Preventing Plastic Waste

New waste report lists measures to avoid plastic waste

Plastic waste
  • News 24.06.2019

Compared with 2007, the average plastic packaging waste generation per capita in the European Union (EU) in 2016 increased by more than six per cent. Important drivers of packaging waste have been an increasing share of convenience food and food to go, smaller production units in the food sector and the booming and especially waste intensive online shopping sector. Therefore, the EU and its member states have started to develop stricter and more binding waste prevention strategies, reflected inter alia in an increasing share of regulatory and market-based instruments.

Based on an analysis of ongoing waste prevention programmes in 27 EU countries plus Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey, comprising 37 national and regional waste prevention programmes by the end of 2018, the authors identified 173 measures to prevent plastic waste that are either implemented or planned to be implemented. The authors of the report are Dr. Henning Wilts, Director of the Circular Economy Division at the Wuppertal Institute, and Ioannis Bakas from the European Environment Agency (EEA), Dirk Nelen, Kévin Le Blevennec (VITO), Ulrike Meinel, Bettina Bahn-Walkowiak (Divison Circular Economy at the Wuppertal Institute), Mona Arnold (VTT) (all European Topic Centre on Waste and Materials in a Green Economy, ETC/WMGE for short), Lars Fogh Mortensen, Almut Reichel, Daniel Montalvo (EEA). The report of the EEA and the ETC/WMGE has been compiled in cooperation with the European Environment Information and Observation Networt (Eionet) countries.

The successful example of quantified reduction targets for plastic bags and single-use plastics and the wide range of innovative approaches to achieve these targets can be an inspiration for future activities. However, the analysis of the activities also shows that for most product groups there is a lack of clear and common targets and that the level of activity and ambitions vary significantly between countries. In addition, given the wide range of applications of plastics and their specific functionality, prevention policies must carefully consider unintended side effects and trade-offs.

In upcoming (then biennially) waste prevention reports, the EEA will not only report on implemented measures but also assess the evolution as regards the waste prevention for each Member State and for the Union as a whole.

Plastikabfälle vermeiden

Neuer Report zu Kunststoffabfällen in europäischen Ländern

Plastikabfall
  • News 24.06.2019

Im Jahr 2016 stieg die durchschnittliche Abfallmenge von Plastikverpackungen pro Kopf in der Europäischen Union (EU) im Vergleich zu 2007 um mehr als sechs Prozent. Gründe für Verpackungsabfälle sind ein steigender Anteil an "Convenience Food" und "Food to Go", kleinere Produktionseinheiten im Lebensmittelsektor und der boomende und besonders abfallintensive Online-Shopping-Sektor. Die EU und ihre Mitgliedstaaten haben daher begonnen, strengere und verbindlichere Strategien zu entwickeln, um Abfall zu vermeiden. Dies spiegelt sich unter anderem in einem steigenden Anteil an regulativen und marktwirtschaftlichen Instrumenten wider. Ausgehend von einer Untersuchung der laufenden Programme zur Abfallvermeidung in 27 EU-Ländern sowie in Island, Norwegen, der Schweiz und der Türkei identifiziert der Report "Preventing plastic waste in Europe" 173 Maßnahmen, wie europäische Länder Kunststoffabfälle vermeiden können.

Die Autorinnen und Autoren des Reports sind Dr. Henning Wilts, Leiter der Abteilung Kreislaufwirtschaft am Wuppertal Institut, Ioannis Bakas (Europäische Umweltagentur) sowie Dirk Nelen, Kévin Le Blevennec (VITO), Ulrike Meinel, Bettina Bahn-Walkowiak (Wuppertal Institut), Mona Arnold (VTT) – alle im European Topic Centre on Waste and Materials in a Green Economy (ETC/WMGE) – sowie Lars Fogh Mortensen, Almut Reichel und Daniel Montalvo von der Europäischen Umweltagentur. Der Abfallvermeidungsreport der Europäischen Umweltagentur und des ETC/WMGE entstand in Zusammenarbeit mit dem European Environment Information and Observation Network (Eionet).
Ein rrfolgreiches Beispielist unter anderem die Reduktion von Plastiktüten und Einweg-Kunststoffen. Innovative Ansätze zur Erreichung dieser Ziele können eine Inspiration für zukünftige Aktivitäten sein. Ihre Untersuchung zeigt jedoch, dass für die meisten Produktgruppen klare und gemeinsame Ziele fehlen und dass sich das Aktivitätsniveau und die Ambitionen zwischen den Ländern deutlich unterscheiden. Angesichts des breiten Anwendungsspektrums von Kunststoffen und ihrer spezifischen Funktionalität müssen die Präventionspolitiken zudem unbeabsichtigte Nebenwirkungen und Kompromisse sorgfältig berücksichtigen.

In den kommenden, zweijährlichen Berichten zur Abfallvermeidung wird die Europäischen Umweltagentur über die durchgeführten Maßnahmen berichten und auch die Fortschritte zur Abfallvermeidung für jeden Mitgliedstaat und für die Union insgesamt bewerten.