Wuppertal Institute in the Top Ten in International Think Tank Comparison

2019 global think tank rankings published

Analysis
  • Press Releases 31.01.2020

For the third time, the Wuppertal Institute has achieved a place in the top ten in the University of Pennsylvania's 2019 Global Go To Think Tank Index. In the Environment Policy category, the Wuppertal Institute has been ranked ninth, making it one of the world's most prestigious research and consultancy institutes.

Every year, the University of Pennsylvania publishes a report in which it selects the best think tanks. The annual Global Go To Think Tank Index Report by the Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) examines the role played by political research institutes in governments and civil societies around the world. This year, a total of more than 1,700 political decision makers, journalists and academics as well as public and private sponsors participated in the survey in their capacity as experts in their fields.

The Wuppertal Institute was voted into the top ten again. This makes the institute one of the world’s leading international think tanks in the Top Environment Policy Think Tanks category. Professor Manfred Fischedick, Scientific Managing Director of the Wuppertal Institute, says: "We are very pleased that the voice of the Wuppertal Institute is also heard internationally and thus the work and high commitment of the Institute's scientists is honoured. As many of the ecological challenges, such as climate protection in particular, can only be solved on a global level. It is of utmost importance to us to prepare scientific findings in such a way that they concretely show options for action that can then be taken up worldwide".

2019 Think Tank Index

Based at the University of Pennsylvania, the TTCSP serves to enhance the profile, capacity and achievements of think tanks at international, national and regional levels. Part of this mission involves the annual publication of the Think Tank Index, which this year is based on the analysis of more than 4,000 contributions from universities, media representatives, politicians and think tank staff.

Think tank institutes in the Johannes Rau Research Association

Two further organisations belonging to the Johannes Rau Research Association (JRF), of which the Wuppertal Institute is also a member, are represented in the global think tank index: the German Development Institute (DIE) and the Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC). Further information about the ranking is available via the following link.

 

Press release

Wuppertal Institute

Responsible for content: Professor Uwe Schneidewind, Scientific Managing Director

Contact: Christin Hasken, Head of Communications and Public Relations

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108
E-mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org

Wuppertal Institut erneut unter den Top Ten im weltweiten Think-Tank-Vergleich

Globales Think-Tank-Ranking 2019 veröffentlicht

Analyse
  • Pressemitteilungen 31.01.2020

Das Wuppertal Institut erreichte beim "Global Go To Think Tank-Ranking 2019" der University of Pennsylvania zum dritten Mal in Folge einen Top-Ten-Platz und bestätigt damit die gute Position des Vorjahresrankings. In dem globalen Ranking von Denkfabriken belegt das Wuppertal Institut Platz 9 in der Kategorie Umweltpolitik. Damit zählt es zu den renommiertesten Forschungs- und Beratungsinstituten weltweit.

Die University of Pennsylvania veröffentlicht jedes Jahr einen Report, in dem sie die besten Denkfabriken – sogenannte Think Tanks – kürt. Der alljährliche "Global Go To Think Tank Index Report" des Think Tanks and Civil Societies Program (TTCSP) erforscht, welche Rolle Politikforschungsinstitute in Regierungen und Zivilgesellschaften weltweit spielen. Insgesamt nahmen in diesem Jahr weltweit über 1.700 politische Entscheidungsträgerinnen und -träger, Journalistinnen und Journalisten, Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler sowie öffentliche und private Geldgeber als Expertinnen und Experten an der Befragung teil.

Das Wuppertal Institut wurde erneut in die Top Ten gewählt. Damit zählt das Institut zu den weltweit führenden internationalen Think Tanks der Kategorie "TOP Environment Policy Think Tank". Prof. Dr.-Ing. Manfred Fischedick, wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer des Wuppertal Instituts, sagt: "Wir freuen uns sehr, dass die Stimme des Wuppertal Instituts auch international Gehör findet und damit die Arbeit und das hohe Engagement der Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des Instituts honoriert werden. Da viele der ökologischen Herausforderungen wie insbesondere der Klimaschutz nur auf globaler Ebene gelöst werden können, ist es für uns von extrem hoher Bedeutung wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse so aufzubereiten, dass sie Handlungsoptionen konkret aufzeigen, die dann weltweit aufgegriffen werden können."

Think-Tank-Ranking 2019

Das TTCSP befindet sich an der University of Pennsylvania und dient dazu Profil, Kapazität und Leistung von Think Tanks auf internationaler, nationaler und regionaler Ebene zu verstärken. Ein Teil dieser Mission beinhaltet die jährliche Veröffentlichung des Think-Tank-Index, der dieses Jahr auf der Auswertung von rund 4.000 Beiträgen von Universitäten, Medienvertretern, Politikerinnen und Politikern und Think-Tank-Mitarbeitenden basiert.

Think-Tank-Institute der Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft

In dem globalen Ranking von Denkfabriken sind zwei weitere Institute der Johannes-Rau-Forschungsgemeinschaft (JRF) vertreten, in dem auch das Wuppertal Institut Mitglied ist: Dazu gehört das Deutsche Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE) und das Internationale Konversionszentrum Bonn (BICC). Weitere Informationen zum gesamten Ranking sind in den nachfolgenden Links zu finden.

 

Pressemitteilung

Wuppertal Institut für Klima, Umwelt, Energie gGmbH

VisdP: Prof. Dr. Uwe Schneidewind, Wissenschaftlicher Geschäftsführer

Kontakt: Christin Hasken, Leitung Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 202 2492-187

Fax: +49 202 2492-108

E-Mail: christin.hasken@wupperinst.org