Solar Decathlon: International Competition Comes to Wuppertal

Student competition for innovative buildings to be held in Germany for the first time

  • Press Releases 29.01.2019
The Energy Endeavour Foundation and the project team
The Energy Endeavour Foundation and the project team met on 18 January 2019 at Café Blo in Mirker Quartier, Wuppertal. Source: Wolf Sondermann

At the Energiewendebauen Congress in Berlin on 29 January 2019, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy Thomas Bareiß announced that the Solar Decathlon Europe 2021 will take place in Germany for the first time – specifically, in Wuppertal. In another first, the competition will focus on the energy transition and climate protection in the heart of an urban district. The application stage for university teams starts in March.

Universities from all over the world, and their dedicated students in particular, have been taking part in the Solar Decathlon energy-efficient buildings competition for many years. Launched in the USA in 2002, the Solar Decathlon has now taken place 13 times around the globe, most recently in Dubai in November of last year. German universities have also successfully participated on several occasions. Since 2010, the European offshoot of the competition has focused on solar-powered "energy-plus" buildings. The Solar Decathlon Europe last took place in France in 2014; this year it is coming to Hungary.

Germany has long been committed to developing the content of the competition format further and is also leading the Competition and Living Lab Platform working group within the International Energy Agency (IEA). Against this background, the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) last year launched an ideas competition within its EnEff.Gebäude.2050 funding initiative and subsequently received proposals for an energy-efficient buildings competition in Germany. The team comprising the University of Wuppertal (BUW), the City of Wuppertal, the Wuppertal Institute and the Utopiastadt ("Utopia City") initiative were awarded first place with their proposal Solar Decathlon goes Urban. This was the basis for the German bid to host the next Solar Decathlon within the European Call for Cities announced by the Energy Endeavour Foundation.

Now the result is official: in 2021, the Solar Decathlon Europe will take place in Germany for the first time – specifically, at the Utopiastadt Campus in central Wuppertal's Mirke district.

The Solar Decathlon goes Urban concept

Renovate, extend, build upwards and close gaps: these are the central architectural tasks of the energy transition in the neighbourhood. Resource efficiency, sufficiency, climate protection and recycling-friendly construction must also be taken into account. In addition to these structural and architectural challenges, the urban Solar Decathlon will focus specifically on the integrated and participatory development of the district and its buildings. The competition concept is part of a broad-based real-world laboratory in which various scientific and practical groups of stakeholders develop the criteria for the competition on an equal footing and put ideas for greater climate protection into practice. Based on real examples of renovation projects in the neighbourhood, different construction tasks in the existing building stock will be planned, implemented and monitored by scientists – from filling in gaps to extending upwards. In addition, 18 model projects are to be realised on the Utopiastadt Campus during the competition – including buildings that will be used in the longer term as part of one of North Rhine-Westphalia's Living Labs for social research.
"The direction taken by the Solar Decathlon is another exciting milestone in the development of Wuppertal into a leading urban testing location for sustainable future designs," says Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President of the Wuppertal Institute.

Wuppertal's up-and-coming Mirke district, with its lively and multicultural character and around 800 buildings, will provide the context for the challenge, and the open space within the Utopiastadt Campus will serve as its venue. The Wilhelmine-style neighbourhood is already known for exciting urban developments and has developed into a real-world laboratory with a reach that extends beyond the region. The creative cluster of the Utopiastadt initiative is based there, and an active civil society operates via Forum:Mirke. The University of Wuppertal, the Wuppertal Institute and the joint Centre for Transformation Research and Sustainability (TransZent) have been active in the area for a number of years by means of various participative and collaborative research formats and are very familiar with the local situation.

Applications open in March

The real-world solutions should make a key contribution on the journey to becoming a resource-efficient, climate-neutral city. This first Urban Solar Decathlon aims to encourage students to put their creative ideas into practice and to shape this journey in cooperation with industry and local stakeholder groups.

The international call for applications from university teams will be published in March 2019. The student teams will then have until the autumn to apply.

 

Press release

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, President

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Printable pictures

Kick-off meeting
At the start of the project on 18 January 2019, the Energy Endeavour Foundation visited the Café Blo in the Mirker Quartier in Wuppertal (from left to right): Emy Ritt (Chairman of the jury of the Call for Cities), Claudio Montero Santos (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Voss (University of Wuppertal), Louise Holloway (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Andreas Mucke (Lord Mayor of Wuppertal), Dr. Daniel Lorberg (TransZent, University of Wuppertal), Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind (President of the Wuppertal Institute), Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch (University of Wuppertal). Source: Wolf Sondermann

Energy Endeavour Foundation and project participants
From the left: Dr. Justus von Geibler (Wuppertal Institute), Dr.-Ing. Katharina Simon (University of Wuppertal), David Becher (Utopiastadt Förderverein), Christian Popien (Bahnhof Blo), Emy Ritt (Chairman of the Jury of the Call for Cities), (front:) Mira Heinze (Project Management Jülich), (back:) Arndt Wilmanns (Bahnhof Blo), Markus Riedel (Utopiastadt Förderverein), Andreas Mucke (Lord Mayor of Wuppertal), Louise Holloway (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch (University of Wuppertal), Prof. Dr.-Karsten Voss (University of Wuppertal), Dr. Daniel Lorberg (TransZent, University of Wuppertal), Ulrich Rieke (Wuppertaler Stadtwerke), Matthias Wanner (Wuppertal Institute and TransZent), Prof. Dr.-Ing.Felix Huber (University of Wuppertal), Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind (President of the Wuppertal Institute), Claudio Montero Santos (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Frank Meyer (City of Wuppertal, Department of Urban Development, Construction, Transport and Environment). Source: Wolf Sondermann

Wuppertal urban quarter
During their visit, the jury and project participants assessed the urban quarter in Wuppertal (from left to right): Emy Ritt (Chairman of the jury "Call for Cities"), Prof. Dr. Karsten Voss (University of Wuppertal), Mira Heinze (Project Management Jülich), Dr. Daniel Lorberg (TransZent and University of Wuppertal), Dr. Katharina Simon (University of Wuppertal), Claudio Montero Santos (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Matthias Wanner (Wuppertal Institute and TransZent). Source: Wolf Sondermann

Energy Endeavour Foundation
The jury of the Energy Endeavour Foundation met on 18 January 2019 with project participants for the final plausibility check at the Wuppertal Institute. Source: Wuppertal Institute

Urban Solar Decathlon
Timeline of the Urban Solar Decathlon. Source: Bärbel Offergeld

Solar Decathlon: Internationaler Wettbewerb kommt nach Wuppertal

Studentischer Innovationswettbewerb für Gebäude erstmals in Deutschland

Urbanes Wohnen
  • Pressemitteilungen 29.01.2019
Energy Endeavour Foundation und die Projektbeteiligten
Die Energy Endeavour Foundation und die Projektbeteiligten trafen sich am 18. Januar 2019 im Café Blo im Wuppertaler Mirker Quartier. Quelle: Wolf Sondermann

Thomas Bareiß, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär beim Bundesminister für Wirtschaft und Energie, verkündete am 29. Januar 2019 beim Kongress ENERGIEWENDEBAUEN in Berlin, dass der "Solar Decathlon Europe" 2021 erstmalig in Deutschland stattfinden wird – und zwar in Wuppertal. Erstmals stehen bei dem solaren Zehnkampf Energiewende und Klimaschutz mitten in einem städtischen Quartier im Fokus. Die Bewerbungsphase für die Hochschulteams startet im März.

Hochschulen aus der ganzen Welt und besonders deren engagierte Studierende beteiligen sich seit Jahren beim Gebäude-Energiewettbewerb Solar Decathlon. Nach seinem Start in den USA 2002 fand der solare Zehnkampf mittlerweile 13 Mal rund um den Globus statt, zuletzt in Dubai im November vergangenen Jahres. Auch deutsche Hochschulen nahmen bereits mehrfach erfolgreich teil. Seit 2010 stehen beim auf Europa begrenzten Ableger solare Plusenergiehäuser im Fokus des Wettbewerbs. Der "Solar Decathlon Europe" fand zuletzt 2014 in Frankreich statt, in diesem Jahr kommt er nach Ungarn.

Deutschland setzt sich seit langem für eine inhaltliche Weiterentwicklung des Wettbewerbsformats ein und leitet dazu auch die Arbeitsgruppe "Competition and Living Lab Platform" im Rahmen der Internationalen Energie Agentur (IEA). Vor diesem Hintergrund hat das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) im vergangenen Jahr einen Ideenwettbewerb innerhalb seiner Förderinitiative "EnEff.Gebäude.2050" ausgelobt und erhielt daraufhin Vorschläge für einen Gebäude-Energiewettbewerb in Deutschland. Das Team mit der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal (BUW), der Stadt Wuppertal, dem Wuppertal Institut, der Initiative Utopiastadt und der Neuen Effizienz wurde dabei mit seinem Vorschlag "Solar Decathlon goes Urban" mit dem ersten Platz ausgezeichnet. Dies war die Grundlage für die deutsche Bewerbung als Austragungsort des nächsten Solar Decathlon beim europäischen "Call for Cities" der Energy Endeavour Foundation.

Jetzt liegt das Ergebnis vor: Im Jahr 2021 findet der "Solar Decathlon Europe" erstmals in Deutschland statt – und zwar mitten in Wuppertal, im Mirker Quartier auf dem Utopiastadt-Campus.

Die Idee "Solar Decathlon goes Urban"

Umbauen, anbauen, aufstocken und Baulücken schließen: Das sind die zentralen architektonischen Aufgaben der Energiewende im Quartier. Dabei sollen auch Ressourceneffizienz, Suffizienz, Klimaschutz und recyclinggerechtes Bauen berücksichtigt werden. Neben diesen baulich-technischen und architektonischen Herausforderungen setzt der urbane Solar Decathlon gezielt auf eine integrierte und partizipative Quartiers- und Gebäudeentwicklung. Das Wettbewerbskonzept ist Teil eines breit angelegten Reallabors, in dem verschiedene wissenschaftliche und praxisnahe Akteursgruppen auf Augenhöhe die Kriterien für den Wettbewerb entwickeln und Ideen für mehr Klimaschutz auf die Straße bringen. Basierend auf realen Sanierungsbeispielen im Quartier sollen unterschiedliche Bauaufgaben im Bestand – von der Baulücke bis zur Aufstockung – geplant, umgesetzt und wissenschaftlich begleitet werden. Daneben sollen während des Wettbewerbs 18 Demonstrationsobjekte auf dem Utopiastadt Campus realisiert werden – darunter auch Gebäude, die längerfristig im Rahmen eines sozio-technischen Living Lab NRWs genutzt werden sollen.  
"Die Ausrichtung des Solar Decathlon ist ein weiterer schöner Meilenstein in der Entwicklung Wuppertals zu einem der führenden urbanen Erprobungsräume für nachhaltige Zukunftsentwürfe", sagt Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts.

Das aufstrebende Mirker Quartier in Wuppertal mit seinem lebendigen und multikulturellen Charakter und seinen rund 800 Gebäuden bildet den Kontext der Aufgabe und dient mit der Freifläche des Utopiastadt Campus als Austragungsort. Das gründerzeitlich geprägte Quartier steht schon heute für spannende urbane Entwicklungen und hat sich zu einem Reallabor mit überregionaler Strahlkraft entwickelt. Die Initiative "Utopiastadt" als kreatives Cluster ist dort beheimatet und über das Forum:Mirke agiert eine aktive Zivilgesellschaft. Die Bergische Universität Wuppertal, das Wuppertal Institut und das gemeinsame Zentrum für Transformationsforschung und Nachhaltigkeit sind seit einigen Jahren über verschiedene partizipative und kollaborative Forschungsformate im Quartier aktiv und bestens mit den Gegebenheiten vor Ort vertraut.

Bewerbung ab März möglich

Die lebensnahen Lösungen sollen einen zentralen Beitrag auf dem Weg zur ressourceneffizienten, klimaneutralen Stadt leisten. Dieser erste "Urban Solar Decathlon" ermuntert Studierende, ihre kreativen Ideen in die Praxis umzusetzen und diesen Weg gemeinsam mit der Industrie und lokalen Akteursgruppen zu gestalten.
Im März 2019 wird der internationale Aufruf zur Bewerbung von Hochschulteams veröffentlicht. Die studentischen Teams können sich dann bis Herbst bewerben. Vor dem Jahreswechsel 2020 stehen die Teams fest, die im September 2021 im Finale antreten. Sie haben dann fast zwei Jahre Zeit, ihre Häuser zu entwerfen, zu planen und in Wuppertal aufzubauen.


Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Präsident

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org


Pressebilder

Auftakttreffen
Die Energy Endeavour Foundation besuchte beim Projektauftakt am 18. Januar 2019 unter anderem das Café Blo im Wuppertaler Mirker Quartier (v. l. n. r.): Emy Ritt (Jury-Vorsitzende des Call for Cities), Claudio Montero Santos (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Voss (Bergische Universität Wuppertal), Louise Holloway (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Andreas Mucke (Oberbürgermeister von Wuppertal), Dr. Daniel Lorberg (TransZent, Bergische Universität Wuppertal), Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind (Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts), Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch (Rektor der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal). Quelle: Wolf Sondermann

Energy Endeavour Foundation und die Projektbeteiligten
Von links: Dr. Justus von Geibler (Wuppertal Institut), Dr.-Ing. Katharina Simon (Bergische Universität Wuppertal), David Becher (Utopiastadt Förderverein), Christian Popien (Bahnhof Blo), Emy Ritt (Jury-Vorsitzende des Call for Cities), (vorne:) Mira Heinze (Projektträger Jülich), (hinten:) Arndt Wilmanns (Bahnhof Blo), Markus Riedel (Utopiastadt Förderverein), Andreas Mucke (Oberbürgermeister von Wuppertal), Louise Holloway (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Prof. Dr. Lambert Koch (Rektor der Bergischen Universität Wuppertal), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Karsten Voss (Bergische Universität Wuppertal), Dr. Daniel Lorberg (TransZent, Bergische Universität Wuppertal), Ulrich Rieke (Wuppertaler Stadtwerke), Matthias Wanner (Wuppertal Institut und TransZent), Prof. Dr.-Ing. Felix Huber (Bergische Universität Wuppertal), Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind (Präsident des Wuppertal Instituts), Claudio Montero Santos (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Frank Meyer (Dezernent für Stadtentwicklung, Bauen, Verkehr und Umwelt). Quelle: Wolf Sondermann

Begutachtung des Wuppertaler Quartiers
Die Jury und Projektbeteiligten begutachteten während ihres Besuchs das städtische Quartier in Wuppertal (v. l. n. r.): Emy Ritt (Jury-Vorsitzende des Call for Cities), Prof. Dr. Karsten Voss (BUW), Mira Heinze (Projektträger Jülich), Dr. Daniel Lorberg (TransZent und BUW), Dr. Katharina Simon (BUW), Claudio Montero Santos (Energy Endeavour Foundation), Matthias Wanner (Wuppertal Institut und TransZent). Quelle: Wolf Sondermann

Energy Endeavour Foundation
Die Jury der Energy Endeavour Foundation traf sich am 18. Januar 2019 mit Projektbeteiligten zum finalen Plausibilitätscheck am Wuppertal Institut. Quelle: Wuppertal Institut

Urban Solar Decathlon
Zeitlicher Ablauf des Urban Solar Decathlon. Quelle: Bärbel Offergeld