Analysis of Small Wind Energy Systems

Article on electrification projects published

Small wind energy system
  • News 10.12.2019

Worldwide more than 850 million people have no access to electricity. Decentralised renewable energies are playing an increasingly important role in tackling this problem. In this context off-grid small wind systems represent a solution to expand electricity access.

The article "Rural electrification with household wind systems in remote high wind regions" by Philipp Schaube (PhD student at the Wuppertal Institute) as well as the author Jon Leary and Luciana Clementi compares based on field studies and expert workshops two electrification programmes. Often the small wind turbines installed in the Argentinean region of Patagonia and the Falkland Islands/Islas Malvinas are not connected to a fixed power grid in affected households for energy generation due to long spatial distances. Best prerequisites: the powerful winds that whip around the Southern Ocean create some of the most favourable conditions for wind power generation anywhere in the world. Despite comparable environmental conditions and local livelihoods, the effects of the electrification programmes are very different, according to one result of the study.

The team of authors identifies critical success factors and gives recommendations for action based on small wind turbines for future electrification initiatives. Important factors according to the article are constant project support, investment in robust equipment and the creation of effective feedback loops. Furthermore, the authors recommend that users should be empowered to take on as much responsibility for maintenance as possible by integrating maintenance practices with local culture and ensuring the support of an effective decentralised maintenance network.

The article was published in "Energy for Sustainable Development" (Science Direct, Volume 52, October 2019) and is available free of charge under the link below.

Analyse von Kleinwindenergieanlagen

Artikel zu Elektrifizierungsprojekten erschienen

Kleinwindenergieanlage
  • News 10.12.2019

Weltweit haben mehr als 850 Millionen Menschen keinen Zugang zu Elektrizität. Um diesen Missstand zu bewältigen, spielen dezentrale erneuerbare Energien eine immer wichtigere Rolle. Insbesondere Kleinwindkraftanlagen können in diesem Zusammenhang eine effektive Lösung sein.

Der Artikel "Rural electrification with household wind systems in remote high wind regions" von Philipp Schaube, Doktorand am Wuppertal Institut, sowie dem Autor Jon Leary und der Autorin Luciana Clementi, vergleicht basierend auf Feldstudien und Expertenworkshops zwei Elektrifizierungsprogramme miteinander. Die in der argentinischen Region Patagonien und den Falklandinseln/Islas Malvinas installierten Kleinwindenergieanlagen werden bei den betroffenen Haushalten zur Energiegewinnung genutzt, da sie wegen großer räumlicher Distanzen nicht an das Stromnetz angeschlossen sind. Geografisch gibt es dort allerdings beste Voraussetzungen: Rund um das Südpolarmeer herrschen starke Winde, daher eignen sich diese Gegenden für Windenergieanlagen besonders. Trotz vergleichbarer Umweltbedingungen und lokaler Lebensgrundlage sind die Auswirkungen der Elektrifizierungsprogramme aber sehr unterschiedlich, so ein Ergebnis der Untersuchung.

Das Autorenteam identifiziert kritische Erfolgsfaktoren und gibt Handlungsempfehlungen für zukünftige Elektrifizierungsinitiativen. Wichtige Faktoren sind dem Artikel zufolge eine konstante Projektunterstützung, die Investition in robustes Equipment und die Schaffung von effektiven Feedbackprozessen. Das Autorenteam empfiehlt darüber hinaus, dass den Anlagen-Nutzenden bei Instandhaltungsprozessen eine zentrale Rolle zukommt und diese durch die Entwicklung eines effektiven Netzwerks unterstützt werden.

Der Artikel ist in "Energy for Sustainable Development" (Science Direct, Volume 52, Oktober 2019) erschienen und im nachfolgenden Link kostenfrei erhältlich.