SAMT

Sustainability Assessment Methods and Tools to Support Decisionmaking in the Process Industries

  • Project no.350211
  • Duration 10/2014 - 12/2016

The aim of the SAMT project is to review and make recommendations about the most potential methods for evaluating sustainability in the process industry, focusing especially on energy and resource efficiency.
SAMT will collect, evaluate and communicate the experiences of leading industrial actors from cement, oil, metal, water, waste and chemical industry, and review the latest scientific developments within the field of sustainability assessment. A central outcome of the project is a strategy for implementing best practices across different sectors of the process industry.
SAMT is a coordination and support action that promotes cross-sectorial learning and uptake of the most promising tools by conducting case studies, organising workshops and identifying needs for future R & D and standardisation.

As a basis for the project the Wuppertal Institute works out an overview of existing sustainability assessment methods and tools.

SAMT

Sustainability Assessment Methods and Tools to Support Decisionmaking in the Process Industries

  • Projekt-Nr.350211
  • Laufzeit 10/2014 - 12/2016

Das Projekt SAMT verfolgt das Ziel, die erfolgversprechendsten Methoden zur Bewertung der Nachhaltigkeit in der Prozessindustrie zu überprüfen und Empfehlungen besonders hinsichtlich ihrer Energie- und Ressourceneffizienz zu geben.
SAMT wird die Erfahrungen von führenden Industrie-Akteuren der Zement-, Öl-, Metall-, Wasser-, Abfall- und Chemieindustrie sammeln, evaluieren und kommunizieren und die neuesten wissenschaftlichen Entwicklungen im Feld der Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung überprüfen. Ein zentrales Projektergebnis soll die Entwicklung einer Strategie zur Umsetzung von bewährten Verfahrensweisen für die gesamte Branche der Prozessindustrie sein.
SAMT ist eine Koordinierungs- und Unterstützungsmaßnahme, welche sektorenübergreifendes Lernen und die Umsetzung der vielversprechendsten Instrumente, durch Fallstudien, Workshops sowie durch die Identifikation des zukünftigen Bedarfs an R&D und Normierungen fördert.

Das Wuppertal Institut erstellt in diesem Zusammenhang als Grundlage des Projekts eine Übersicht von Methoden und Instrumente zur Nachhaltigkeitsbewertung.