Dispute over Growth

Economists present new consensus proposal

analysis
  • Press Releases 31.10.2018

A new report shows: Green growth cannot serve as the sole strategy for environmental policy action – nor can Degrowth. Scientists from the Institute for Ecological Economy Reserach (IÖW), RWI – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research, and the Wuppertal Institute propose a precautionary post-growth position: Greater independence from economic growth would allow for environmental policy development less hindered by reservations about effects on growth. The conference "Challenge of Growth Independence", in Berlin on 5 November 2018, will explore political ramifications.

The future well-being of humankind depends on our ability to adhere to the so-called planetary boundaries – environmental limits beyond which essential earth and ecosystem stabilities may be greatly impaired. The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change's most recent report on the 1.5-degree target reflects the urgency of a corresponding global social transformation. But what will this mean for a wealthy country like Germany? Can its economy continue to grow – or might it even have to shrink? This is the subject of substantial political debate, but so far, there are no widely accepted answers. A study published today by the Federal Environment Agency (UBA) presents a consensus proposal on the controversial issue of economic growth in the sustainability debate.

Overcoming a political standstill

Scientists from the Institute for Ecological Economy Research (IÖW), the RWI – Leibniz Institute for Economic Research, and the Wuppertal Institute for the Environment, Climate and Energy have investigated how a lack of economic growth would affect the stability of important societal systems such as retirement pensions and health insurance – both of which are, so far, strongly dependent on continued economic growth.
"The Enquete Commission on Growth, Prosperity and Quality of Life of the German Bundestag ended in 2013 without achieving any sort of sufficient political impulse or consensus," says IÖW project leader Ulrich Petschow. "So as not to waste valuable time, we therefore focused our attention above all on an analysis to determine those political options for action that do exist. Nothing is more harmful to our planet than a standstill due to political dissent."

Respecting planetary boundaries: Strengthening the precautionary orientation in policy-making

In the debate on economic growth and sustainability, many terms such as Post Growth or Green Economy are being widely circulated; two in particular, Green Growth and Degrowth, are irreconcilable. The joint project team of the three participating research institutes IÖW, RWI, and Wuppertal Institute concludes and is advising policy makers accordingly that none of these positions’ assumptions is sufficiently based on scientific research. In the pursuit of a responsible economic and environmental policy, the authors propose a precautionary approach: The dependence on economic growth must be reduced as far as possible, thus minimizing reservations that have until now often slowed down ambitious environmental policy proposals. The authors present and describe this precautionary post-growth approach in the publication "Social well-being within planetary boundaries."

Three demands with respect to policy

The report makes three requests to policymakers: First, the economic framework conditions must be made more effective by internalising the environmentally harmful effects of production and consumption, particularly through market-based instruments. Secondly, new paths of social development should be explored – through participatory search processes, spaces for experimentation, and new approaches in innovation and research policy. Thirdly, policymakers should make it a central objective to examine how social institutions and processes can become less dependent on growth.

Broadening the debate on growth, linking economic theories

With the results of their new study, the researchers seek to open up the debate on growth to a broad public. In addition, they consider various theoretical approaches and empirical studies, such as those found in mainstream economics as well as heterodox approaches. The Berlin conference Challenge of Growth Independence – Approaches to the Integration of Environmental, Social and Economic Policy, on 5 November 2018, discussed the extent to which the consensus proposal of researchers from the three institutes, who reflect this diversity of perspectives, is sustainable. Stakeholders from politics, business, science, and civil society considered ways of reducing the dependence of important social systems and institutions on growth and the political implications of such measures.

Joint press release of the IÖW, RWI and Wuppertal Institute

Richard Harnisch
Institute for Ecological Economy Research (IÖW)
Phone: +49 30 884 594-16
E-mail: richard.harnisch@ioew.de

Christian Hasken
Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, ENergie gGmbH
VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, President
Phone: +49 202 2492-187
E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

Streitpunkt Wachstum

Wirtschaftsforscherinnen und -forscher legen neuen Konsensvorschlag vor

Analyse
  • Pressemitteilungen 31.10.2018

Ein neues Gutachten zeigt: Green Growth reicht nicht als alleinige Strategie für umweltpolitisches Handeln – das Konzept Degrowth ebenso wenig. Daher schlagen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung (IÖW), RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung und des Wuppertal Instituts in ihrer neuen Studie eine sogenannte "vorsorgeorientierte Postwachstumsposition" vor. Die Konferenz "Herausforderungen Wachstumsunabhängigkeit" lotet zu diesem Zweck am 5. November 2018 in Berlin politische Implikationen aus.

Das Wohlergehen weltweit hängt davon ab, ob es gelingt, die ökologischen Grenzen des Planeten einzuhalten. Der jüngste Bericht des Weltklimarats IPCC zum 1,5-Grad-Ziel zeigt die Dringlichkeit einer globalen gesellschaftlichen Transformation. Was folgt daraus für eine wohlhabende Volkswirtschaft wie Deutschland? Kann sie weiterhin wachsen – oder muss sie gar eher schrumpfen? Hierüber wird politisch gestritten, eine breit akzeptierte Antwort gibt es bislang nicht. Eine heute vom Umweltbundesamt (UBA) veröffentlichte Studie präsentiert nun einen Konsensvorschlag zum Streitpunkt "Wachstum" in der Nachhaltigkeitsdebatte.

Politischen Stillstand überwinden

Wissenschaftler des Instituts für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung (IÖW), des RWI – Leibniz-Institut für Wirtschaftsforschung und des Wuppertal Instituts haben untersucht, wie sich ausbleibendes Wirtschaftswachstum auf die Stabilität wichtiger gesellschaftlicher Systeme wie etwa der Renten- und Krankenversicherung, die bislang stark wachstumsabhängig sind, auswirken würde.

"Die Enquete-Kommission Wachstum, Wohlstand, Lebensqualität des Deutschen Bundestages endete im Jahr 2013, ohne dass sie hinreichende politische Impulse auslösen konnte", sagt Projektleiter Ulrich Petschow vom IÖW. "Daher haben wir vor allem analysiert, welche politischen Handlungsoptionen es gibt, damit wertvolle Zeit nicht weiter ungenutzt verstreicht. Denn für unseren Planeten ist nichts schädlicher als Stillstand aufgrund politischer Meinungsverschiedenheiten."

Planetare Grenzen einhalten: Vorsorgeorientierung in der Politik stärken

In der Debatte um Wirtschaftswachstum und Nachhaltigkeit kursieren viele Begriffe wie etwa Postwachstum oder Green Economy. Besonders die beiden Positionen Green Growth und Degrowth stehen sich unversöhnlich gegenüber. Das gemeinsame Projektteam der drei Forschungsinstitute IÖW, RWI und Wuppertal Institut rät der Politik nun ein "weder noch": Keine dieser Positionen beruhe auf Annahmen, die sich wissenschaftlich hinreichend begründen lassen. Um dennoch eine verantwortliche Wirtschafts- und Umweltpolitik gestalten zu können, schlagen die Autoren ein vorsorgeorientiertes Vorgehen vor: Wachstumsabhängigkeit müsse möglichst gemindert und so der Wachstumsvorbehalt abgeschwächt werden, der ambitionierte umweltpolitische Vorschläge bisher oft ausbremst. Diesen Ansatz einer "vorsorgeorientierten Postwachstumsposition" stellen die Wissenschaftlerinnen und WIssenschaftller in der Publikation "Gesellschaftliches Wohlergehen innerhalb planetarer Grenzen" vor.

Drei Forderungen an die Politik

Das Gutachten stellt drei Forderungen an die Politik: Erstens müssen die ökonomischen Rahmenbedingungen wirksamer gestaltet werden, indem umweltschädliche Effekte von Produktion und Konsum insbesondere durch marktbasierte Instrumente internalisiert werden. Zweitens gilt es, neue Pfade der gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung auszuloten – über partizipative Suchprozesse, Experimentierräume und neue innovations- und forschungspolitische Ansätze. Und drittens sollte es sich die Politik zu einem zentralen Ziel machen, zu prüfen, wie gesellschaftliche Institutionen und Prozesse unabhängiger vom Wachstum werden können.

Wachstumsdebatte in die Breite tragen, ökonomische Theorien verbinden

Mit ihrer Studie wollen die Autorinnen und Autoren die Wachstumsdebatte für ein breites Publikum zugänglich machen. Zudem stellen sie Bezüge zu verschiedenen theoretischen Ansätzen und empirischen Studien her, wie sie in der Mainstream-Ökonomik und in heterodoxen Ansätzen zu finden sind. Inwieweit der Konsensvorschlag der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler aus IÖW, RWI und Wuppertal Institut, die auch diese Vielfalt an Perspektiven repräsentieren, tragfähig ist, soll die Konferenz "Herausforderung Wachstumsunabhängigkeit – Ansätze zur Integration von Umwelt-, Sozial- und Wirtschaftspolitik" am 5. November 2018 in Berlin zeigen. Akteure aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft diskutieren über eine stärkere Wachstumsunabhängigkeit wichtiger gesellschaftlicher Systeme und Institutionen und loten politische Implikationen aus.

Gemeinsame Pressemitteilung des IÖW, RWI und Wuppertal Instituts

Richard Harnisch
Institut für ökologische Wirtschaftsforschung (IÖW)
Tel.: +49 30 884 594-16
E-Mail: richard.harnisch@ioew.de 

Christin Hasken
Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH
VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident
Tel.: +49 202 2492-187
E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org