ISPRA

Life Cycle Based Monitoring Indicators

  • Project no.3341

The integrative approach taken in this project underlies the development of a new type of life cycle based indicators in compliance with the ISO 14040 and 14044 standards, for quantifying and monitoring progress towards the sustainable development of the European Union. These indicators take the life cycle view of the supply chain (production, use and end-of-life), accounting for relevant environmental impacts and resources used. The life cycle perspective offers a global perspective, this means including environmental impacts occurring outside the European Union, if they are linked to national or European demand for imported goods.

This project comprised the development of the framework, methodology, data basis and updating procedure for three indicator sets:

  • resource impact indicators,
  • basket-of-products indicators,
  • waste management indicators.

The resource impact indicators shall measure the environmental impacts of the EU27 and of each Member State related to the resources used and expressed in relation to the economic performance, measured as the Gross Domestic Product (GDP), arriving thus at the eco-efficiency indicators.

The basket-of-products indicators reflect the environmental impacts and the resources consumption associated with the final consumption of an average citizen in the EU27 over the entire life cycle of goods and services. They are based on apparent final consumption and cover several demand categories (nutrition, shelter, consumer goods, mobility and services), considering a range of specific product groups that meet these needs.

The waste management indicators assess the environmental impacts related to the management of the - environmentally - most relevant waste streams, covering their entire waste management chain. They also include recycling/recovery and the final deposition of any remaining wastes.

The Wuppertal Institute contributed to this indicators development in particular based on its expertise in economy-wide natural resource use accounting (materials, land, water, energy) and outputs to the environment.



Cookie Settings

Cookies help us to constantly improve the website for you. By clicking on the "Allow cookies" button, you agree to the use of cookies. For further information on the use of cookies or to change your settings, please click on More about the use and rejection of cookies.

ISPRA

Lebenszyklus-basierte Indikatoren für Monitoring

  • Projekt-Nr.3341
  • Laufzeit 11/2009 - 10/2011

Der integrative Ansatz dieses Projektes zielt auf die Entwicklung eines neuen Typs von lebenszyklus-basierten Indikatoren (in Übereinstimmung mit den ISO Standards 14040 und 14044) zur Quantifizierung und zum Monitoring nachhaltiger Entwicklung der Europäischen Union. Diese Indikatoren nehmen Bezug auf den Lebenszyklus der Wertschöpfungskette (Produktion, Konsum, end-of-life), wobei relevante Umweltwirkungen und Ressourcennutzungen berechnet werden. Die Lebenszyklusperspektive ermöglicht eine globale Sicht, d.h. Umweltwirkungen welche außerhalb der EU auftreten werden erfasst, sofern sie dem nationalen bzw. Europäischen Bedarf an importierten Gütern und Dienstleistungen zuzurechnen sind.

Das Projekt umfasst die Entwicklung eines Untersuchungsrahmens, der Methodiken, der Datenbasis sowie eines Verfahrens zur Aktualisierung für drei Indikatorensets:

  • Ressourcenwirkungs-Indikatoren,
  • Produktkorb-Indikatoren,
  • Abfallmanagement-Indikatoren.

Die Ressourcenwirkungs-Indikatoren messen Umweltwirkungen der EU27 und Mitgliedstaaten in Bezug auf ihre Ressourcennutzung und in Relation zur ökonomischen Performanz gemessen als BIP, wodurch Indikatoren für Ökoeffizienz erhalten werden.

Die Produktkorb-Indikatoren stehen für Umweltwirkungen und Ressourcennutzung für den Endverbrauch eines durchschnittlichen Einwohners in der EU27 über den gesamten Lebenszyklus von Gütern und Dienstleistungen. Betrachtet wird der apparente Endverbrauch in mehreren Bedarfkategorien (Nahrung, Schutz, Konsumgüter, Mobilität und Dienstleistungen), wobei jeweils einige spezifische Produktgruppen betrachtet werden, welche die Nachfrage decken.

Die Abfallmanagement-Indikatoren erfassen Umweltwirkungen der aus Umweltgesichtspunkten relevantesten Abfallströme über deren gesamte Abfallmanagementketten. Sie betrachten auch Recycling und Rückgewinnung sowie finale Deposition verbleibender Abfälle.

Das Wuppertal Institut trug durch seine Expertisen in ökonomieweiter Ressourcennutzung (Material, Land, Wasser, Energie) und Stoffabgaben an die Umwelt zu dieser Indikatorenentwicklung bei.