Award Ceremony of the Transformative Science Research Prize

Official award ceremony took place on December 5th in Berlin

  • News 07.12.2017

The winner of this year's "Transformative Science" research prize is Dr. Laura Woltersdorf. She impressed the jury with her concept in which she designed, implemented and consolidated an integrated evaluation system for sustainable water resource management. As part of the research project, "CuveWaters", carried out at the Institute for Social-Ecological Research (ISOE), Dr. Laura Woltersdorf developed an integrated evaluation system for sustainable water management in Namibia. "The use of non-conventional water resources, such as purified, reused municipal (waste) water and harvested rainwater, helps to utilise the water resources that are available locally in a more efficient and productive way," says Dr. Woltersdorf.

The "Transformative Science" research prize focuses on all forms of research that spark and promote social impetus and thus involve civil society. Transdisciplinary research design plays a significant role in this. The research prize is endowed with 25,000 euros. The money is awarded to prize winners for their project ideas in the field of transformative science. This year, for the first time, the Wuppertal Institute has awarded the research prize, which is funded by the Zempelin Foundation in the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Humanities and Sciences in Germany (Stifterverband).

The Wuppertal Institute will organise the call for entries for the "Transformative Science" research prize and select the award winner for an initial period of five years. The Zempelin Foundation is making funds totalling 250,000 euros available, which will be used for the call for applications, the selection process and the award ceremony, as well as an accompanying symposium. By allocating the funds to the Wuppertal Institute, the Zempelin Foundation is aknowledging the Institute's outstanding commitment to developing the area of transformative science.

Impressions of the award ceremony on 5 December 2017:

Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.