Transition Research

How to design transition pathways to a more sustainable society? The Wuppertal Institute unites climate, environment and resource related aspects in its research and links ecological issues with those of an economic and social transformation. Here you find the discussed topics:

News Events

Our Services

Every agent of our society, be that of the field of policy, economy, science, from organisations or initiatives, who wants to move towards the utopia of a world that's globally fair to both mankind and environment, finds a partner in the Wuppertal Institut to work together in projects, analyses and scenarios.

Uwe Schneidewind

For more than 25 years, the mission of the Wuppertal Institute has been to stimulate and support transitions towards a sustainable development with our scientific work. We hope you enjoy immersing yourself in the many facets of this "Great Transformation".

Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind
President of the Wuppertal Institute

Jobs & Career

We are constantly looking for people who think outside the box and want to dedicate their knowledge and skills to the transformation towards sustainability. For more job advertisements, please see our German website.

My ecological backpack

How many resources do you use?

Assess the ecological backpack of your lifestyle. It just takes 10 minutes of your time to find out how sustainable your life is and how to make it resource-lighter.

click to start the test

Research Map

The world map shows international research projects of the Wuppertal Institute. The research map gives you a quick overview of the Institute's international projects that are focused outside Europe. Please click on a pin for more information and a link that will take you to the project’s website. The research map will regularly be updated and supplemented.


Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft

The Wuppertal Institute is a member of the Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft. The JRF is a research community of 15 independent, non-profit research institutes in the German state of North Rhine-Westphalia. Their common goal is to conduct sustainable and forward-thinking research for society, economy and politics.

Forschung für den Wandel

Wie lassen sich die Übergänge in eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft gestalten? Das Wuppertal Institut verbindet in seiner Forschung Klima-, Umwelt- und Ressourcenaspekte und verknüpft ökologische Fragestellungen mit solchen des ökonomischen und gesellschaftlichen Wandels. Die Themen, um die es dabei geht, finden Sie hier:

NewsTermine

Unsere Leistungen

Alle Akteure der Gesellschaft, aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Verbänden, Initiativen und Wissenschaft, die sich aufmachen wollen, in ihrem Umfeld und ihrem Verantwortungsbereich der Utopie einer globalen menschen- und umweltgerechten Welt näher zukommen, finden im Wuppertal Institut einen Partner für Projekte, Analysen und Szenarien.

Uwe Schneidewind

Übergänge zu einer nachhaltigen Entwicklung mit unserer wissenschaftlichen Arbeit anzuregen und zu unterstützen, ist seit über 25 Jahren die Mission des Wuppertal Instituts. Wir wünschen Ihnen viel Spaß beim Eintauchen in die vielfältigen Facetten dieser "Großen Transformation".

Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind
Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts

Jobs& Karriere

Wir suchen Menschen, die über den Tellerrand hinaus blicken und mit ihrem Wissen und Können zum nachhaltigen Wandel beitragen möchten.

Mein ökologischer Rucksack

Wie viele Rohstoffe verbrauchen Sie?

Hier können Sie den ökologischen Rucksack ihres Lebensstils berechnen. Sie benötigen nur 10 Minuten um zu erfahren, wie nachhaltig Ihr Lebensstil ist und wie er ressourcenleichter wird.

zum Rechner
Mein ökologischer Rucksack

Forschungslandkarte

Die Weltkarte visualisiert eine Vielzahl von länderübergreifenden Forschungsprojekten des Wuppertal Instituts. Anhand der Forschungslandkarte erhalten Sie einen schnellen Überblick der internationalen Projekte des Instituts, die überwiegend außerhalb Europas liegen. Beim Anklicken auf einen Pin erscheinen Kurzinformationen und ein Link zum Forschungsprojekt der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler. Die Forschungslandkarte wird regelmäßig aktualisiert und ergänzt.

 


Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft

Das Wuppertal Institut ist Mitglied der Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft. Die JRF ist die Dachorganisation 15 unabhängiger, gemeinnütziger Forschungsinstitute in Nordrhein-Westfalen. Die Institute betreiben nachhaltige und zukunftsorientierte Forschung für Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Politik.