Steel, Cement, Chemicals: How Industry Heavyweights Aim to Become Climate Friendly

Wuppertal Institute and Clean Energy Wire organise research tour for journalists from all over the world

Steel industry
  • News 26.09.2019

Within the frame of the research project Climate-KIC Re-Industrialise, the Wuppertal Institute worked together with Clean Energy Wire in the organisation of a three-day research tour for international journalists looking into decarbonisation pathways for Europe's top-emitting industries.

Fifteen international journalists took part in the research tour, which started out in Düsseldorf on Monday, 16 September. Vice-President of the Wuppertal Institute Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick rang in the research tour with a presentation about decarbonising heavy industry. This was followed by a talk from Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister of Economic Affairs, Digitisation, Innovation and Energy of the State of North-Rhine Westphalia about the risks and opportunities of tackling industrial emissions.
Over the next couple of days, the tour included stops at Heidelberg Cement in Lixhe (Belgium), chemicals producer BASF in Ludwigshafen, the German Chemical Industry Association (VCI) in Frankfurt am Main, the Fraunhofer Institute for Wood Research in Braunschweig, and steelmaker Salzgitter AG in Salzgitter.

On the tour, journalists were able to examine how various technologies can contribute to extensive reductions in industrial greenhouse gas emissions and learn about the market conditions and political tools that will be required to develop the technologies and business models needed in the long term to ensure the transition to climate neutrality in today’s most emission-intensive industries.

Participants got a chance to visit a range of industrial facilities and innovation project sites (e.g. Heidelberg Cement's LEILAC carbon capture pilot plant and Salzgitter's SALCOS project for low-carbon steelmaking) and discuss with leading experts, policymakers, industry and trade union representatives. The tour was accompanied by experts from the Wuppertal Institute, to provide a research perspective and engage with the journalists along the way.

Stahl, Zement, Chemie: Die Klimaziele der Grundstoffindustrien

Wuppertal Institut und Clean Energy Wire veranstalten Recherchereise für JournalistInnen aus aller Welt

Stahlindustrie
  • News 26.09.2019

In Kooperation mit Clean Energy Wire und im Rahmen des Forschungsprojektes Climate-KIC Re-Industrialise beteiligte sich das Wuppertal Institut an der Organisation und Durchführung einer dreitägigen Recherchereise für Journalistinnen und Journalisten zum Thema Dekarbonisierungspfade für energieintensive Industrien.

An der Recherchetour nahmen fünfzehn internationale Journalistinnen und Journalisten teil. Der Vizepräsident des Wuppertal Instituts, Prof. Dr. Manfred Fischedick, läutete die Forschungstour am Montag, 16. September, in Düsseldorf mit einer Präsentation zur Dekarbonisierung der Schwerindustrie ein. Es folgte ein Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Andreas Pinkwart, Minister für Wirtschaft, Innovation, Digitalisierung und Energie des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen über die Chancen und Risiken der Reduktion von Industrieemissionen.
In den nächsten Tagen machten die Reisenden Halt bei Heidelberg Cement in Lixhe (Belgien), dem Chemieunternehmen BASF in Ludwigshafen, dem Verband der Chemischen Industrie (VCI) in Frankfurt am Main, dem Fraunhofer-Institut für Holzforschung in Braunschweig und dem Stahlhersteller Salzgitter AG in Salzgitter.

Im Laufe der Tour lernten die Journalistinnen und Journalisten, wie unterschiedliche Technologien zu einer weitreichenden Reduzierung der industriellen Treibhausgasemissionen beitragen können und welcher Marktbedingungen und politischer Instrumente es bedarf, um solche Technologien und neue Geschäftsmodelle zu entwickeln und so den langfristigen Übergang zur Klimaneutralität sicherzustellen.

Die Teilnehmenden hatten die Möglichkeit, eine Reihe von Industrieanlagen und Innovationsprojekten zu besuchen (beispielsweise die LEILAC Carbon-Capture-Pilotanlage von Heidelberg Cement und das SALCOS-Projekt von Salzgitter zur CO2-armen Stahlerzeugung) und mit führenden Expertinnen und Experten, Politikerinnen und Politikern sowie Industrie- und Gewerkschaftsvertreterinnen und -vertretern zu diskutieren. Die Reise wurde von Forscherinnen und Forschern des Wuppertal Instituts begleitet, um die wissenschaftliche Perspektive in den Austausch mit den Journalistinnen und Journalisten einzubringen.