Diplomatic Obligations Fulfilled, but Political Leadership Lacking

COP23 outcomes and analysis report

Fahnen
  • Press Releases 24.11.2017

Negotiations at the 23rd World Climate Conference over the past two weeks were nothing if not intense. Researchers from the Wuppertal Institute who attended the conference have summarised the key outcomes of the negotiations and will publish an in-depth analysis report in December. Their initial at-a-glance findings show that although COP23 in Bonn fulfilled its diplomatic obligations, it lacked the political leadership that was needed. This puts additional pressure on the agenda for the next, highly important climate change conference in Poland at the end of 2018 – a situation that could make much-needed agreements difficult to reach.

From 6 to 17 November, the 23rd Conference of the Parties to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (COP23) was held in Bonn under the presidency of Fiji. Among the key issues addressed at the conference were defining implementation rules for the Paris Agreement, support for countries in the Global South in dealing with the effects of climate change and preparation of the first global review of climate action in time for COP24 in Katowice, Poland, at the end of next year.

COP23 was naturally overshadowed by the announcement that the US intends to withdraw from the Paris Agreement. The Wuppertal Institute research team closely observed the climate change negotiations during the two-week conference and can now present their initial analysis of the conference outcomes.

Key outcomes of COP23

Although some progress was achieved regarding the rulebook for implementation of the Paris Agreement, no real breakthrough was made. Concrete rules are of key importance when it comes to measuring and reporting countries’ nationally determined contributions (NDCs) – and thus in raising future ambition. With a reference to the upcoming process, the existing text – a long list of uncoordinated items – was simply added as an attachment. "Bonn failed to set the scene for Katowice. A lot of work will need to be done next year to get the text on the implementation rules to the point where it is ready for adoption," explained Professor Manfred Fischedick, Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute, adding that although the focus is on adopting the rulebook, implementation should not be neglected. The rulebook is thus only a precursor for the actual work that needs to be done. If the temperature limits contained in the Paris Agreement are to be maintained, the vast majority of countries must first significantly increase their contributions quickly and then implement the activities involved.

A key driver of raised ambition comes in the form of the first global review of mitigation efforts to be conducted next year. Bonn produced a welcome consensus on the review’s design: not only countries, but also sub-national and non-state stakeholders are to be involved in the facilitative dialogue. "Far more ambitious targets are already being pursued and greater investments are being made in implementation activities at many levels compared to those at the respective national levels," says Fischedick. "Making these transparent has a great knock-on effect."

With Fiji as this year’s COP President, expectations with regard to progress in dealing with loss and damage caused by the effects of climate change that can not be adapted to were especially high. "In Bonn, an ongoing five-year working plan was agreed with the aim of intensifying knowledge transfer," explains Hanna Wang-Helmreich, a research fellow in the Wuppertal Institute’s Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Research Group. "However, the question of financing possible insurance cover against climate change-related loss and damage went unanswered." While the conference highlighted the importance of loss and damage, the hoped-for specifics were not forthcoming. It thus remains at the discretion of each and every country to decide the extent of its efforts to prevent and deal with loss and damage caused by the effects of climate change.

US change of administration leaves leadership vacuum

"Overall, there was no sense of urgency regarding during the negotiations. No-one stepped up to fill the void left by the US after its change of administration," says Wolfgang Obergassel, Project Co-ordinator in the Wuppertal Institute’s Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Research Group, in his critique. Although fears were not confirmed that the US could adopt the role of saboteur under the new administration, the US delegation was extremely small and kept low profile, Obergassel believes that "the change of administration in the US has left a leadership vacuum that was not filled by China or the EU."

"What is probably the most important and at least the most visible outcome of the negotiations occurred outside the formal diplomatic talks," says Professor Hermann E. Ott, Senior Advisor at the Wuppertal Institute. Led by the UK and Canada, some 20 countries and a group of states in Canada and the US formed the Powering Past Coal Alliance. The members of the Alliance declared their intention to phase out their use of coal. "The formation of new smaller pioneer alliances is a key instrument in driving the international negotiations, because the global efforts are built on the consensus principle," says Ott. While the Powering Past Coal Alliance is a loose alliance with no legal basis in international law, it is thinkable that other ‘clubs‘ could be formed around the notion of a decarbonisation alliance for which options of firmer legal foundations could be found.

In-depth analysis report to be published in December

The Wuppertal Institute will publish its in-depth analysis of COP23 in December. The report will take a close look at the various issues addressed at the conference and at other related topics.

 

Press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

 

 

Impressions of the COP23 – Experts of the Wuppertal Institute followed the negotiations during the 23rd UN Climate Change Conference and organised the "NRW Climate Lounge" as well as the conference "Deep Decarbonisation of Materials Processing Industries" together with the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the EnergyAgency.NRW:

Diplomatisches Pflichtprogramm ohne klare politische Führung

Ergebnispräsentation und Analysebericht zur COP23

Fahnen
  • Pressemitteilungen 24.11.2017

In den vergangenen zwei Wochen wurde auf der 23. Weltklimakonferenz intensiv verhandelt. Die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts waren vor Ort und fassen nun die zentralen Ergebnisse der Verhandlungen knapp zusammen. Im Dezember wird dann der ausführliche Analysebericht vorliegen. Ihre erste Schnellanalyse zeigt: Die Bonner Klimakonferenz absolvierte ihr diplomatisches Pflichtprogramm, ließ aber die notwendige politische Führung vermissen. Damit wächst auch das Aufgabenheft der kommenden wichtigen Klimakonferenz Ende 2018 in Polen, was die anstehenden Vereinbarungen erschweren könnte.

Vom 6. bis 17. November 2017 fand in Bonn unter der Präsidentschaft von Fidschi die 23. Konferenz der Vertragsparteien zur Klimarahmenkonvention (Conference of the Parties, kurz COP23) statt. Zu den zentralen Themen gehörten die Entwicklung der Durchführungsbestimmungen des Pariser Klimaabkommens, die Unterstützung der Länder des Globalen Südens beim Umgang mit den Folgen des Klimawandels sowie die Vorbereitung der ersten Bestandsaufnahme der globalen Anstrengungen für die COP24, die Ende des kommenden Jahres im polnischen Katowice stattfinden wird.

Die diesjährige Konferenz wurde zudem überschattet von der Ankündigung der USA, aus dem Pariser Klimaabkommen aussteigen zu wollen. Während den vergangenen zwei Wochen verfolgten die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Wuppertal Instituts intensiv die Verhandlungen der Weltklimakonferenz und legen nun eine erste Analyse der Konferenzergebnisse vor.

Zentrale Ergebnisse der COP23

Die Konferenz brachte zwar Fortschritte bei der Entwicklung der Durchführungsbestimmungen für das Pariser Klimaabkommen, aber noch keinen entscheidenden Durchbruch. Konkrete Bestimmungen sind unter anderem für die Messung und Berichterstattung der national bestimmten Beiträge aller Länder – und damit für zukünftige Ambitionssteigerungen – von hoher Bedeutung. Mit einem Hinweis auf den kommenden Prozess wurde der bisherige Text – eine lange Zusammenstellung von untereinander noch nicht abgestimmten Positionen – lediglich angehängt. "Bonn hat noch keine Steilvorlage für Katowice geliefert. Kommendes Jahr wird noch erhebliche Arbeit zu leisten sein, um den Text über die Durchführungsbestimmungen in eine verabschiedungsfähige Form zu bringen", erklärt Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, Vizepräsident am Wuppertal Institut. Er fügt hinzu, dass neben der Verabschiedung von Bestimmungen auf der anderen Seite die Umsetzung nicht vernachlässigt werden dürfe. Insofern handele es sich nur um einen Vorläufer für die eigentliche Arbeit. Um die Temperaturgrenzen des Pariser Abkommens halten zu können, müssten die allermeisten Staaten ihre Beiträge deutlich verschärfen und dann auch umsetzen.

Ein wesentlicher Treiber dieser Verschärfung soll die erste Bestandsaufnahme der globalen Anstrengungen sein, die es kommendes Jahr geben soll. Zu deren Ausgestaltung wurde in Bonn eine erfreuliche Einigung erzielt: Nun sollen nicht nur die Staaten, sondern auch sub-nationale und nicht-staatliche Akteurinnen und Akteure in den Dialog einbezogen werden. Fischedick ergänzt: "Auf vielen Ebenen werden heute weitaus ambitioniertere Ziele verfolgt und in Umsetzungsmaßnahmen investiert als auf den jeweiligen nationalen Ebenen. Diese transparent zu machen, hat eine sehr hohe Strahlkraft."

Mit Fidschi als diesjährigen COP-Präsident waren die Erwartungen an Fortschritte im Umgang mit den Folgen des Klimawandels, an die keine Anpassung möglich ist ("loss and damage"), besonders hoch. "In Bonn wurde ein fortlaufender Fünf-Jahres-Arbeitsplan beschlossen, der einen intensiveren Wissensaustausch anstrebt, die Frage der Finanzierung eines eventuellen Versicherungsschutzes gegen Klimaschäden blieb hingegen unbeantwortet", erläutert Hanna Wang-Helmreich, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin in der Forschungsgruppe Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut.

Während die Konferenz die Bedeutung von Verlusten und Schäden zwar verdeutlichte, mangelte es an erhofften Konkretisierungen. So ist weiterhin jedem einzelnen Staat überlassen, inwiefern er sich für die Verhinderung von und den Umgang mit Verlusten und Schäden einsetzt.

"US-Regierungswechsel hinterlässt ein Führungsvakuum"

"Insgesamt war in den Verhandlungen wenig von der Dringlichkeit des Themas zu spüren. Niemand nahm das Heft des Handelns in die Hand, das die USA nach dem Regierungswechsel fallen gelassen haben", kritisiert Wolfgang Obergassel, Projektleiter in der Forschungsgruppe Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik. Zwar bewahrheiteten sich die Befürchtungen nicht, die USA könnten unter der neuen Administration zum Saboteur werden, da die US-Delegation extrem klein war und sich sehr zurückhaltend verhielt. "Doch hinterlässt der US-Regierungswechsel ein Führungsvakuum, das weder von der Europäischen Union noch von China gefüllt wurde", sagt Obergassel.

"Das vermutlich wichtigste aber zumindest sichtbarste Ergebnis der Verhandlungen fand denn auch außerhalb der formalen diplomatischen Verhandlungen statt", sagt Prof. Dr. Hermann E. Ott, Senior Advisor am Wuppertal Institut. Angeführt von Großbritannien und Kanada bildeten rund 20 Staaten sowie Bundesstaaten aus Kanada und den USA die sogenannte Powering Past Coal Alliance. Die Mitglieder der Allianz erklärten aus der Kohlenutzung aussteigen zu wollen. "Die Bildung neuer Pionier-Allianzen ist ein wesentliches Instrument, um die vom Konsensprinzip geprägten globalen Verhandlungen voranzubringen", erklärt Hermann Ott. Während die Powering-Past-Coal-Allianz bisher ein loses Bündnis ohne völkerrechtliche Grundlage sei, seien zukünftig auch andere Clubs denkbar, die auf einer Dekarbonisierungs-Allianz beruhen und für die Optionen der festeren rechtlichen Basis gefunden werden können.

Ausführlicher Analysebericht erscheint im Dezember

Im Dezember wird das Wuppertal Institut eine ausführlichere Analyse der COP23 veröffentlichen. Diese Analyse wird detaillierter auf die einzelnen Themen eingehen und noch weitere Themen in den Blick nehmen.

 

Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

 

 

Fotografische Eindrücke der COP23 in Bonn – Expertinnen und Experten des Wuppertal Instituts verfolgten die Verhandlungen während der 23. Weltklimakonferenz und veranstalteten mit dem Land Nordrhein-Westfalen und der EnergieAgentur.NRW gemeinsam die "NRW Climate Lounge" und die Fachkonferenz "Klimaschutz in der Industrie":