponsors who supported the anniversary celebrations, the institute also has a special gift for the city’s community: from September 8 and lasting for several months, there will be an evening video installation by artist Kai Fobbe on the tower of the cogeneration plant run by Wuppertaler Stadtwerke, the city’s public utility company.

You will be able to find more information on the anniversary events and additional images in the coming days at 25jahre.wupperinst.org and on our Flickr channel.

 

Press release of the Wuppertal Institute for Climate, Environment and Energy

Legally responsible for content: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Myrto-Christina Athanassiou, Public Relations

Phone: +49 202 2492-187, fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-mail: myrto-christina.athanassiou@wupperinst.org


Printable pictures

President and founding president of the Wuppertal Institute: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind and Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker
© Wuppertal Institut. Photo: Andreas Fischer

Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Co-Chair of the German Advisory Council on Global Change (WBGU) and Director of the German Development Institute (DIE)
© Wuppertal Institut. Photo: Andreas Fischer

Johannes Remmel, North Rhine-Westphalia’s Environment Minister, Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke, Wuppertal Institute, Svenja Schulze,North Rhine-Westphalia’s Science Minister, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Wuppertal Institute
© Wuppertal Institut. Photo: Andreas Fischer

Jochen Flasbarth, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for the Environment
© Wuppertal Institut. Photo: Andreas Fischer

Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, President of the Wuppertal Institute, and Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, President of Stifterverband
© Wuppertal Institut. Photo: Andreas Fischer

Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind with the Mayor of Wuppertal Andreas Mucke and Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch, rector of the University of Wuppertal
© Wuppertal Institut. Photo: Andreas Fischer

Keine Angst vor der Transformation

Jubiläums-Festakt des Wuppertal Instituts

Festsaal
  • Pressemitteilungen 08.09.2016

Spannende Keynotes und lebhafte Podiumsdiskussionen: Der Festakt zum 25-jährigen Jubiläum des Wuppertal Instituts in der Wuppertaler Historischen Stadthalle stand ganz im Zeichen des Mottos "Making Utopia possible". Über 500 Gäste, darunter zahlreiche namhafte internationale Nachhaltigkeits-Expert(inn)en, tauschten sich über globale Herausforderungen, nationale Fortschritte und die Bedeutung lokaler Orte des Wandels aus.

"Moderne Nachhaltigkeitspolitik muss das Thema Gerechtigkeit mitdenken", forderte Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Vorsitzender des Wissenschaftlichen Beirats der Bundesregierung Globale Umweltveränderungen (WBGU) und Direktor des Deutschen Instituts für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), in seiner Eröffnungsrede. "Transformation ist nicht automatisch fair. Deshalb müssen wir Ängste ernst nehmen, damit aus Unsicherheit Hoffnung und Zuversicht erwächst." Welchen Beitrag die Politik und die Wissenschaft Nordrhein-Westfalens dazu leisten können, diskutierten im Anschluss NRW-Wissenschaftsministerin Svenja Schulze, NRW-Umweltminister Johannes Remmel sowie Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke, Forschungsgruppenleiterin "Nachhaltiges Produzieren und Konsumieren", und Vize-Präsident Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick vom Wuppertal Institut.

Jochen Flasbarth, Staatssekretär im Bundesumweltministerium, betonte die Bedeutung starker staatlicher Strukturen für mehr Nachhaltigkeit: "Wir brauchen noch stärker eine transformative Politik. Transformation heißt Veränderung. Politik, die davor Angst hat, wird die Herausforderung dieses Jahrhunderts nicht bewältigen können." Vor diesem Hintergrund sei das Wuppertal Institut als "einzigartige Denkfabrik für die Entwicklung von Transformationsstrategien" unverzichtbar. Flasbarth, Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner, Dr. Heinrich Bottermann, Generalsekretär Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt (DBU) und Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker, Ko-Vorsitzender Club of Rome und Gründungspräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, verwiesen in ihrer Diskussion auf den umfassenden Kulturwandel, ohne den eine erfolgreiche Transformation nicht gelingen könne.

Neue Impulse in der nachhaltigkeitspolitischen Debatte soll künftig auch der Forschungspreis "Transformative Wissenschaft" setzen, den das Wuppertal Institut ausschreiben wird. 250.000 Euro stellt der Stifterverband für die deutsche Wissenschaft dem Institut dafür in den nächsten Jahren zur Verfügung. Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, Präsident des Verbands, überreichte Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, dem Präsidenten des Wuppertal Instituts, im Rahmen des Festakts die Stiftungsurkunde.

"Wir sind sehr glücklich darüber, dass wir diesen Preis künftig ausschreiben können", so Schneidewind. "Er soll junge Wissenschaftler dazu ermuntern, das Abenteuer Transformationsforschung in Angriff zu nehmen."

Wie viel utopischer Geist und Aufbruchstimmung heute in Wuppertal herrscht, machten insbesondere Andreas Mucke, der Oberbürgermeister der Stadt, und Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch, der Rektor der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal, noch einmal deutlich. "Wuppertal war schon immer ein Ort der Utopien und des Wandels - und damit ein idealer Standort für einen Thinktank zur Transformationsforschung", erklärte Uwe Schneidewind im Gespräch mit beiden. Deshalb habe die Institutsleitung bei den Feierlichkeiten zum 25-jährigen Jubiläum auch besonderen Wert darauf gelegt, engagierte Bürger(innen) aus den Quartieren mit einzubinden. In dem Film "Mensch:Utopia", der im Rahmen des Festakts erstmals zu sehen war, schilderten viele von ihnen etwa ihre persönlichen Utopien. Zudem hatten die Gäst des Festakts am Nachmittag die Gelegenheit, das Klimaquartier Arrenberg und andere Vorzeigeprojekte der Transformation in Wuppertal kennenzulernen.

Dank der Unterstützung zahlreicher Wuppertaler Sponsoren zum Jubiläum kann das Institut der Stadtgesellschaft außerdem ein besonders Geschenk machen: Vom 8. September an wird am Turm des Heizkraftwerks der Wuppertaler Stadtwerke über mehrere Monate hinweg abends eine Video-Installation des Künstlers Kai Fobbe leuchten.

Weitere Informationen zu den Jubiläumsveranstaltungen und zusätzliches Bildmaterial finden Sie in den kommenden Tagen auf 25jahre.wupperinst.org und auf unserem Flickr-Kanal.

 

Pressemitteilung des Wuppertal Instituts für Klima, Umwelt, Energie

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Myrto-Christina Athanassiou, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187, Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: myrto-christina.athanassiou@wupperinst.org


Pressebilder

Bild 1: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Gründungspräsident Prof. Dr. Ernst Ulrich von Weizsäcker
© Wuppertal Institut. Foto: Andreas Fischer

Bild 2: Prof. Dr. Dirk Messner (Vorsitzender WBGU)
© Wuppertal Institut. Foto: Andreas Fischer

Bild 3: Johannes Remmel (NRW-Umweltminister), Prof. Dr. Christa Liedtke (Wuppertal Institut), Svenja Schulze (NRW-Wissenschaftsministerin), Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick (Wuppertal Institut)
© Wuppertal Institut. Foto: Andreas Fischer

Bild 4: Jochen Flasbarth (Staatssekretär Bundesumweltministerium)
© Wuppertal Institut. Foto: Andreas Fischer

Bild 5: Prof. Dr. Dr. Andreas Barner, Präsident des Stifterverbands für die Deutsche Wissenschaft (re.), Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind
© Wuppertal Institut. Foto: Andreas Fischer

Bild 6: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Andreas Mucke (Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Wuppertal), Prof. Dr. Lambert T. Koch (Rektor der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal)
© Wuppertal Institut. Foto: Andreas Fischer