Reflecting the Dynamics

Webinar discusses baseline setting under a future Art. 6.4 mechanism

  • Events 19.05.2020
  • Location Online

The Wuppertal Institute organises the webinar "Reflecting the Dynamics – Baseline Setting under a Future Art. 6.4 Mechanism" on behalf of the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. The webinar will take place on the 19 May 2020 from 14.00 to 15.30 and will discuss ways and ideas to design approaches to determine crediting baselines for Art. 6.4 in order to make them "Paris-proof", i.e. to account for the dynamic nature of the national climate policies as mirrored in the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs). The baseline describes the development that would occur absence of a planned climate protection measure. It is used to calculate the emission reductions expected from the measure by comparing the baseline case with a forecast of the emissions occurring if the measure was implemented.

Christof Arens, Project Co-ordinator in the Global Climate Governance Research Unit in the Energy, Transport and Climate Policy Division at the Wuppertal Institute will moderate the event. Lukas Hermwille, Project Co-ordinator in the same Research Unit will give a presentation on the "The situation-ambition approach" and participate in the panel discussion.

The webinar is conducted in English and the participation is free of charge. Further information and the registration is possible via the following link down below. Participants will receive a confirmation E-mail containing all information about joining the webinar.

Reflecting the Dynamics

Webinar diskutiert das Baseline-Setting unter dem Art.-6.4-Mechanismus

  • Termine 19.05.2020
  • Ort Online

Das Wuppertal Institut veranstaltet im Auftrag des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) das Webinar "Reflecting the Dynamics – Baseline Setting under a Future Art. 6.4 Mechanism" ein. Das Webinar findet am 19. Mai 2020 von 14:00 bis 15:30 Uhr statt. Das Webinar skizziert Wege und Ideen zur Ausgestaltung von Ansätzen zur Referenzfall-Bestimmung (Baseline). Die Baseline dient zur Berechnung der voraussichtlichen Emissionsreduktionen einer Klimaschutzmaßnahme. Dabei wird der Baseline eine Prognose der Emissionen gegenübergestellt, die bei der Durchführung der Maßnahme anfallen würden. Gegenstand des Webinars sind neue Ansätze, die Baselines mit dem Pariser Klimaabkommen kompatibel machen und der Dynamik der nationalen Klimapolitik, wie sie sich in den national festgelegten Beiträgen (Nationally Determined Contributions, NDCs) niederschlägt, Rechnung tragen.

Moderiert wird das Webinar von Christof Arens, Projektleiter im Forschungsbereich Internationale Klimapolitik in der Abteilung Energie-, Verkehrs- und Klimapolitik am Wuppertal Institut. Lukas Hermwille, Projektleiter im gleichen Forschungsbereich, hält im Rahmen des Webinars den Vortrag "The situation-ambition approach" und nimmt an der anschließenden Panel-Diskussion teil.

Das Webinar findet in englischer Sprache statt; die Teilnahme ist kostenfrei. Die Anmeldung ist im nachfolgenden Link möglich. Nach der Registrierung erhalten die Teilnehmenden eine E-Mail zur Bestätigung sowie weitere Informationen zur Webinar-Teilnahme.